Fiction logo

The Doorway

Curiosity is the Key to the Other Side

By Clever&WTFPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
The Doorway
Photo by Edan Cohen on Unsplash

I had the dream again, it was the third time this month. I’d been having it for years, but I can’t seem to escape it. I wipe the sweat from my brow, closing my eyes against the memory of it.

Darkness, empty space. I keep walking… No matter the direction, I eventually come to a giant wooden door. A strange mist looms around it as if hiding what is beyond. A circular metal handle hangs from the middle, almost out of my reach. Its shape is an intricate serpent eating its own tail; Ouroboros. Every time I reach up to touch the handle an androgynous voice echoes in my head, “If you choose to go through this door, you will never return. Your old life will be lost, but a new life gained.” I can never discern if I am terrified or curious. Fear always wins. I never fail to wake myself.

But each time I have the dream, my curiosity grows. My thoughts always come back to the Ouroboros, I know what it means. The cycle of life, death, and rebirth. It is my only clue. What would happen if I stepped through? What was on the other side? Would I truly never return? These questions eat at me, constantly lingering in the back of my mind.

I always find myself daydreaming about the possibilities. I can’t help wondering am I meant to go through? Maybe this new world was unfathomably wonderful. But my fear of what horrors could be beyond the doorway always crept back, shaking me free of my curiosity. If I never return, what would happen to me in this world?

Or would it be even worse to never know?

...

What did you think of this short story? Would you go beyond The Doorway? Let us know in the comments!

Thanks so much for reading!

-Clever & WTF

Microfiction

About the Creator

Clever&WTF

Amber and Ashley are sisters who love to read and write, mostly fantasy and speculative fiction. Check out our blog: cleverandwtf.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Oooo, this was such s suspenseful and compelling story! I loved it!

Clever&WTFWritten by Clever&WTF

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.