Fiction logo

The Dragon Master's Son 6 & 7

Chapters 6 & 7

By Niall James BradleyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

The Dragon Master's Son

Chapter 6

“Go.” She dismissed the sentry in the same cold, clinical way she cut her hair. “You, prisoner,” she commanded, “Get up.”

No sooner had John fallen back onto the cell floor, than the princess and her henchman had entered the prison corridor.

“This,” she pointed to the knight behind her, “is Heilbronn and I am Princess...”

“Lujain,” John completed in an awed tone. His eyes were once more mesmerized by those powerful pupils. He now noticed, even by the light of the torch Heilbronn held, that her eyes were a rich hazel. So dark, it was difficult to discern where her iris ended and her pupil began. Her harsh voice broke his gaze.

“Yes, Lujain,” she affirmed, seizing back control. “And you are the dragon master's son.”

“John,” he confirmed.

“What have you told Crispan?” She was curt and direct in manner; just how you would expect a Princess to be: used to getting her own way. John resolved to answer her but not to look any longer into those eyes. There was a very strange power at work in those eyes.

“I answered his questions,” he replied, “I told him that my father is missing and I don't know where he is.”

“Is that all?”

“He also asked about my mother. I gave him the same answer.”

She thought for a moment. John could feel her thinking. Somehow, he had grown very close to her, very quickly. Normally, the only person he could feel thinking was his father.

“Where did you get the black eye? Has Crispan been torturing you?”

John raised his hand and touched the corner of his eye. “An officer of the King's guard struck me.”

“Why?”

John looked her in the eye. “For looking at you.”

He watched her, ever so faintly, blush. A mild anger gripped her and released her tongue.

“Crispan is plotting against the King. He is collecting supporters and weapons, including dragons. The King doesn't yet believe in Crispan's treachery. I am trying to stop him. Will you help me, or are you going to join Crispan?”

“I'm only here to find my father.”

“Crispan has your father,” snapped the princess. She was becoming impatient and beginning to show her immaturity. “He is working for Crispan. But you are being given a choice. Which side do you choose?”

John considered, but not for too long. She didn't seem like the sort of person who would quietly wait. “If I can rescue my Dad and we can go back home, then I'd like to stay neutral and not be on any side, thank you.”

Being polite worked. For the very first time, Princess Lujain smiled and it was a very remarkable sight to behold.

“Come Heilbronn,” she motioned to the knight, “We must go. We will be missed. We don't want to raise suspicion. And you,” she turned to John, ”stay there and don't go wandering off.”

John looked at the bars and walls surrounding him.

“I mean it,” her raised voice demanded over her shoulder, as she walked swiftly away.

The Dragon Master's Son

Chapter 7

John could feel the prelude to the voice once more in his head.

'They are gone,' the dragon stated, 'Come to me, Dragon Master. Let us finish our conversation.'

“But I've been told to stay here.” John could hear the harassed tone in his voice. “She seems to know I can get out.”

The queasy, stretching feeling grew once more in John's stomach. He wrapped his arms around himself and held his sides. The feeling gradually subsided and John looked up once more into the eyes of the dragon.

“How do you do that?”

'I don't,' replied the dragon, 'You do. I merely channel your power. How old are you?'

“Twelve.”

'You are powerful for your age, but your skills are incomplete. Who teaches you?'

“My mother. She's a healer. She taught me spells. At least, she did until a year ago.”

The thoughts of the dragon were probing but kind. John looked up at the dragon. It was hard to see beyond the shimmering red scales and the long, sharp teeth, which were as large as John himself. But now, as he looked into the dragon's eyes, he could see the wisdom of centuries.

'Why does she no longer teach you?'

It had been many months since John had spoken of his mother. This was the third time he'd spoken of her today. John found that the emotion in his voice was finally ebbing away. “She disappeared. A year ago.”

The dragon went quiet. It could somehow separate its thoughts and, whatever it was thinking about currently, it didn't want John to hear. But the boy had questions of his own.

“Why are you here?” The echoing sound of John's voice woke the dragon from its musing.

'What do you mean?' replied the dragon, with what John thought was a smile on its lips.

“Well, those chains,” he pointed at the manacles around the dragon's legs, “I could remove those, so you definitely could. You're not a prisoner here. You're only here because you want to be.”

Was that a streak of guilt John saw cross the dragon's face?

'Yes,' replied the dragon, 'I let them catch me. They came looking for a dragon, so I let them take me. Though not without a fight!' He rose, swelled with pride. 'At least two dozen men I killed, before I let them net me. I'm old, see. Out there, I'd have to hunt for food and keep out of the way of younger dragons in their prime. In here, my food is delivered and I'm safe. So, for now, it'll do.'

“Don't you miss flying,” John couldn't help asking.

'Have you ever flown?'

“No,” John answered, holding out his arms to display the obvious lack of wings.

'Well.' The manacles around the dragon's legs unclasped. John was transferred, in an instant, onto the dragon's back, astride the saddle. Instinctively, he grabbed hold of the loop of leather by his hands. With the faintest flick of his giant wings, they plummeted into the darkness of the cavern and out through the tunnel entrance.

John couldn't see. Rushing air battered his body and tears streamed from the corners of his eyes. He turned his head towards the tail of the dragon, to protect his face. When his vision cleared, he focused on the dragon's tail and the clouds below. The top of the clouds. He turned his head a little and looked along the dragon's wing: at the clear, darkening, endless sky. His hands were frozen around the harness loops. His jaw was frozen solid and he was finding it increasingly difficult to breathe.

'You have visitors once more,' reported the dragon.

Once more, John felt the queasy stretching inside his ice filled stomach. With a thump, he found himself once more on the straw covered floor of his damp, but warm, cell. His lungs, constricted by the cold, thawed enough so he could breathe once more.

Next chapter: https://vocal.media/fiction/the-dragon-master-s-son-8-and-9

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Niall James Bradley

I am a teacher who lives in the north west of England. I write about many subjects, but mainly I write non-fiction about things that interest me, fiction about what comes into my head and poetry about how I feel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.