Fiction logo

The Death of the Boy King

some suspect foul play

By Rob AngeliPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Portrait of Edward VI, Juvenile Tudor Autocrat

[Bedtime]

I think today is the day I die. So the son of Henry the Eighth will never grow up, yet I'm happy to die, already tiring so old with this Crown too heavy. I'm fifteen already neither speaking like a child nor thinking like a child not me: I can write and discourse in five languages am awfully good in maths and an expert in political economics. They say that I am Sick, but I fear that I am olding already hair falling skin peeling vomitting phlegm and Blood:

Sister, is this Poison?

[Bloody Mary tends well to matters.]

ClassicalMysteryHorrorHistorical
5

About the Creator

Rob Angeli

sunt lacrimae rerum et mentem mortalia tangunt

There are tears of things, and mortal objects touch the mind.

-Virgil Aeneid I.462

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    I agree with you. There was way too much going on politically and religiously to accept a consumption diagnosis. Seriously? Mary was totally sus. I feel bad for Edward, despite my apathy toward british royalty in general, lol. He took his death so bravely. I bet he was grateful to die, finally. You wrote this so well! I'm loving your microfictions, Rob :D

  • Rob Angeli (Author)about a year ago

    Thank you very much for your comment and encouragement! My rough draft was considerably longer, but I found in paring it down, I gained much in impact and mystery. Check out my Letter from the Ghost of Mary Stuart to the Ghost of Elizabeth Tudor if you have a chance.

  • Stephanie Hoogstadabout a year ago

    This is an interesting take on the subject, and it was a very bold move to take it on in a piece of microfiction. I’m surprised how well it works. I wouldn’t have ever been able to pull something like this off myself. Great job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.