Fiction logo

The Doomsday Locket

Doomsday Diary Challenge

By Brandon NephewPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Day 16 In The Dark Apocalypse

Fifteen days ago the world collapsed. One moment it’s peaceful, the next corruption. Corruption became lawlessness, then lawlessness became anarchy. The Doomsday Locket protected everyone from the darkness that brought about the end of the human race as we knew it.

This locket went as far back as the Salem Witch Trials in 1693. It was crafted and cursed by the very witches that were hung for their accusations of witchcraft. It was hidden for 300 years. Until the tomb it was imbedded in is discovered by an amateur group of excavators. A piece of letter laid next to the heart-shaped necklace wrapped around the bones of a deceased body. The letter read that the necklace will break within 28 years of its finding.

2021. The year that the world went dark. The news of the locket reached worldwide in a matter of seconds upon discovery of the fragments littered Area 51. The prophecy came true. Everyone rubbed this off as a hoax. No one believed that the world would end this way. The ones who were ready were the ones most targeted. The skies darkened. The rivers ran red. Stores across the globe emptied. Not too long after came the gunshots, the explosions, the genocide, and the screaming began as the remaining humans desperately try to survive.

The world outside is No Man’s Land. One step out will get you killed. My family and I were lucky to reach my uncle’s cabin where he dreamed of this time period. We bunkered down below in his storm cellar. He got himself loaded with his weaponry kept to defend us in times of emergency.

The last bit of news before we evacuated was the elimination of human services. All the police, fire, and medical systems are all down. As if they disappeared without a trace.

The world now experiences a new level of corruption. All I can think about is the desperation that I feel. It gets very boring down here with no outside world contact of any kind. I can only imagine the madness that drives everybody outside. I’ve been a rebel throughout my teenage years. I snuck my phone in the bunker, hiding it from my family ever since that day came. Late at night, I watched public live streams of human behavior unravel.

Day 17 In The Dark Apocalypse

Sixteen days the world broke into anarchy. The cursed heart-shaped locket shattered. The world swiftly became a warzone. Every human being for themselves.

As the light from the long-forgotten sun tried to seep through the rolling clouds upon us. A worldwide transmission broke out on all available devices. The loud buzzing on my phone rang alerting my other family. I guess it was inevitable that they will soon find out.

The transmission played out, the video depicted a large round table seated with world leaders. They were in a “safe” location where nobody would possibly touch them. Who knows how long that will stay? The main leader spoke up saying the world will now go through a new phase. A phase of reconstruction. Surely it sounds like everything will possibly be okay. But if we went out, who knows the horrors outside. I again imagine the worst of humanity playing.

We were all told that we would go back to normal. That very much sounds like crap. This is a curse. How are we gonna reverse the damage inherited by us?

I really have no more words today. I’m probably gonna rest my body. No live streams tonight, it’s probably gonna affect me.

Day 18 In The Dark Apocalypse

Seventeen days we all went to hell and never coming back. The forecast yesterday did not change anything. It only made things worse. I hear more activity outside our comfort zone. We are running low on food. The level of food we preserved was supposed to last us three weeks now leave us with half a day. My father volunteers to go out. I beg him not to. But he is gonna risk his life to save mine. So let’s see how this goes.

Day 19 In The Dark Apocalypse

Um, how do I say this? My dad came back but he is hurt. He managed to get us four days of food. His leg is broken he limped his way back.

Oh my, we are leaving this bunker we are not safe here anymore. My dad says he was followed now they are coming.

Shh! The knocking at the door kept us silent. The knocking continues. Wait, was that a shotgun? The grip sliding back and for-

Day 20 In The Dark Apocalypse

The End

Day 21 In The Dark Apocalypse

Day 22 In The Dark Apocalypse

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Brandon Nephew

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.