Fiction logo

The demise of monarchy

A phone call came in. Man Mohan was sitting close to him.

By ayesha adeelPublished about a year ago 15 min read
Like

A phone call came in. Man Mohan was sitting close to him. He saluted the receiver as he picked it up. Four, four, five, and seven.

"Sorry," came a soft feminine voice from the other side. Rowboat No.

Manmohan put the receiver down and started reading a book instead.

He had perused this book multiple times. not because it had any unique qualities. A book was the only thing that was still in the office, and the last pages were falling apart. Because its owner, a friend of Manmohan's, had gone out to borrow some rupees, the office was in Manmohan's custody for a week. Manmohan temporarily moved from the footpath to this office because he didn't have a place to stay. In that week, he read the only book in the office about twenty times.

In the office, he was by himself. He detested his job. He could have worked as a film director for any company he wanted. However, he was against slavery. He was an extremely blameless and true man. Therefore, his daily expenses were usually managed by friends. These prices were extremely low. two toasts and a cup of tea in the morning. Two tidbits and a touch of curry in the early evening, a bunch of cigarettes over the day and that is all there is to it!

Manmohan had no family or friends. He kept a low profile. It was hard. He could go many days without eating. His friends had no idea anything about him other than the fact that he had emigrated from his family when he was young and had spent some time living on the streets of Bombay. He only had one regret in his life. A lady's adoration.

Man Mohan would reply, "Work...?" with a sigh. I will become an embodiment of work.

"No," Manmohan would respond. I don't think love should start with a man.

Lunchtime was getting closer. Manmohan paid attention to the wall clock on the front. The phone rang immediately. He saluted the receiver as he picked it up. Four, four, five, and seven.

"Four four four five seven?

"Yes!" Brijmohan replied.

"Who are you?" asked a female voice.

Say it, Man Mohan!

"From you!" was the voice's response.

"Yes, with you... Do you have anything to say?"

"Yes?" Manmohan paused. Please, no!

"You told me your name is Madan Mohan," the voice said with a grin.

"Please, no... Man Mohan."

"Mohan, Man?"

Manmohan asked, "You wanted to talk to me?" after a brief silence.

"Yes!" the voice said.

"Then proceed!"

"I don't know what to say," a voice said after a brief pause. You ought to initiate it yourself.

"I have told you my name," Manmohan thought as he said, "Very good." My temporary residence is this office. habitually slept on the sidewalk. For the past week, I have been sleeping on the large desk in this office.

"You used to sleep with a mask on the sidewalk?" asked the voice with a smile.

“Before I talk to you further, I want to make it clear that I have never lied,” Manmohan chuckled. I haven't slept on the sidewalks in a long time. I have been in control of this office for about seven days. Today, I'm having a good time.

The voice grinned, "What sort of extravagance?"

The reply from Manmohan was, "A book was found from here." I've read it twenty times, but the last pages are missing. On the off chance that you at any point get hold of a decent book, you will realize what has been going on with the adoration for the legendary courageous woman.

The voice chuckled, "You are a very interesting man."

"You have a small fortune," Manmohan said regretfully.

The voice asked, "What is your occupation?" after a brief pause.

"Job?"

"What are you doing, then?"

What shall I do? Nothing. A useless person can't do anything. I meander day in and day out. I go to bed early.

The voice asked, "Do you like this life?"

Man Mohan began to consider. Stay. The problem is that I never really gave it much thought. I'm asking myself if this life is good for you now that you've asked.

"Did you receive a response?"

Manmohan gave the response, "No," after a brief pause. However, I believe I would benefit from living such a life. while I've been living there for a while.

The speaker chuckled.

"The blushing voice." Many thanks!" and ended the discussion.

Manmohan stood with the receiver in his hand for a while. Then, at that point, he grinned and put it down, and left the workplace. The telephone began ringing the following day at eight in the morning while Manmohan was sleeping on the large office desk. "Hello four four four five seven," he said, yawning as he picked up the receiver.

"Man Mohan sir!" came from the other side.

Man Mohan was immediately shocked. Oh, you. Etiquette

Congratulations!"

"You must have been sleeping?" said a voice.

"The voice grinned. Why?"

"There, you must wake up by five in the morning."

The speaker chuckled. "Yesterday you suddenly turned off the phone," Manmohan inquired.

"The blushing voice." Why did you congratulate me for laughing?"

Shouldn't it be praised if something is beautiful?

''In no way, shape, or form.''

I cannot be subjected to this condition. To this point, I have not permitted any conditions to be placed on me. I will appreciate it if you laugh.

"I will disconnect the phone."

"With a lot of energy."

"First and foremost, I want to avoid offending myself." My taste will be enraged if I do not appreciate your laughter. I treasure this flavor very much!

For a while, there was silence. A voice from the opposite side then said, "Excuse me, I was speaking to the maid." You are very attached to your taste. Yes, tell me about your pastime.

"What does that mean?"

That is. Any work Any work... At the end of the day, what's going on with you?"

Manmohan snickered, "It doesn't work." a little partial to photography

It's a great pastime.

"I never considered it to be good or bad."

"Do you want a camera?" the voice inquired.

Manmohan chuckled, "I don't own a camera." I get what I want by asking a friend. A camera is my goal if I ever earn anything. I'll get it.

Which camera, then? the voice inquired.

"Exacta," was Manmohan's response. A reflex camera is present. I adore it.

For a while, there was silence. The voice said, "I was thinking about something," at that point.

"What?"

"I didn't think I needed it."

''Why?''

No matter what your name is, it doesn't matter. That's fine if you know my phone number. I'll call you and give you the name and number if you want to fall.

"I won't say that."

"Yes, sir, it was also good. Where does the question of telling or not telling arise when I won't ask you?

"Yes, I am a similar person," Manmohan said with a grin.

There was quietness for a couple of moments. " You re-engage in thought."

"Yes, at the time, nothing else came to mind."

So put the phone down. Yes, then.

"You are a very reserved man," she said in a voice that became somewhat sharp. Put the phone down. Let me wrap up.

Manmohan put down the recipient and began grinning.

After thirty minutes, when Manmohan cleaned up and prepared to go out, the phone rang. "Four four four five seven!

"Mr. Manmohan?" asked a voice.

He responded, "Yes, Manmohan. Ershad?

"The voice grinned. The advice is that I am no longer angry.

Manmohan said, "I am very happy," which caught him off guard.

While eating, I felt that I shouldn't meddle with you. Yes, did you consume breakfast?

"No, you called just as you were getting ready to leave."

Oh, you're off.

"No, I'm not rushing, I don't have any money right now," Therefore, I believe there won't be breakfast today.

Taking in what you say. Why do you speak in such a way? You do things like that because they hurt you, right?

Man Mohan briefly considered, "No. I am accustomed to any pain I experience.

"Shall I send you some rupees?" the voice asked.

"Send it," was Manmohan's reply. You will join my financial backers!

"No, I'm not sending!"

"As you please!"

"I hang up the telephone."

"Better!"

Manmohan smiled as he left the office and put the receiver down. When he got back around ten o'clock at night, he changed into new clothes and lay on the table, wondering who was calling. The voice could only possibly have indicated that it was young. There was a lot of loud laughter. The conversation demonstrates his sophistication and education. He gave it a lot of thought for a while. The phone rang and the clock struck eleven. The receiver was picked up by Manmohan. Hold on!"

"Mr. Manmohan" came from the opposite side in the same voice.

"Ah, Man Mohan Irshad."

The guidance is that I rang a few times today. Where were you absent from?

"What position?"

''Wandering.''

"When did you arrive?"

"Ten at night."

"What were you currently doing?"

"Bunny?"

"No, Please."

Try not to make it. I'm really ugly."Excuse me, if you are ugly, hang up the phone; I despise ugly people," the person said.

For a while, there was silence. "Started to think something?" Manmohan inquired.

"No," said the shocked voice. I planned to inquire of you.

"Be thoughtful."

"The voice chuckled. I'd like to sing you a song.

"Sure"

"Stand by!"

There was a getting free from the throat. The point is grief, and then Ghalib's ghazal began.

A brand-new song was Sehgal Wali. The voice expressed hurt and sincerity. Manmohan gave a round of applause at the end of the ghazal. Brilliant... Keep going.

The voice becomes flushed. " Many thanks!" and ended the call.

On the large office desk, Ghalib's ghazal kept echoing throughout the night in Manmohan's heart and mind. waited for the phone when I got up early in the morning. Even though he sat in the chair for nearly two and a half hours, the phone never rang. He felt a strange bitterness in his throat when he was disappointed. He stood up and began walking. He then collapsed on the table and began to weep. He started flipping through the pages of the same book that he had read so many times before. In a flash, the evening had arrived. The telephone rang around seven in the morning. Manmohan quickly questioned the receiver's owner, "Who is it?"

"Me!" came from the same voice.

"Where were you for so long?" Man Mohan's voice was sharp.

"Why?" the voice trembled.

Since the morning, I've been hanging out here. Even though I had money with me, I have not eaten breakfast or lunch.

"I will call when I want," came a voice. Manmohan came in and said, "Look, stop this series," interrupting you. Set a time for your call if you wish. I'm so excited.

The voice was joking. I need to apologize today. From tomorrow, he will call you routinely toward the beginning of the day and night.

"It's okay!"

"Man Mohan grinned." Pardon me. I get very nervous waiting, and when I start feeling anxious about something, I start punishing myself.

"How does it?"

In the morning, your phone did not arrive. I ought to have come. However, he remained inside all day. Adolescence is clear.

"I wish I hadn't made this mistake," said the sympathetic voice. I intentionally did not call in the morning!

''Why?''

"Will you wait to find out?"

Mohan Man chuckled. You are extremely evil. Okay, put the phone down now. I will consume.

"Better, when do you plan to return?"

"For thirty minutes."

Manmohan called him when he got back after eating 30 minutes later. They talked for a very long time. He then performed a Ghalib ghazal. Manmohan roared with joy. The telephone line was then cut off.

Manmohan would now receive his phone call each morning and evening. He would sprint to the phone as soon as he heard the bell ring. The discussions sometimes last for hours. In the meantime, Manmohan asked for her phone number rather than her name. He had attempted to draw her image on the screen of his imagination using her voice at first, but now he was content with it as it was. The form was the sound. The form was the sound. The person was the voice. The soul was in the voice.

He once questioned, "Mohan. Why don't you inquire about my name?

"Your name is your voice," Manmohan said with a grin.

"Which is extremely fascinating."

"What's the mystery?"

She once asked a very shady question. Have you ever loved a girl, Mohan?"

"No!" Manmohan replied.

''Why?''

"I can't answer why in a few words," Mohan said instantly as he became sad. I'll have to get rid of everything from my life. There will be a significant loss if there is no response.

"Let go."

The telephone connection has been established for almost a month. Without warning, he would call twice a day. A letter from his friend informed Manmohan that the loan had been secured. In about seven to eight days, he will reach Bombay. When Manmohan read this letter, he was depressed. Manmohan informed him when his phone rang that the king of my office was now visiting for a few days.

He inquired, "Why?"

In response, Manmohan The loan arrangement is complete. The office will soon settle down.

Numerous companions have phones. However, I am unable to provide you with their telephone number.

''Why?''

''Reason?''

"I'm so desirous."

She grinned. It was a major issue."

What ought to be done?

"It's okay!"

Manmohan had no more depression at all. The day he would step down as president excited him. Presently he began attempting to picture her on the screen of his creative mind with the assistance of her voice. He was dissatisfied despite the numerous pictures. He estimated a few days. He would be able to see it if he provided the phone number. His mind and heart would go numb as soon as he thought about it." When I see him, it will be a wonderful moment in my life."

"I have developed a longing to see you," Manmohan told her when her phone arrived the following day.

''Why?''

It was stated.

As a result, you will provide me with your address. You will be visible to me.

You are free to visit me at any time. Today, see it.

no! No... Then in the wake of reasoning something, he said, "I need to meet you in a pleasant dress." Today, just told a friend. He will get me a suit.

She chuckled. You are unquestionably a child. listen When you meet me, I will give you a gift.

"What could be a better gift than meeting you?" Manmohan cried.

"I purchased an Exacta camera for you."

"Oh!"

"Man Mohan grinned. At the meeting, I will decide on this condition."

In the wake of talking for some time, she said, "I can not call you tomorrow and the day after tomorrow."

"Why?" Manmohan inquired in a concerned tone.

My loved ones and I are going somewhere. I will only be gone for two days. Pardon me.''

Manmohan stayed in the office all day after hearing this. He was hot when he awoke the following morning. Thought that the problem might be that his phone wouldn't work, but by noon, the heat was getting worse. The body started to get hotter. The eyes started to light up with sparks. Manmohan sank to his knees on the table. Frequent hunger set in. He would get up and use the faucet to get water. He began to feel a weight on his chest toward the evening. He was completely worn out the next day. It was difficult to breathe. The chest had a much more prominent appearance.

He went insane several times. He went through hours chatting on the phone with his dearest voice in the intensity of the fever. His condition got worse at night. He looked at the clock with tired eyes, hearing strange noises in his ears. My chest was pounding, like thousands of people talking on the phone. Only sounds could be heard all around. As a result, his voice did not reach him when the phone rang. The ringer rang for quite a while. Man Mohan was shocked right away. His ears were presently tuning in. He stumbled to his feet and went to the phone. He said, "Hello" with a girlish tongue on dry lips while leaning against the wall and picking up the receiver with shaking hands.

"Come on," the girl called from the other side. Mohan?

Manmohan mumbled in his voice. Sure, Mohan!

"Speak louder just."

Manmohan desired to express himself. But his throat turned dry.

"I came early," came a voice. You have been colored by me for quite some time. Where did you go?

Man Mohan began to reorient himself.

"What has happened to you?" asked a voice.

"My kingdom is over today," Manmohan said with great difficulty.

A thin line of blood ran down his neck from his mouth.

"Note my number," the voice said. Five notes, three, one, four, and five. making a morning call. He then hangs up on the receiver after saying this. Man Mohan dropped to the phone, face down. His mouth was filled with blood.

Young AdultScriptLoveFantasyfamilyClassical
Like

About the Creator

ayesha adeel

A story writer is a creative professional who specializes in crafting engaging and compelling narratives.Story writers can work in a variety of genres, including fiction, non-fiction, drama, and poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.