Fiction logo

The Dark Tunnel

Encounter with a Mysterious Creature in the Dark Tunnel

By Sinan ÖzlekliPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

The tunnel was long and dark, and it seemed to go on forever. I had been walking for hours, my only source of light a small flashlight that was slowly losing its battery life. My footsteps echoed through the tunnel, and the only sound was the rustle of my clothes and the occasional drip of water from somewhere deep inside the tunnel.

As I walked, I couldn't help but feel a sense of unease. The tunnel felt like it was closing in around me, and the darkness seemed to be swallowing me up. I tried to shake the feeling off and kept walking, hoping that I would find my way out soon.

Suddenly, I heard a strange noise coming from up ahead. It sounded like something was shuffling around in the darkness. I stopped in my tracks and listened, trying to figure out what it could be.

The noise grew louder and more insistent, and I could feel my heart racing in my chest. I knew that I wasn't alone in the tunnel, and the thought terrified me.

I shone my flashlight in the direction of the noise, and my heart nearly stopped. There, in the shadows, I could make out the shape of a creature. It was unlike anything I had ever seen before. It was covered in fur that looked like it had been caked with mud, and its eyes glowed in the darkness. It had long, sharp claws that it used to scrape against the stone walls of the tunnel.

I took a step back, my heart pounding in my chest. I had no idea what this creature was, or if it was dangerous. But as I backed away, the creature began to move towards me. Its movements were slow and deliberate, and I could see that it was sizing me up.

I knew that I had to get out of the tunnel as quickly as possible. I turned and ran in the opposite direction, my heart racing. The creature was right behind me, its claws scraping against the stone walls as it chased after me. I could feel its hot breath on the back of my neck, and I knew that it was getting closer.

I ran as fast as I could, trying to put as much distance between myself and the creature as possible. But no matter how fast I ran, it seemed to be gaining on me.

Just when I thought all was lost, I saw a faint light in the distance. I sprinted towards it, hoping that it was the end of the tunnel. As I got closer, the light grew brighter, and I could see that it was an opening to the outside world. I burst through the opening and stumbled out into the sunlight, gasping for breath.

As I caught my breath, I looked back at the tunnel. The creature had stopped at the entrance, and it was glaring at me with its glowing eyes. I knew that I had narrowly escaped with my life.

As I walked away from the tunnel, I couldn't help but wonder what that creature was and how it had come to live in the darkness. But one thing was for sure: I would never venture into that tunnel again.

Days passed, and I couldn't shake the feeling of unease that had settled over me since my encounter with the creature in the tunnel. I tried to ignore it and go about my life as usual, but the memory of that night kept coming back to me.

One evening, I decided to do some research on the area where the tunnel was located. I dug through old books and articles, trying to find any information that could shed some light on what I had seen in the tunnel.

And that's when I found it. An old legend, passed down through generations, spoke of a creature that lived in the tunnels beneath the city. According to the legend, the creature had once been human, but had been cursed by dark magic and transformed into a monster.

I couldn't help but feel a chill run down my spine as I read the words on the page. Could it be possible that the creature I had seen was the same creature from the legend?

I decided to do some more research, trying to find any clues that could lead me to the truth. And that's when I stumbled upon an old map of the tunnels beneath the city.

I studied the map carefully, tracing the tunnels with my finger. And then I saw it - a small, hidden passageway that led deeper into the earth. It was marked with a symbol that I recognized from the legend - the symbol of the curse.

Without thinking, I knew that I had to explore that passageway. I gathered my things and set out into the night, determined to uncover the secrets of the tunnel beneath the city.

As I made my way through the darkness, I could feel my heart racing in my chest. The air was thick with the scent of dampness and decay, and the only sound was the echo of my footsteps.

And then I saw it - the creature, lurking in the shadows. It was larger now, and more fearsome than ever. Its eyes locked onto mine, and I knew that it was coming for me.

I turned and ran, my heart pounding in my chest. The creature was right behind me, its claws scraping against the stone walls as it chased after me.

Just when I thought all was lost, I stumbled upon a small alcove. It was hidden from view, and I knew that the creature wouldn't be able to find me there.

I waited in the alcove for what felt like hours, my heart racing with fear. And then I heard a sound - the sound of something shuffling around in the darkness.

I looked up and saw the creature standing before me, its eyes fixed on mine. And then, in a flash of light, it was gone.

I stumbled out of the tunnel, gasping for breath. I knew that I had narrowly escaped with my life once again.

As I walked away from the tunnel, I couldn't help but wonder what other secrets lay hidden beneath the city.

Young AdultShort StoryScriptSci FiMysteryHorrorFantasyFableAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Sinan Özlekli

I’m a versatile writer with a passion for sharing my thoughts on health, fitness, travel, technology, and personal growth. Let me inspire you with my words!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.