Fiction logo

The Delivery Boy

The suspicious package

By Millie RowleyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I can’t mess this up, I really need this job and I’m already onto my last warning. I walk through the back alley and knock on my boss’ door to pick up my first delivery of the day. I can already tell he has had a tough day by how fast he opens the door. My boss is a scary guy on a good day, but on a bad day, you don’t want to get on his bad side.

“Alright, this is a big one and you can’t get it wrong. I would get James to do it but he is busy with another delivery, so unfortunately I’m left with you”, he yells at me before I even shut the door.

“You can count on me Boss; I can deal with it.” I try to convince him.

“I don’t think you understand, when I say big, I mean big. This guy is technically my boss, he is our supplier, and if he doesn’t like the way we distribute his product, then we lose everything. And if it’s your fault you’ll lose more than just a job, do you understand?” he threatened, I tried to convince myself he was kidding but I’ve heard the stories about what happened to his last delivery boy.

He reluctantly handed me the package I had to deliver; it was larger than a usual order and significantly heavier. The package was held in a sealed a brown paper bag, I was tempted to look inside.

“What’s inside?” I questioned, a knot in my throat, as I took the package from my boss.

“None of your business, the less you know the better, we don’t want you snooping around and repeating what happened the last time I gave you an important delivery” he stated with a look of rage. I automatically wiped my face and nodded in understanding and fear, but as I made my way out of the building with the package, my curiosity began to outgrow fear.

I couldn’t help myself, it was too secretive and frankly suspicious, I walked out of the alley before I had to take a peek. It was too strong an urge. It was only fast enough to see exactly what it was that the Boss of all Boss’s wanted, and I wasn’t disappointed that’s for sure. It was the best thing to have on a boring Tuesday afternoon to give you a little pep in your step. The Boss went all out and gave them the highest quality we have.

Once I looked inside, I couldn’t get what I saw out of my mind. If they wanted me to make the delivery on time, I’d need a little pick me up myself so I did a little taste test. The delivery location wasn’t so far that I needed to take transport and with my newfound energy, I could make the drop in ten minutes.

Upon arrival at the location the package felt lighter, and the pep in my step had turned into anxiety, I needed to get the delivery over and done with. The delivery location was a massive office building, I took the elevator to the twentieth floor and walked up to the secretary.

“I have a package I need to deliver to a Mr Walker.” The secretary reluctantly turned her gaze to me, looking me up and down.

“He is expecting you, he asked for you to deliver it straight to him” she said as she got up from her seat to open the office door.

“I can just leave it here, I don’t mind” I said, anxious to leave before I lose my job, however she simply held the door open, and I had no choice but drop it off personally.

Upon entering I saw three men all in suits sitting at the end of an obnoxiously long table, turn and stare at me. I didn’t know what to say, so I walked to the opposite end of where they were sitting and placed down the package. I turned to walk away before the man in the middle told me to wait and my heart sunk. He stood, walked over to the package and opened it up. He examined every item inside, then looked me in the eyes with un-breaking eye contact for what felt like an eternity until he finally said

“We ordered three burgers, two shakes, one coke and three fries, where are the fries?”

To this I automatically wiped away the salt left on my lips and lied “I have no idea”.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.