Fiction logo

The Devil in you

A tale of how to lose a friend in less than 100 words

By Katherine PollockPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Devil in you
Photo by Rob Hampson on Unsplash

We were best friends for life, but you ruined it.

You’ve been distant and jaded for months so when you left your phone, I took my chance.

My heart breaks reading the truth. No dark secrets, just years of anger at my existence. "Keep your enemies closer" you said.

I watch you return to our last supper. You watch me place your phone where I found it, unlocked.

As you slowly take your seat, I leave mine. I don’t look back and you don’t call me.

We almost made it but you’re the devil and I’m not wicked enough.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Katherine Pollock

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.