Fiction logo

The Dirty Work

group chat guerillas

By Dane BHPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
7

Dottie

who has bolt cutters?

Chris

I do

Dottie

thanks. barbed wire?

Jill

me!

Dottie

I just got the fertilizer. Perfect. we’re going today?

Chris

they're coming back tomorrow, so yeah.

Dottie

Good, be there at noon. anyone know their key code for the garage?

Chris

why does this feel like we're planning a heist?

Dottie

well, it kinda is.

Chris

at least breaking and entering.

Dottie

we should go at night in ski hats

Jill

I'll bring a flashlight!

Chris

let's just meet at noon. the garage code is 2-3-1-4

Dottie

Thanks Chris. I have marigolds, begonias, and tomatoes. what else do we have?

Chris

I've got bush beans and cucumbers.

Jill

lettuce seeds and geraniums!

Chris

What’s the barbed wire for???

Dottie

the enemy

Jill

deer

Dottie

groundhogs

Jill

Chipmunks

Dottie

Rogue squirrels

Chris

Got it. has anyone heard how she is?

Dottie

talked to Joe yesterday. she's better than she was but still tired after the surgery. I think this will help.

Jill

yeah, we're just sticking her with all the weeding lol

Dottie

lol. Operation Guerilla Gardeners is on for noon!

Chris

breaking and entering in the name of neighborliness!

Microfiction
7

About the Creator

Dane BH

By day, I'm a cog in the nonprofit machine, and poet. By night, I'm a creature of the internet. My soul is a grumpy cat who'd rather be sleeping.

Top Story count: 17

www.danepoetry.com

Check out my Vocal Spotlight and my Vocal Podcast!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina B.11 months ago

    Love the group chat format. Makes it very clever and relatable

  • Cendrine Marrouat12 months ago

    That was very cute to read. I enjoyed your story!

  • Uplifting story

  • This works for the heist. It's something you shouldn't be legally doing , although morally it;s a different matter

  • Misty Rae12 months ago

    I wish they'd come over here and break in. :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.