Fiction logo

The Deadly Croissant

And how it changed everything...

By Axel PostmusPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
The Deadly Croissant
Photo by Tom Paolini on Unsplash

I was just getting home from work when I got the call. It was my best friend, and they sounded frantic. All they said was that someone had been eating a croissant in the park and had suddenly collapsed. I told them I was on my way and hung up the phone.

I live close to the park, so I was there in a few minutes. When I arrived, I saw my friend standing over the body of a man. It was clear that he was dead. My friend was in shock, and I tried to help them but it was too late.

We called the police and they arrived shortly after. They started asking us questions, but it was all a blur. I couldn't believe that someone could just be eating a croissant one minute and be dead the next. It just didn't make any sense.

The police took our statements and then left. My friend and I were both in shock. We just couldn't believe what had happened. It was just so sudden and unexpected. We didn't know what to do or where to go from there.

We eventually went home, but I couldn't stop thinking about what had happened. It was just so surreal. I had never seen anything like it before, and I didn't know how to process it. I didn't know if I would ever be able to forget what I had seen.

The next day, I went back to the park. I wanted to see if there was anything that could give me some answers. But there was nothing. Just the same empty park, with no sign of what had happened the day before. It was like it had never even happened.

But then, 2 months later, my friend called me again. They had found out what had happened to the man in the park. It turns out, he had been poisoned. Someone had put something in his croissant that killed him.

This made me sad. Why would someone try to poison someone? What could they possibly gain from it? It just didn't make any sense. But at least now I had some answers. Even if they weren't the answers I wanted.

The next day shocked me. My friend died. He ate a croissant. Everything changed that day.

I was devastated. I couldn't believe it. My friend had died. The one person who knew me better than anyone. The one person who understood me. They were gone.

I was lost without them. I didn't know what to do. I didn't know how to keep going. But I had to. I had to keep going for them. I had to keep going for me.

I started my own croissant bakery. I wanted to make the best croissants in the world. I wanted to make sure that no one ever died from eating one of my croissants.

It's been 10 years since that fateful day in the park. And in that time, I've become the best croissant maker in the world. I've won awards and accolades. People come from all over to try my croissants.

But even with all my success, I still think about that day in the park. And I still wonder who poisoned that man and why. I'll never know the answers to those questions. But I'll never stop trying to find them.

Because for me, it's not just about making the best croissants in the world. It's about making sure that no one ever has to go through what I went through that day. It's about making sure that no one ever has to feel the pain of losing someone they care about in such a sudden and unexpected way.

I did this for the stranger in the park, and for my friend

It's not about making the best croissants in the world. It's about making sure that no one ever has to go through what they went through that day.

AdventureHumorMysteryShort StoryYoung Adult
2

About the Creator

Axel Postmus

- Loves writing

- Interested in literature

- Likes learning new things

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.