Fiction logo

The Dead Held The Answers

It took me a few years but I now know the truth

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
8
Image courtesy of Pixabay

"The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window."

I see you all expect my campfire story to begin with that old cabin in the woods, but I’ve a surprise for you. My campfire story I want to tell you tonight is a wee bit different to what you are expecting.

Sit back , relax and enjoy.

***************

Sadly, I was orphaned as a very young child and because of this I was raised in the foster system. Not ideal for any child but certainly not one that has lived a life of trauma.

When I was two years of age, evil personified decided to rob my parents’ general store and while this was happening, he also decided to take their lives.

Hence why I am an orphan. It was only sheer luck that I was left with a babysitter that day, as I would usually go to work with Mum. If I’d been there would he have killed me too? I guess I’ll never know!

Life in the foster system is nothing to write home about, but as I am being shuffled from pillar to post, I spend a lot of time alone, as you can imagine. I try to be invisible and blend in as much as possible.

It is during this alone time, that I discover I am a little different, unique in a special way.

This discovery happens when I turn thirteen years of age. I find myself in the local cemetery where I love to hang out, pretending the dead are my friends, my family, my long lost parents.

You can imagine my surprise this day when I was chatting away with a nineteen year old young man who had died in the war, when he suddenly rose from his grave, right in front of me.

I am surprised for sure but I’m not scared. I’ve always felt an affiliation to the dead. I thought it was due to the loss of my parents, but no it looks like I have a special ability, to raise the dead for a short period of time.

Short period of time is not an exaggeration. I also discover that the dead raised, would vanish back into their grave after just a few minutes.

From that moment on, every opportunity I had, I would head to the cemetery and practice with my new ability. After six months of practicing, I realise I could put this ability to good use.

It is at this time, that I decide to ask the dead to help me find the man who had robbed and killed my parents, as to this day he has never been caught.

During one of my practice sessions, I realise that the best time to raise the dead to get the best result, is during the gloaming. You know that time of the day where the sun has just set but it is not quite dark yet. This seems to be a magical time, as my dead can stay for as long as five minutes.

So every day after school, I head to the cemetery and wait for that special time of the day. For the brief short period of the gloaming, I start at one end of the cemetery and wake each dead member, asking them if they could help me with any information of the crime that took my parents.

Most of the dead aren’t interested or have no idea of what I am talking about, but every now and again I’ll raise that one person that will give me a nugget of a clue. Nothing earth shattering, just enough that it would give me clear guidelines for the next question to ask.

There is certainly an easier way to get this information and that is to raise my parents but to be honest, I don’t think emotionally I could cope with that.

Therefore, it was a slow old race to the finish line the way I was doing it, but that’s okay too.

Month after month passes and each day I continue with my practice, raising dead after dead, until I get another tiny nugget of information.

Then one especially beautiful gloaming, I raise the dead person that was next in line from the person I raised yesterday. The headstone engraving tells me this is a thirty year old man who had been shot and killed during a robbery.

As he climbs out of his grave and I begin to question him, he holds up his hand, while telling me he has the information I am looking for. He quickly explains that he has been blamed for the robbery and murders by a police officer.

He then tells me the entire story.

A police officer accused him of the robbery and murder of my parents, when in fact it was the officer who committed this crime. He went on to explain he had witnessed the crime , as he was about to walk into the store when the robbery took place. As he realised what was happening, he watched from outside, looking through the glass front doors.

Unfortunately, the police officer saw him after he had killed my parents. He explains that he ran but a week later, while he was in another store, that corrupt officer walked in and shot him. The officer then reported a robbery in progress but advised he had shot the perpetrator in self defence.

I am so heartbroken for this young man and so I let him know, I will take his story to the newspaper. I want to not only clear his name but get justice for my parents at the same time.

At this point the young man vanishes back into his grave.

I’m not sure how I’m going to convince the newspapers that my story is true. I mean seriously, I’ve no chance if I own up to how I know.

But I promise no matter what, I will convince them if it takes me the rest of my life and once I do succeed, I’m going to reward myself by raising my parents and telling them the true story of how their lives ended!

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

Short Story
8

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Stultus the Fool2 years ago

    really enjoyed the story, especially the twist of the cop trying to cover up his crime!

  • Brian Hobbs2 years ago

    I love your story, and as it is written in the first person it makes it more personal. Please allow me to offer an opinion, in which I mean in no way to be negative, but hopefully constructive. I have only read the first part which you placed on the internet. I think it is a great draft, it has all the hallmarks of a story that draws you in. However, It is full of telling. I believe if you could rewrite it with showing, it would take your story to the next level. Don't tell me what is happening, show me. I want to feel what it was like in the foster system and the way in which you experienced your trauma. At the graveyard is it night or day? I want to know the shock and wonder of people emerging from the grave. Is it cold or warm, What sounds are happening around me? Is the moon full or half crescent, or the sun in the morning, midday or late in the afternoon? Do I freeze in fright when the spirits appear or are they emanating a warmth? How do I feel now that I know the truth about my parents, not in telling but showing. I want to feel your emotions. I hope this has helped? I only want to encourage and inspire you to be better than you are. You are a good story teller, keep going. Brian Hobbs

  • Lovely to read about spirits and lifetimes and the work that goes with it.

  • This was awesomeeee! I literally gasped at the twist when the murderer was revealed. I was caught off guard hahaha. Really enjoyed this story. Hope there would be a part 2

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.