Fiction logo

The Day

Rico Sims

By Tanjanika LewisPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

You could’ve sworn my ceiling was the most intricate thing on the planet if you clocked how long I’ve been staring at it. My alarm pulls me out of my daze for the third time before I roll out of bed to get ready for the day.

“I’m heading out.”

“Okay, try to have a good day.”

“I’ll try.”

“I’m serious Rico. Have a good day.” Looking up from her breakfast spread and laptop she gives me a little smile.

I return her smile as I close the door. I know she means well but apathy has never been something my sister could comprehend.

“Rico, my main man. How the heck are you?”

“I’m good man. What’s up.”

“I can’t just speak to my favorite co-worker?” he asks as he pats me on the shoulder. I thank God for the mask mandate at work, he can’t see how irritated I am with his presents. I take a deep breathe before faking a smile with my eyes and lacing my voice with the chipperness he’s seeking.

“Yeah man, of course. How was your evening?”

“Let me tell you, you are so lucky to be single…”

I wish I could express to him how much I don’t care for his small talk, but when you are the bosses nephew and the lead manager you get to subject the entire department to your useless banter day in and day out.

“… and then she said ‘you should try broiling fish then.’ Isn’t that crazy?”

“All man, that is crazy. What did you do?”

“We had to order out.”

“Wow, that’s quite the eventful evening compared to my T.V. dinner and the last episode of Lupin on Netflix.” I say with a shrug as I move past him to get to my cubicle.

I’m not to far away when I hear him say ‘man I love that guy.’, I have to put forth real effort to not roll my eyes at his obvious ignorance and inability to read the room.

It’s mid-day by the time I come up for air. The unusual quiet of the surrounding cubicles is what brakes my tunnel vision. Walking the floor I notice no one is at their desk. Walking toward the voices in the hallway I find them all in the large conference room. Even though the door is closed I see a weird green light coming from under the door then the sound of the voices reach my ears and I notice they are all saying the same thing, chanting now but I can’t make out what they’re saying. All the atoms in my body are screaming for me to leave, just walk out, so I do. I speed walk back to my desk, pack my book bag and walk out. I don’t notice I’ve been holding my breathe until I close the door to my car. This is also when I become painfully aware of why I couldn’t make out what they were saying, my ear buds where still deep within my ears. Pulling them out I take the time to put them in their case before turning the ignition and putting my car in gear. Just then four black vans pull up to the curve quick and out hops 13 gear clad persons from each van. This was enough for me to turn off the car in effort to not bring attention to myself.

What the fuck is going on. Through the quiet of the parking garage I hear a series of pops, like fireworks but faraway. It lasts about thirty seconds then silence. I don’t know what I’m waiting for, I don’t know why I’m still here. Surveying the area quickly I make to slit decision to start the car and go home.

“Hey, you’re home early. How was your day?”

“Ummm, it was a day. I think I witness something I wasn’t suppose to see.”

“Oooo like some tea on a co-worker or someone’s scandalous vacation photos?”

“Umm no. What do you think I do at work?” Her face goes blank for a second. “Never mind, I think I witness something bad. Like black vans, SWAT bad.”

“What? When? Why? Wait, at work? This happened at your job?”

“Yes. I was at work and then it was quiet. Everyone went to break room, they were chanting…”

“Tech people chanting?”

“Yes! So I left.”

“You left? You just walked out? Rico.” She has a disappointed look on her face, but I can’t deal with that right now.

“Yes, listen. I walked out and I was about to come home when the black vans showed up. Like fifty something people hopped out these vans cover in gear and ran into our building. Then there was a lot of popping sounds, after the sounds stopped I pilled out.”

She’s been typing on her computer this whole time and from the look on her face she has found what she was looking for.

“Rico, I think when you said you witnessed something bad, that was an understatement.” She turns the computer around and the headline reads ‘Tragedy has struck in the city.' I continue reading. ‘In what seems to be a mass murder suicide, the entire staff of Phoenix New Tech has been killed by a co-worker who is being described as a quiet loner.’

“Rico, I’m so sorry.” She says reaching for my hand. My heart is beating out of my chest when she makes contact with my skin. A cool sensation passes though me and I look at my sister, truly look at her for what feels like the first time in days. On the way around the kitchen island to fully embrace her I trip over something never the corner, looking down I’m stopped cold in my tracks.

“Sarah… Sarah.”Is all I manage to say before my voice cracks.

“Yes, Rico.” She sounds so far away now.

In a whisper I say, “I’m so sorry. I’m so sorry.”

“It’s over now. You’re free baby bro, you’re free.” She says into my ear.

Just then the local news caster’s voice grabs my attention. “This just in, we have the name of the suspect in today’s tragedy at Phoenix New Tech. Rico Sims was said to have had a history of mental health issues that lead to the taking of these innocent lives and ultimately his own.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Tanjanika Lewis

Hello all. There really not much to say here. I'm just a girl who has a lot of stories in her head and I would like to share them with you. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.