Fiction logo

The Day Our Souls Collided

A Moment of Love

By Michelle schaferPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
The Day Our Souls Collided
Photo by Morgan Sessions on Unsplash

I was up in my own head, it had been one hell of a day. I was ruminating, I know I was twisting those thoughts, every which way. The day unfolding over and over again. If only I could go home and unpack the days events but alas, here I was pulling into the parking lot of the local library. A book launch was the last place I wanted to be. I looked in the rearview mirror and pulled myself together, grabbed my bag and headed in.

Cursing the promise I made to attend, I stepped inside. Before I had a chance to scour the room, I saw him. But it was more than that, I felt him.

I could feel the heat rise in my face, but my eyes were transfixed. Why couldn't I blink? His gaze enveloped me and I felt an electrified energy coursing through my body. Awake. Alive. I felt every cell dancing. I could feel every part of me on high alert. My skin tingling. The hair on my arms standing on end.

A potent mix of excitement, warmth and calm washed over me. In all but a moment, I could see the heights of mountain tops, the valleys of lush green-with the blue hues of rushing water, as it cascaded over the earthy rocks. I could see the glimmer of the sun as it peaked through even the moodiest of days. And what was that in the distance? Aah yes I could see home. The warmth and cosiness of a safe space. The feeling of being held, a home within his arms.

Words were not needed, as our energy spoke volumes. I was so self aware, so present in that moment. All the stresses of the day cleansed away, washed away by this foreign man, this beautiful stranger, with the dark eyes and the navy suit. This man with this captivating energy, and those eyes, they were like deep pools of chocolate. So warm, so inviting. So hypnotic.

I felt so drawn to him, like a magnet. Like an invisible thread had already tethered our souls together. Entwining us, whether for a lifetime, or just a fleeting interlude. It didn't matter, some souls never truly say goodbye.

In that moment, the briefest of moments I was enamoured. I was free falling at a rapid rate, but I did not want to stop. His eyes and energy spoke to me in ways I'd never been spoken to before. In a language I had not heard, but nevertheless completely understood. His presence stopped time. A connection felt so powerfully within my core.

I felt a longing for something, someone that- I never knew existed. That longing was for this man, this stranger that was standing across the room. I longed to feel his skin, be held in his arms. Oh how I longed to feel those soft lips brush over mine. I yearned to hear his voice, a few private and secretive words whispered into my ear. I ached to know him, to connect with him on every level- emotional, physical and spiritual. The desire rushing through me, filling every crevice of my being. Could this be love? Could I have found a missing part of me that I never knew I lost? I would never be the same.

Two people in a crowded room. Two people forever changed by the momentary binding of energy. Two souls touched in an unforgettable way- knowing that regardless of what happens, there will always be this moment. This encounter where time stood still.

Our souls knew and our energy spoke, the moment we collided.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Michelle schafer

Mum of 2 incredible humans. Holistic counsellor and coach. Continuing my passion to write and writing my first book. Always unapologetically me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.