Fiction logo

The Demon

Chapter 3

By Mikayla JensenPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Demon
Photo by ulziibayar badamdorj on Unsplash

They walked into his house and he made sure his parents weren't home.

"C'mon let's go outside."

Ian says.

"Why so you can smoke?"

"Yes and because there's a pool and alcohol. I find those things quite inviting."

"I don't have a swimsuit."

"Just swim in your underwear."

"What?!"

She exclaimed as if the idea were ridiculous and embarrassing.

"What? It's the same thing."

"No, it most certainly is not."

Ian rolled his eyes.

"If you're embarrassed because you're wearing Tweetie bird underwear don't be. I couldn't care less."

She glared at him.

"I'm not. I just don't want them to be wet when I put my clothes back on."

"Who says we're going to?"

She smiles.

"Okay fine."

Ian changes into his swimsuit. He grabs his cigarettes and a few drinks to mix the alcohol with. He goes outside and sets his stuff down. He sits down next to Lainey in a lawn chair. He grabs a cigarette and puts it on his lips. He grabs the lighter and holds it up to the cigarette and inhales. A wave of relief rushes over him.

"Why do you smoke?"

"Because I'm addicted to nicotine."

She scoffs.

"You know what I mean. What makes it so addictive?"

"Want a hit so you can feel it for yourself."

He takes another hit.

"No, it's disgusting and I don't want to get addicted."

Ian laughs.

"You can't get addicted from one hit."

"Isn't that how it starts?"

Ian paused. He didn't know what to say. She made a good point.

"Okay suit yourself but it's the only way to know. I know you're curious about everything so it'll eat you alive until you try it."

"Oh give it to me."

He hands her the cigarette.

"Don't burn yourself."

She slaps his arm.

"I know how to hold it."

She cautiously places it on her lips and takes a hit. She immediately starts coughing and hands it back to him.

"That was horrible. How is that fun?"

"Just wait for the buzz."

"Oh, I see."

"Feels nice right?"

"Yeah but too nice. I need alcohol so I don't want another hit."

"Good call."

Ian gets up and grabs some vodka and cups from his parent's bar. He sets them down on the table and takes a hit as he sits down. He puts the cigarette out on his dad's ashtray and grabs two red solo cups. He pours in vodka and orange juice and hands one of the cups to Lainey.

"Cheers."

She says as she holds out her cup waiting for Ian to clink.

"Cheers."

Ian says as he touches Lainey's cup with his and they both take a sip. The two of them slurp down a couple of drinks and Ian is starting to get tipsy.

"I'm bored."

Lainey says.

"Let's get in the pool then."

Ian replies. Lainey had a harder time getting up than Ian and he started to suspect she was drunker than him.

"Are you okay?"

He asks.

"Yeah.. yeah I'm alright."

"Okay just don't go into the deep end."

"Oh, so you're the careful one now."

"No, I'm just not as drunk as you."

"Hah yeah, we'll see about that in a couple of hours."

Ian set his drink by the pool ledge and jumped into the cold water that soon surrounded him. He reached the surface and saw Lainey sitting on the steps. He splashed her.

"I just dyed my hair!"

He smirked.

"Oops ."

He splashed her again. She glared at him then lunged at him with her hands out put them on his shoulders and pushed him underwater. He came back up and she did it again but this time she pushed him to the bottom of the pool. He tried to fight back but couldn't. Was Lainey strong or was he weak? Maybe it was both.

He swam back up to the surface and she let him get a breath before she tried to sink him again he pushed her hands away and put her in a headlock. She laughed

"Why are you laughing?"

He asks

"Because you think you got me."

"Wha"

Before he could finish Lainey grabbed the back of his head and dunked underwater and threw him over top of her in the water. They both come up laughing.

"Okay okay I know when I've been beaten."

He says. He sighs

"Let's have more drinks."

Ian says. They spend the rest of the day drinking and having fun. Night soon came upon them and they were both wasted. They had gotten out of the pool and were sitting on the lawn chairs again.

"Okay, I have an idea. What if we told each other things that we haven't told anyone else."

Lainey said.

"Like a secret?"

Ian replied.

"No not a secret, just something we're not comfortable telling people."

"Oh okay, I see."

"But we have to promise that if we remember we won't say a word to anyone else."

"You have my word."

There was a pause.

"So who's gonna start?"

Lainey asked.

"You came up with the idea."

Ian replied.

"Okay fair enough."

She sat up putting her feet on the ground and sitting sideways in the chair.

"Did I ever tell you about when my mom left?"

She asked.

"Not that I remember."

Ian replied. She looked down at the ground. She seemed upset and hurt she even frowned a little.

"My mom never really wanted kids. The only reason she kept me and my sister was because of my dad. He begged her to keep us but, of course, she grew to resent us.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.