Fiction logo

The Day of Dawning

Two lives inexplicably bound, one solemn oath threatening to sever them.

By Ahna LewisPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 25 min read
4
Photo by Cristofer Maximilian on Unsplash

Magnus

Fire, smoke, ash, and storm. I am Magnus and my blood carries fire. I am Magnus and I come to destroy. Through a rippling canvas of flame, I watch the singed wood crumble. Charred debris tumbles from elevated waterways, the once vibrant streams now sucked into dry earth. Ash litters the air, drifting downwards in blankets of gray. I tear their world limb from limb. Flames billow from my open maw, blistering their skin, searing their world into darkness. I show no mercy because they are without mercy. We, the dragons, the Star-Born, cannot be extinguished. They all must die. Every last River-Born.

A cloud of smoke pillars behind me as I fly back to Fiverra, home of the Star-Born and our Forest-Born allies. I accomplished what I came to do. The River-Born capital is left as ashes, and I am still young, in the first year of my Undertaking. Such a feat has not been done before. I spin through the air in tight spirals, the early morning sunlight glinting off my onyx scales. The Fiverra Elders will certainly be impressed. They will accept the fulfillment of my pledge and I will be named a true warrior of the Star-Born, friend of the Forest-Born. I am Magnus and I have succeeded in my Undertaking. I am Magnus and my Day is Dawning. Hear my name and fear me. I recite the words of the dawning ceremony, the words that will make me a full member of my clan.

I scan the forest below, sharp eyes hoping for a deer or other snack to aid me on the long flight home. Movement. A tiny creature on the edge of a grassy meadow. Perhaps only a rabbit or a vole. I swoop closer, too curious and too hungry to pass by. There it is again, padding towards the trees—such a slow, chubby little creature. Deserves to be eaten if it’s going to waddle around like that. I launch into a dive, wings pinned to my sides, talons outstretched. And that’s when I realize what I’ve found.

The forest leaves swirl in a vortex around me as I brace my shoulders, making my wings billow outward like a sail. I halt inches from the creature and touch down on the ground beside it, my enormous talons leaving an imprint on the earth. I focus my emerald eyes in its direction to make sure I am not mistaken. I am not. I have found a human child.

She is female, her dark hair tied in two little tuffs on the top of her head, no doubt to resemble dragon horns. Scale-less, weak creatures, humans are always trying to find ways to look more like us. Her eyes are brown, a color common among the Forest-Born. She must have lost her way. I exhale deeply, rustling forest leaves beneath my hot breath. She stares at me without fear.

“Where are your kin-folk?” I project my thoughts towards her mind, careful not to think too loudly and risk scaring her.

Her brown eyes grow wider as my thoughts brush against her consciousness.

Instead of words as I am hoping, the child responds in a series of gurgles and blubbering. Another way humans are inferior. Dragon younglings can articulate their thoughts just days after they are born.

She reaches out her hand towards my foreleg. “They go.”

So she can talk.

“Where did they go?” I try again.

Her brown eyes glisten with moisture. “Mama go way.” Her face is splotched red and white now as droplets of eye water roll down her cheeks. The child must have been abandoned, left to fend for herself. I shuffle my scales, annoyed. Dragons would never leave their young like this.

I hesitate for just a moment, the decision already clear. I will take her back with me. The Forest-Born of Fiverra will adopt her. They will raise her to be a strong warrior and fight the River-Born.

The youngling totters towards me, arms outstretched.

“Mama go way,” she repeats.

“Yes, your mother is gone, but I will take you somewhere safe.” I bend my head low, so that she can see my eyes and know I am a friend.

She takes another step forward, but loses her balance, tumbling into a patch of sunlight that spills through the forest canopy above.

“Uh-oh!” She sits up, laughing.

At least the child isn’t fragile. As she stands, the sunlight catches a glint of color. There’s a blue orb tied on a leather cord about her neck.

I recoil in shock, feeling the fire seethe within me. She is wearing a water amulet. This child is River-Born.

I think about her kind, humans who bend water to their will. The only humans with the power to extinguish the spark of a Star-Born. She must have come from Cassera, the capital of the River-Born. Most likely her parents tried to hide her when they heard of my attack. Young though she may be, she is not innocent. She is one of them. She has to die. There is no other way.

I reach a talon forward, one swipe is all it will take.

“Up! Pick Mya up!” she squeals in delight, reaching for my claw. I look again at her brown eyes, so trusting, so hopeful.

I am Magnus and my Day is Dawning. I am Magnus and my blood carries fire. I am Magnus and I come to destroy. I am Magnus and I…I…

I swipe my talon forward, faster than a spark from a crackling fire. But I do not kill the child. Instead, I sever the amulet from her neck and watch the blue orb shatter against the ground, the water inside trickling onto dusty earth.

She giggles. “Can’t catch me!” She starts running little circles around my legs. She is too young to know the power she has lost.

“Come youngling, I will take you to the Forest-Born. You will be one of them now.”

I scoop her up in my talons, gently cradling her as I would my own young. Her brown eyes, her trust, her courageous spirit--she will fit in as a Forest-Born. No one needs to know the truth.

“We are going home now, child.” I project my thoughts as I spread my wings for flight.

“I is Mya,” she says, wrapping her chubby arms around my talon in an embrace.

I jolt a little when I hear her repeat the name. Mya. Doubtless it means something else to the River-Born, but in the language of the Star-Born, it means Mine.

“Yes, Mya,” I say. “I am Magnus and you are Mya and I will always protect you.”

Mya

Thirteen years later

The strands of dried grass tangle in my hands, once again bunching the mat I am weaving.

“Concentrate child, you mustn't rush so.” Namira shakes her head.

“But Nanny, the others are going to Deep Woods, and I’ll get left behind,” I pout.

“Then you will just have to catch up with them later.” Namira continues her work with indifference, not even bothering to lift her eyes in my direction. “No child in my care has ever been allowed to leave before finishing their chores.”

“No child in your care was ever this bad at weaving,” I grumble, picking at the knots I’ve unknowingly created.

Namira, or Nanny as she’s affectionately called, has raised me since I was just a toddler. She takes in all the Forest-Born orphans, teaching us the ways of the trees and vines, the herbs and plants, the ways of the clan. Though she often scolds me, I know it’s because she cares. I love her more than anyone. Well, anyone except—

There’s a roar and rush of air just outside our dwelling. I run to the opening in the slats of wood, peering into the common area connecting the forest dwellings. A magnificent dragon stands in the glittering sun, the black of his scales radiating light. Magnus. The only one I love more than Nanny.

“Oh, Nanny, he’s here. Can’t I go?”

Namira raises an eyebrow at my sorry excuse for a mat.

“I’ll finish it when I get back, I promise.” I look at her with the most big-eyed, pleading expression I can muster.

It doesn’t work.

“Not until you’re finished, Mya. I stand by my rules.” She hands me more willow grass.

In the yard, Magnus throws back his head, trumpeting a roar that must echo through the entire forest. I can hear delighted shouts and hurried shuffling as the youth of Fiverra scurry out of their dwellings to meet him.

He’s taking them to Deep Woods to train as warriors, and I’m getting left behind. I stare at the pile of perfect mats by the doorway, mats woven by the other Forest-Born youth. Why am I always the worst, always last at everything?

And I’m not being dramatic. If they wanted, the others could weave dried grass blindfolded, carve tools from solid wood, and plant gardens with just the touch of their fingers against the earth. As for me, every forest craft I touch seems to turn to sand in my hands.

I feel the mat shift and look up to see Nanny on the other end, twisting the grasses where they need to go. Her eyes are softer than they were before.

“Go ahead, child. I’ll finish for you.”

“Thank you, Nanny!” I hurriedly kiss her cheek before careening full speed out the door.

***

I stumble over logs, branches snapping in my face, arms scratched on brambles.

“Hurry up, Mya!” Jathan calls over his shoulder. He’s usually the slowest of the group, but I lag a good ten paces behind. He reaches a hand out in front of him and it’s as if the roots and brambles retract, clearing his path. “Magnus is waiting for us!”

I try to catch up, but my stumbling is only getting worse. While the others glide through the trees, sure-footed and free, the forest has never been my friend. My foot catches a root and I tumble headlong into the sharp twigs and scattered rocks that cover the earth. I inhale sharply as pain sparks through my knee and across the palms of my outstretched hands.

I watch Jathan’s shoulder blades disappear into the trees, the gentle pounding of his footsteps fading to nothing. I am alone in the forest.

I sit up, pulling my knees to my chest and wrapping my arms around my legs. Hot tears of embarrassment roll down the sides of my face. Once again, I have failed.

I’ve been sitting there a long while when the air starts to swirl above me, making the forest tremble. A storm? An invader? I don’t even bother to lift my head.

“Why are you crying, Mya?” a familiar voice brushes my consciousness.

I look up. It’s Magnus. I want to be brave, but when I see him, I only start to cry harder.

He bends his head, reaching for me with his emerald eyes. “Tell me.”

“I’m tired of always being the worst at everything. I can’t even keep up with the others.” I feel my cheeks grow red, knowing how childish this must sound to him.

He lowers to a crouch, allowing me to climb to the place at the base of his neck between his shoulder blades. “I want to show you something.”

I cling to him as he barrels his way through the forest, smashing down small trees and leaving gaping footprints in his wake. There’s a reason he usually flies to get places. He halts at the edge of a small stream, crouching so I can slide from his back.

“Look into the water,” he instructs.

I feel a little foolish but do as he asks. Through the rippling current, I see a reflection of what I know to be myself. Wide eyes the color of wet mud and black hair tied in two tight knots at the top of my head. I notice how my cheekbones are more pronounced now, my face thinner than when I was a child. I am nearly grown. Soon will be the first year of my Undertaking.

“What do you see?” Magnus asks.

“Nothing special,” I reply, turning away from the stream.

Magnus snorts, snapping a foreleg down to block my exit. “Turn back around. I haven’t finished with you.”

Sighing, I comply, looking again at my reflection.

“The one I see is strong,” he says. “She is fierce and brave and never gives up.” He leans forward so that his reflection appears beside mine in the stream. “The one I see is never alone.”

And I know he is right. My entire life, Magnus has been there. Guiding me, protecting me, and sometimes scolding me, but he has been there just the same. I lean a little closer and see the reflection of my smile. Magnus always knows how to make me feel better.

Just when I am at the closest possible point to the stream, he slaps his tail against the water, sending up a tidal wave that splashes me full in the face.

“Magnus!” I screech, dripping water and laughing as I try to splash him back. I feel his laughter rolling in my mind as he unfurls his wings.

“Now run, Mya! I’ll meet you in Deep Woods.”

I take off running after him, following the dragon shaped shadow that flickers through the tree branches. The most amazing thing happens as I slice through underbrush, hurdle logs, and avoid obstacles—I keep up with his shadow. I run through the forest with a skill equal, if not exceeding, that of my peers. I run and I laugh, the water from the stream still dripping off me. I have never felt more energized, more alive.

***

In the heart of the forest, a stone monolith stands, blanketed in the green of moss and the grayish blue of lichen. This is Deep Woods, the place where young Forest-Born are taught the ways of the clan warriors. I arrive out of breath and still a little wet from the stream, but mostly just relieved. I am here before Magnus, therefore, I am not late. Those who are late are often sent home for their carelessness. The other youth are gathered in a semi-circle around the monolith, so I squeeze in beside Jathan and Elvira.

A war-like screech and a jet of fire fills the air above us. I can feel the heat billowing around me, but I’m not scared. It’s just Magnus showing off again.

The others watch in respectful awe as he lands in front of the monolith, every eye captivated by his splendor.

Magnus struts forward, making the sun glimmer off his scales. “Children of the Forest-Born.” His voice is always a little different when he teaches these lessons. It’s deeper and more fiery than when he talks to me directly. He continues, “You will not be children much longer. The time has come to prepare for your Undertaking.”

There’s a rustle of excitement as his words sink in. I feel Elvira nudge me in the ribs, her eyes wide as she tries to catch my glance.

Magnus continues. “To become a true warrior of the Forest-Born and a friend of the Star-Born, you must make a pledge to the Fiverra Elders. Whatever you pledge to accomplish should demonstrate courage, strength, and skill. By succeeding in your Undertaking, you will reach your Day of Dawning and prove yourself a fit warrior of your people.” Magnus pauses, his emerald eyes staring resolutely into each face in the gathered half-circle. “Above anything else, whatever you pledge must come from the song of your own heart. It must reflect who you are.”

Jathan rises to his knees and bows his head, indicating he has a question.

Magnus stomps against the earth, granting him permission to speak.

“Could you tell us about your Undertaking, Star-Born?” Jathan asks. “My father told me no one could ever match your Day of Dawning.”

Magnus snorts, smoke furling from his nostrils. His eyes flash in annoyance. He looks offended. “You must never ask what another has pledged. A warrior may choose to share it with those he trusts most, but it is not something to be given freely.”

Jathan drops his eyes in embarrassment and returns to his seat. “I ask your pardon, Star-Born.”

Again, Magnus stomps the earth, this time indicating Jathan’s pardon. “I will leave you now. You each must search your own hearts in solitude for your pledge. Seek no advice. No other can know what your heart has determined for you to do. And remember, the pledge is binding. Your Undertaking is your burden to carry until it is accomplished. For some, it can take the rest of their lives. It is up to you now. After the passing of three new moons, you will present your pledges to Rilgor, leader of the dragons, and to the rest of the Council of Elders.”

Magnus unfurls his wings, and leaps into the sky. Before he goes, I sense his voice in my mind. The tone has changed and I know his words are just for me.

“You will find your path, Little One,” he says.

The moment his shadow fades from view, the circle around me bursts into eager conversation.

“At last we can begin our Undertaking!” Leif shouts. “We’re going to be true warriors!”

Barlow touches the earth, making purple flowers grow up in vines around him. “I’m going to pledge something most incredible. Fiverra will forever remember Barlow, son of Medon!”

Jathan shakes his head. “I don’t think so, Barlow. Nothing you do will ever come close to what Magnus has already accomplished.”

The chatter grows quiet as the others catch Jathan’s words. Everyone wants to know about Magnus.

“My father said that what Magnus accomplished was the most ambitious and most incredible of all the dragon feats.” The others look on in wonder, most likely conjuring images of outstanding acts of valor. Jathan continues, raising his hands to emphasize his words. “And he accomplished it in the first year of his Undertaking.”

There’s a collective gasp of wonder.

“Mya, you're close kin with Magnus. Did he ever tell you about his Day of Dawning?” Elvira asks.

I shake my head. I thought Magnus and I were close, but maybe he doesn’t trust me like I thought he did. I know it’s foolish, but I feel a twinge of betrayal.

“He’s never mentioned it,” I say.

With such a boring answer, their attention quickly turns back to Leif as he beckons in the direction of the village. “Let’s get back to Fiverra!” he calls as he starts to run. “I want to tell my parents the news!”

The others start running and I do my best to keep up, but the energy I felt from before has completely faded. I should have known it wouldn’t last. I stumble along, struggling like the lost cause I was this morning. When finally even Jathan disappears, I slow to a walk. What’s the point? The others are long gone now anyway. I think back to the words Magnus left for me. You will find your path. I want to find my path. More than anything, I just want to fit in.

I look up at the leafy canopy, breathing in the woodsy pine scent of the forest. I know what I will do. I will pledge something incredible and ambitious just like Magnus did. I will make him proud. I will live up to the expectations of my clan and become a warrior just like him.

***

Just as the morning sun rises, I leave the tent of the Elders. Three new moons have passed since the day at the monolith and there is now a half circle tattooed on my wrist. My pledge is secure and I carry this mark as proof. Only when I have succeeded will the circle be complete. I sigh, the enormity of what I have done sinking in. The task I have chosen is no easy path. I will have to leave my family, surviving day by day. It could be years until I return.

I enter our dwelling to find Nanny chopping herbs and assorted roots for a breakfast of rabbit stew. She sets her blade aside when I come through the doorway. Shuffling forward, she takes my hand and turns it so the tattoo is visible.

“My brave girl. You will be a warrior soon.”

I look into her eyes, trying hard not to cry. “I have to pack now.”

“Must you leave so soon?” I see her glance at the stew simmering over the fire. It’s just like Nanny to want to feed me before I leave.

“My Undertaking is urgent.”

“Everything with you is urgent,” she teases, squeezing my hand. “But yes, you best go gather your supplies.”

I pack my haversack with a few basic clothes and tools essential for survival. As for weapons, I slide my hunting knife into my boot and swing my bow over my shoulder. Though these feel inadequate, they will have to do. I cannot carry a sword until my Day of Dawning when I have completed my Undertaking. My haversack mostly packed, I head back beside the cooking fire. Nanny has already tied bread, cheese, dried meat, and fruit together in a clean white cloth.

“For you to take.” She smiles as she hands me the parcel. I know I will never forget her gap-toothed smile.

“He hasn’t come?” I ask, trying to peer through the wooden slats in the dwelling.

I don’t have to explain. Nanny knows I’m talking about Magnus.

“He will come,” she says the words as certain as she knows the sun will rise. “You start on your way.”

With a final hug and a words of thanks, I leave the dwelling of my childhood.

***

I walk beside the forest stream towards Deep Woods. Magnus should be here by now. I am in desperate need of his advice, his strength. Why does it feel like he’s avoiding me? Does he no longer care? I am haunted by doubt. I whisper his name, wishing the wind might somehow carry my voice to him.

With each step, the muddy bank squelches beneath my boots. I mentally review my plan. In two days time, I will be at the threshold of the river, the gates to the River-Born. I will start by—

A shadow passes above me and there is a rush of air. I look up to see the outline of a dragon descending.

“Mya!”

My heart swells at the sound of his voice. Magnus lands beside me.

“I was afraid you weren’t coming,” I say, smiling like a child. I was planning on being mad at him, but I’m too relieved.

“I will always come when you call.”

“You heard me?”

He nods his sleek head. “Yes, Mya.”

“Magnus, I want to—” I debate with myself for half a second, then proceed. “I want to tell you what I pledged. I want someone to know, and I trust you more than anyone.”

He lowers himself to the ground and tucks his tail around his legs like a giant cat. “If that is what you wish, you may tell me.”

“Do you remember how you told me you found me in the forest? How my parents were killed and you found me as an orphan?”

Magnus nods.

“Well, I’m going on a quest to find them.”

“Find who? Your parents are dead, child.” Magnus’s voice is gentle.

“No, not my parents, the one who killed them. I have sworn to avenge my parents’ death.”

It’s as if all of his muscles suddenly tense, his tail twitches and I see his claws press into the earth. When he speaks, there’s a quiet urgency to his voice.

“Little one, did you swear with the Blood Oath?”

I nod. “At the pledging ceremony, I swore to destroy the one who killed my parents or might my bones be ground into dust.”

Magnus’s eyes are sharp green, emerald bright. I don’t understand the way he’s looking at me. Maybe he’s scared. He’s afraid I’ll fail.

“Don’t worry, Magnus.” I put my hand on his side, feeling the glossy warmth of his scales. “I won’t fail. Our family are born warriors.”

Magnus rises to his feet. “Walk with me, Little One.”

We walk along the stream’s edge in silence.

At last, Magnus speaks, “I want to tell you about my Day of Dawning.”

My heart starts to beat quicker. I am about to hear the tale I’ve been longing to know.

“I, like you, had a quest of vengeance,” Magnus begins. “When I was but a hatchling, my mother was killed by River-Born warriors. She sought only to protect me, but they wrapped their waters around her and extinguished her light. She couldn’t breathe fire, her strength evaporated like mist, there was nothing she could do. I watched as they killed her. When I grew older, I swore at my pledging ceremony to make those warriors pay. And not just them, I swore to destroy all of Cassera, the River Capital. And I did. In the first year of my Undertaking, I conquered an entire city.”

His voice is resigned, but my heart swells with pride. Jathan and the others were right. Magnus is the greatest of all the dragon warriors to ever roam these forests. And he is my kin, my protector. I've never felt so proud of him. He pauses, looking at me with eyes of grief.

“What’s wrong, Magnus?” I ask.

“I destroyed those in the capital without regard for innocence or youth. I killed indiscriminately.”

“But that’s how war works.” I shake my head. “You have no reason to feel shame. They were River-Born anyway. They deserved to die.”

If it’s possible, Magnus seems even more upset than before. He’s standing next to the stream bank. “Place your hand in the water,” he instructs.

I’m thoroughly confused but do as he asks. The water feels cool and refreshing. It shimmers over my hand like a silvery fish. As I watch the current, I feel something in the water pulling me, a sense of belonging rushing over me. Water swirls up and around me. My blood thrums with energy like I’ve unlocked a reserve of power hidden deep within my being.

“Magnus, what’s happening?” I call over the rush of water.

“The water is calling you.” His voice is deep and clear within my mind. There is no mistaking his words. “You are River-Born, Mya. The day I found you there was a River Amulet tied around your neck, a way for you to always carry the power of the water with you. I cut the amulet away. I tried to make you one of us.” He pauses and I feel the crushing weight of his words. “The day I found you was the day I destroyed Cassera. I am the one who killed your parents.”

My heart rate is spiraling out of control. It’s all I can do to breathe. His words can’t be true. They just can’t. I can feel the shock twist in my stomach and slowly rise up my throat. None of this is real. It’s a nightmare, a horrible nightmare. As my emotions rise, I feel the water rise higher around me, walling me in on every side.

“Mya, listen to me. You swore the Blood Oath to avenge them. There is no other choice.”

Magnus breaks into the tent of water surrounding me. He bows his head. “Use the water and extinguish my flame.”

I see him bowed before me, exposed and vulnerable, willing to die so that I might live. It shouldn’t be this way. It should never have to be this way. Instead of water rushing over him, it’s me that rushes forward. I hug his snout, covering him in my tears.

“No, Magnus. I can’t do that.”

The water that surrounded me, now surrounds Magnus, protecting him like battle armor. It holds us both together. There’s a screech in the air above us. A wide shadow, bigger even than the shadow of Magnus, starts to descend. I see the green scales of Rilgor, the oldest and most powerful of all the dragons and the head of the Council of Elders. When she lands beside us, the whole earth seems to shake.

“You swore a dangerous oath, Mya.” Her voice is old and gravely, seasoned by the years like the rocks that crumble from a mountainside.

Magnus steps forward so that he stands between me and Rilgor. Even now, he is trying to protect me. “Her oath will be fulfilled, Rilgor. Do not harm the child.”

Now I step forward. Maybe it’s the power of the water, maybe it’s Magnus’s love for me, but I am braver than I have ever been.

“Rilgor-Elder,” I address the most powerful dragon on the council. “I will not let him die.”

Rilgor’s eyes flash, yellow and bright. “You speak with much authority for one so young.”

I drop my eyes. I have been impertinent and she is angry. I bow my head like Magnus did earlier. I feel strength radiating from his presence next to me. “I am willing to die if it will save him,” I say.

Rilgor sighs, long and deep, her breath rustling the forest leaves. “No one has to die.”

I look up, startled. She wouldn’t joke about something so serious, would she? But instead of mocking laughter, I see wisdom in her eyes, and I know she speaks the truth.

“The reckless, headstrong dragon who wiped out the city of Cassera without a care for innocent blood no longer exists,” Rilgor explains. “He was destroyed the day he met you, Mya. You, child, have already fulfilled your oath. Your Undertaking is complete. It is now your Day of Dawning.”

FantasyShort StoryYoung Adult
4

About the Creator

Ahna Lewis

Just a high school English teacher who never quite got over her dream of becoming an author. :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Wonderful- literally. There are a ton of original ideas and character details here when these kinds of stories are usually buried in cliche. Plus, your skill with carrying a story along on your words kept me moving through the plot with pleasure. Good grief Ahna, this is so much better than most of the YA stuff that gets published. Just fantastic- your writing is captivating!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I really liked how Magnus and Mya both went through such an arc emotionally and found peace together at the end.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.