Fiction logo

The Curse of the Wooden Box

A Legacy of Death and Horror

By Narrative EyePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Curse of the Wooden Box

The old wooden box sat in the corner of the room, its lid firmly closed. It had been passed down through generations of my family, a relic from a time long forgotten. No one knew where it had come from or what it contained, but everyone knew that it was cursed.

My great-grandfather had been the one to bring the box into our family, and since then, it had been the source of endless pain and suffering. People who came into contact with it would fall ill, accidents would happen, and eventually, they would meet an untimely end.

My father had always been the one to keep the box locked away, hidden from prying eyes. He warned me never to touch it, never to even look at it too long. But as I grew older, I became more and more curious about the box and its mysterious contents.

One night, when my father was out of town, I found myself unable to resist the pull of the box. I tiptoed to the corner of the room, my heart racing with excitement and fear. I reached out a trembling hand and touched the lid, feeling the cool, smooth surface beneath my fingertips.

Suddenly, a jolt of electricity shot through my body, and I fell to the ground, writhing in pain. I could hear a voice in my head, a voice that wasn't mine, whispering terrible things. It spoke of death and destruction, of a world without light or hope.

When the pain finally subsided, I lay on the ground, gasping for breath. I knew then that I had made a terrible mistake. I had released something dark and dangerous into the world, something that had been locked away for a reason.

Over the next few weeks, strange things began to happen. My friends started avoiding me, and I could hear whispers behind my back. Objects would move on their own, and I would wake up in the middle of the night, drenched in sweat.

I knew that the curse of the box had taken hold of me, and there was nothing I could do to stop it. I tried to ignore the strange occurrences, but they only grew worse. I would see shadows moving in the corner of my eye, and the voices in my head grew louder and more insistent.

One day, as I was walking through the park, I saw a man walking towards me. He was tall and thin, with dark eyes that seemed to bore into my soul. I tried to walk past him, but he stepped in front of me, blocking my path.

"You have something that doesn't belong to you," he said, his voice low and menacing. "You need to give it back before it's too late."

I tried to deny it, but he knew the truth. He had been sent to retrieve the box, to return it to its rightful place. I handed it over, relieved to be rid of its terrible presence.

But it was too late. The curse had already taken hold, and there was no going back. The man disappeared into the shadows, and I was left alone, with nothing but the darkness and the voices in my head.

Years later, as an old man lying on my deathbed, I would look back on my life and remember the curse of the box. It had taken everything from me, leaving me with nothing but regret and pain. And as I took my last breath, I knew that the curse would live on, haunting my family for generations to come.

ScriptYoung AdultShort StoryMysteryHorrorFan Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Narrative Eye

Passionate to write stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.