Fiction logo

The Death and Soul of the Party

A Death’s Tale

By Dee Jay KayPublished 2 years ago 19 min read
Like
Image by Drawkman on Shutterrstock.com

A long time ago, before the world gained light and darkness ruled, humanity was created. A sentient being created as an experiment on life itself. Our creators became known as Angels. They were benevolent beings who wanted to see if they could. Then a divide between the angels occurred. There was those who wanted to leave humanity alone, seeing that as a species, we could grow and that their experiment was a success. Then there was those who wanted to use humanity as play things, as further specimens and some wished to wipe them out and start again. This began a great war.

Enough about that though, that’s a tale for another time. It’s time to talk about me. I am Grim Nightshade. I am not quite an Angel, nor am I quite a human. I am known as a Death. I am also not alone. As embodiment of death, or simply a Death, you’d think our job would be to appear to others before or as they die and guide, trap, help souls, but it isn’t. Most Deaths just want to live a normal life, or at least that’s what I wanted. You see, I was different from other Deaths. I was actually born rather than created. Deaths are created when their host, a possessed human, is killed or die and the soul splits. This leaves the original to control the body whilst the creation seeks out another host and begin the cycle again. It was different for me. I inhabited a baby, one whose life had ended before it began and continued due to my soul bringing it back. I didn’t know this for a long time, and well this is the story of how I discovered that I was a Death.

Back then I was called Riley Blackborne. I thought I was a normal teenager, I kept my head low, my grades average and my world simple. Of course, I wasn’t without my rebellious streak. I would skip PE (although I regret that now), and I would sneak out to the odd party or gathering without my parents knowing. I mean, I wasn’t the most popular but I also wasn’t an outcast or at least I didn’t used to be. Anyway, it was back at one of these parties where my life changed.

I had snuck out my window with a rope ladder I had bought online. It was about 9pm and I had gone to bed early not feeling great. I was lucky enough that I could lock my door and my parents didn’t check. I mean my mum and dad were good parents but they trusted me or at least let me be a little bit rebellious. Anyway, I took the shortcut through the park near my house, and made it to the party. The music was mild and there weren’t too many people. Like it wasn’t a massive house party or at least not yet it wasn’t. I met up with Gabriella, my best friend, and the only other person I actually knew at the party. She was a tall brunette, with olive skin that seemed to allow her to glow with life. I mean if she wasn’t my type, I would be totally into her. We laughed and enjoyed a quiet drink, we’d usually find ourselves in the kitchen or by the back door. I don’t know why but we thought it was the coolest place to be. I had my drink in hand and he walked in. The most attractive person I had ever seen. Bryce Robertson. I mean, I saw him all the time. In fact I saw him more than I wanted to as I had a huge crush on him. Bryce was tall, toned with curly blonde hair and freckles for days. He was smart enough to have a conversation with (or I imagined he was) and he was sporty enough that everyone saw him. He wasn’t like star of the football team but definitely a team player. I yearned for the day I could just say hi to him. Gabriella always made fun of me for it. Apparently, I’d go rather quiet whenever he was around and she’d say, “hey Riles, you’re always the life and soul of the party when he’s around.” This time was no real difference except before she could finish Bryce walked over and interrupted her. “Life and soul of the party? Well I don’t believe we have properly met. I’m Bryce, and you are Riley, right?” I wanted to speak. My mouth was open and I had thousands of thoughts bursting out just none went to my mouth. “Yeah, that’s Riley and I’m Gabriella, call me Gabby and I may kill you.” Gabriella interceded, her hand outstretched and saving my butt. He laughed and shook it. “Well thanks for coming to my party, not everyday you get to host whilst your parents are away. I mean don’t get me wrong my buds wanted to invite every living being but I asked to keep it quiet and only invite the coolest people. I mean I guess that’s why you two got an invite. Awesome tough girl Gabriella Diaz, who stands up for everything and fears nothing. And Riley… erm Black…”

“Blackborne…” Gabriella finished.

“Yeah Riley Blackborne… the life and soul of the party. Well Riley it’s really nice to finally… talk to you and I’ll speak later.” I wanted to curl up and die. He made a joke about how I didn’t say a word and seemed really nice. “I think he was blushing,” Gabriella whispered, “maybe he likes you.”

“Nah, can’t be. Why like the pasty nerd who can’t say two words around him? He was probably into you.” She laughed and the night went on.

A couple of hours later and I was merry, whilst Gabriella had gotten rather drunk. I heard the chime of clock and quickly checked the time. 11pm, and only half an hour before Gabriella had to be home. I rolled my eyes and grabbed her phone before she could use it. I text her mum, ‘I hope it’s okay, but studying has gone on a little late, and I’ll be staying at Riley’s. Sorry, heading to bed. Love you x’. Gabriella the lightweight had often stayed at my house and always used to the studying excuse when she wanted to go to a party, so I knew what to do. However, ever the lightweight, I knew it was time for us to go. I said our goodbyes to some of the people we were talking to, and ushered Gabriella out of the door. For a drunk person, Gabriella was quite steady on her feet but I still helped her stay upright. As we reached the end of the street, I heard someone calling out. “Hold up.” It was Bryce. He caught up quickly. “I didn’t get chance to actually talk to you Riley. Want to swap numbers and we can text?” My heart skipped a beat and as steady as Gabriella was, I let her go and she almost fell into a bush. I nodded and handed him my phone. He typed his number in and sent himself a text so he had mine. After passing my phone back, he looked to Gabriella who was wobbling slightly. “Need a hand getting home?”

“No, we’re fine thanks. We don’t live too far.” I had spoken. I had said words to him. Yes, they were a couple of slurred sentences but it was me. Before I had change to celebrate, freeze up or have Gabriella drunkenly congratulate me. I steadied her and ushered her away. “Okay, bye, speak soon Riley.”

“Bye.”

We turned the corner and made our way to the park quickly. At the entrance, I turned to Gabriella. She had started to sober up, “oh my god… you spoke to him.”

“I spoke to him!”

“And you got his number.”

“And I got his number!” The realisation was finally setting in. I had spoken to him, I had his phone number and he wanted to talk. My panic mode set in but before it had chance to make me paranoid, we heard a gruff voice. “Alright, move over here so it’s a bit hidden.” I turned to see a scruffy man, with his face hidden holding a knife at us. He ushered us into the park a bit more and into the darkness. I was terrified and just following orders. We weren’t exactly in the best spot to shout for help and he could want anything. “Now let’s make things easier for all of us. Hand over cash and any valuables, and nobody gets hurt.” I sighed with relief and hoped that was it. I handed him what little money I had, and Gabriella did the same. “Phones too… they must be worth something.” Gabriella gave hers up immediately, I could tell she was sober now. And I was about to give mine up when I remembered that I had just got Bryce’s number. In a moment of utter stupidity, I asked, “can I get a phone number out of it first? My friend has a pen… please?” Gabriella and the man looked bewildered. I guess I hadn’t sobered up in the confrontation and this was important. He shook his head and grabbed for my phone. I clung on tightly and honestly I have no idea what I was doing. In the struggle he pulled me closer. “Please, it’s just one phone number. If I don’t get it, the boy… urgh.” I had felt a sharp pain in my side. I retreated back, dropping the phone and holding my side. “I’m sorry… I didn’t mean too… nobody was meant to get hurt,” the man panicked. He looked around and dropped Gabriella’s phone along with the money. “I was desperate. I’m sorry. Here call for help. But please keep me out of it.” He kicked over the phone and then ran. Gabriella had caught me and lowered me to the ground. She tried to use her phone but the blood from my wound wouldn’t let her. She began to cry as I felt myself fading away. She yelled out for help. I closed my eyes and told her I loved her.

I was surrounded by darkness. The afterlife I guess. I had felt myself die and now I couldn’t see anything. I couldn’t hear anything and I was here. I waited for a moment and felt my pain go away. As it eased and disappeared, I heard tears and a familiar voice. “Stupid… stupid… his phone number wasn’t worth your life.” Gabriella’s voice rang loud and clear. It was like it was right next to me. It was right next to me. I opened my eyes and they got adjusted to the dim light of the park. I felt myself unable to breath and took a sharp inhale. Gabriella froze and stared at me. I looked at her, turning my head to face her. “You’re alive! Oh my god, you’re alive!” She hugged me tightly and went to try her phone again when she stopped. “How are you alive?” I looked. I hadn’t gotten a clear view but I saw the knife sticking straight from my chest and I knew it had hit my heart. I pulled it out and we both watched as the wound sealed up with a light glow. Gabriella freaked out and back away. I freaked out and backed away. The knife glowed and seemed to dissipate into thin air. I was alive but I had no idea how.

After we had calmed down, me and Gabriella decided it was alcoholic hallucinations and that none of it had happened. We picked everything up, made our way to my house and collapsed onto my bed. Falling asleep soon after.

We awoke early the next morning, when Gabriella’s phone rang. We groggily made our way around the room as she spoke to her mum, and apologised for the late text. As I went to fix my hair and wipe my eyes, I looked into the mirror and screamed. Gabriella said bye and hung up. She looked at me and saw what I had. My shirt had a huge gash in it, where the knife had been and was coated in blood. So we’re our hands, and so was Gabriella’s clothes and phone. We were about to panic when I heard a knock at the door. “Honey, sweetiepie are you okay?” It was my mum. She must have heard me scream. “Yeah I’m fine just a bad dream. I’m fine now. Erm can Gabriella come over for breakfast, she messaged me this morning and wants to walk to school?”

“Oh honey of course. You and your little girlfriend… so cute.” I blushed madly and heard her walk down the stairs. Usually I’m able to sneak Gabriella out and she nips home before seeing at school but that’s not possible now. Both me and Gabriella looked at each other and the blood and let out a hushed scream.

Eventually, we got over it rather quickly. We cleaned ourselves up and Gabriella put on her emergency stash of clothes she kept here. I snuck her down and ‘let her in’ and we went to breakfast. We didn’t say a word about anything. I guess we were in denial about my death, and the mugging that lead to it. We got through the school day, and seemed to forget about the whole ordeal when I got a text off Bryce. ‘Hey, I was expected to hear from you when you got home and was kind of worried. Apparently, someone got mugged before you left last night in the park near mine. Glad your okay. Bryce, in case you forgot x’ Normally, I would jump for joy metaphorically of course, or turn to Gabriella with gossip, or at least that’s what I believed I would do but honestly I felt numb and a little cold. On the way home I showed Gabriella the message and I saw her glow stop, her skin drain of colour and she left me stood at the top of her street alone. She didn’t even say goodbye. I was going to follow her but I kind of understand. I walked all the way home and was glad for the weekend at last.

I spent all of Friday evening and Saturday trying to get a message from Gabriella, whilst starting a conversation with Bryce. She didn’t reply and I wanted to constant update her on the Bryce thing but without her messaging me, I knew I needed to give her space. She didn’t reply at all. Sunday came and my parents woke me up asking me to go into the town centre to pick up some shopping. I knew it would get me out of my head for a bit so I did it, without any fuss. I spent an hour or two running errands for them and returned home, staring at my phone on the bus journey. Still nothing from Gabriella. I know my mind should have been on my death and what happened not boys or my friend but I just didn’t feel weird about it. That was until I got home.

The door to my house was ajar. It placed the bags outside and poked my head in. “Mum! Dad! I’m home.” I know every horror movie fan is screaming at me. ‘Don’t go in there! Call the police!’ However, in my head at the time, I wasn’t thinking something was up. Or maybe I was hoping that was the case. Maybe my mum or dad had left the door open, maybe I hadn’t closed it properly. I didn’t hear anything and walked into the kitchen. What I saw should have made me want to throw up, but I felt numb again. I was shocked and upset but I didn’t feel nauseous. I saw my mum and dad, their throats slit and a note on the fridge in blood. ‘Unfortunately, you weren’t here. I guess maybe your friends house? Maybe you can save her if not.’ I could feel the evil oozing from the words. I ran out the door and tried to ring Gabriella. It went to voicemail. She only lived two streets over and I had no idea how long I had left before her fate was the same. I kept ringing, every step and tone matching my heart beat. ‘Please answer… please,’ I thought. I got to the top of the street when she picked up. “Hey, I’m sorry I’ve not answers you I’m just…” The door bell rang. “Sorry one second…”

“Wait Gabriella! Don’t answer it. Trust me, run and hide or leave the house. Please don’t answer it.”

“What? Oh hello, can I help you?”

I ran. I didn’t think, I didn’t explain but I ran towards her house and listened. “Hello, is Riley here?” The voice sounded off but pleasant. “Erm, no, why would she?”

“Shame.”

“What are you doing?!” I heard a scuffling and a bang and I assumed Gabriella had dropped her phone.

As I made it to her house, the door was wide open. I couldn’t hear Gabriella and I panicked. I rushed in and saw a dark figure stood with their back to me. They turned as I got closer. “Now, now, you don’t want me to kill her too?” I froze in place as the person turned around. It was a woman with long black hair and wide red eyes. She wore a large dark trench-coat with a crystal clean white suit underneath. There wasn’t a speck of blood on her. She held a long bladed knife to Gabriella’s throat and had her free hand over her mouth. She smirked. “Now little Death, she’ll live if you come willingly. Don’t you want that? Or is she going to become collateral just like your parents after they fought for you?” Gabriella didn’t look scared. She didn’t seem shocked but had a determined look on her face. She had a plan. I could tell. “Okay. Just don’t hurt her.” I walked over my hands held high. I had no idea what Gabriella planned but I trusted her. As I approached and waited for the woman to release her, Gabriella did something and I wasn’t sure what. She was thrown towards me and I dragged her back. I placed myself between the two readying my fists hoping to give Gabriella time to escape before myself. “Urghhhh! You wretched little girl, you licked my hand. Disgusting.” I stood there shocked. I turned quickly to Gabriella, who shrugged, before turning back. The woman leaped forward her knife in hand, when it felt like time slowed down around me. I could feel the anger growing. This person had killed my parents, threatened my best friend, calling them collateral and all to get to me. As time began to return to normal, I let out a loud scream and magically pulled a knife from my heart where I had died. The blade glowed a bright white and I slashed diagonally. The woman recoiled and I stood there astonished. “No, you were powerless. I was told.” The woman spoke, her voice appearing to distort as a black fog oozed from her. It began to shape next to her and produced a shadowed figure. It smiled revealing a row of fanged teeth. “Next time, little Death, you’ll be mine.” It dissipated before my eyes and Gabriella ran towards the woman. She lay there motionless, not breathing. There was black markings on her skin which reminded me of the occult and as we looked into her eyes, the red had turned to a blue. That thing had possessed her. Other than that the woman’s body seemed fine, no wounds or anything. Gabriella ran for her phone and called the police. I went to the front door and was about to leave. “Wait!” Gabriella had shouted before I heard a voice on the phone. I held my hand tightly on the doorframe and stood there obediently, realising the knife was still in my hand. Gabriella finished up the phone call and kissed me on the cheek. “Thank you for saving me,” she said, her tone clearly holding back tears. I let the knife drop which disappeared without a trace. We hugged and I cried. Gabriella placed me on the stairs before going back to the body of the woman. I noticed the clean suit had began to get bloodstains on it, dried and clearly not hers. Gabriella rummaged through the pockets and found an old flip phone. She pocketed it and then found a note. ‘Few hours old, no harm, easy kill. Call Collateral Clean Up if necessary.’ There was no number but after the police and Gabriella’s parents questioned us, along with them taking me to get some stuff from my parents house, we found a phone number in the phone.

A few weeks went by and it was nearly time for the end of the year. I was currently living with the Diaz family until I became of age as I had no other family and things remained quiet. I had become a bit of a recluse as the school became aware of the kid who saved his friend over his parents and the stories got twisted. I still texted Bryce but I couldn’t talk to him in public, too shy. The police had finished investigating and the woman, Elsie Grace (a random person from the next town over), had apparently been reported missing, lost her mind and decided to murder my parents and attempted myself and Gabriella before accidentally swallowing a cyanide pill for after her spree. It was a bit out there but still in the realms of possibly considering what actually happened. On the evening of the last day of school, Bryce had invited us to a party but I declined as I was still getting weird looks. He understood and apologised. I was liking him more and more. However Gabriella decided to use the night to investigate the phone further and discovered myself being referred to as a Death (although I had no idea of what that meant at the time) and found an address for the clean up that had been mentioned on the note. It was about 200 miles away from us, somewhere near Edinburgh. We decided that as she had passed her driving test early in the year and her parents had bought her a pity car due to the trauma. We would go on a road trip and investigate this place ourselves. I mean, movie goers are face palming and we’re just two teenagers but I had discovered the ability to call on a mystic knife from and practiced it and Gabriella knew I needed answers and wouldn’t let me go alone. So this began our journey to discovering a world hidden from us and discovering a new life for myself.

Oh and before I forget, I still went by Riley at that point. Until next time.

Young AdultFantasy
Like

About the Creator

Dee Jay Kay

Hello there people, I am an amateur in writing, interesting in getting my work out there, and for people to read it. Let me know what you think. Dee Jay Kay x

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.