Fiction logo

The Curse of the Silverwood

It's curiosity that kills you

By Bellamy NguyenPublished 11 days ago 3 min read
1

The forest of Silverwood was whispered about in the village as if it were a living, breathing entity. Tales of those who ventured into its dense, mist-covered depths and never returned were common at the fireside. But to me, Olivia, these tales were a challenge, an invitation. Ever since I was a child, I'd felt an inexplicable pull towards its shadowy embrace, a calling that gnawed at the edges of my reason.

One crisp autumn morning, fueled by a mix of defiance and curiosity, I set out to uncover the truth behind the Silverwood's legend. My parents warned against it, fear evident in their eyes. But the lure of the unknown, the thrill of proving everyone wrong, was irresistible.

As I crossed the threshold of gnarled trees marking the forest's boundary, a cold silence enveloped me. The usual sounds of wildlife were conspicuously absent, replaced by a suffocating stillness that seemed to press against my ears. Despite this, I pressed on, guided by an internal compass that urged me deeper into the heart of Silverwood.

Hours passed as I navigated through thick underbrush and over ancient, twisted roots. The deeper I went, the more I felt a sense of foreboding, as if the forest itself was aware of my intrusion. Shadows moved in the corner of my vision, and several times I spun around, half-expecting to face some creature of the dark. But there was nothing—only the endless, oppressive watchfulness of the trees.

As the sun began to set, painting the sky in hues of orange and red, I stumbled upon a clearing. At its center stood an ancient oak, its massive trunk wider than a cottage and its branches sprawling like the arms of a giant. Tied around the tree was a shimmering ribbon of silver, and beneath it, a small, worn plaque that read, "Here lies the heart of Silverwood, bound by the Silver Thread. Let none who value their soul seek to undo what has been done."

The warning was clear, yet the silver ribbon beckoned me. It shimmered under the fading light, pulsating with a strange energy that resonated with the very air around the oak. Without knowing why, I reached out, my fingers brushing against the silky fabric. It was warm, as if infused with life.

The moment I touched the ribbon, the ground beneath me trembled. A low rumble filled the air, growing in intensity until it was a deafening roar. The trees around the clearing swayed violently, their leaves whispering in a frenzy. Fear gripped me then, a primal, consuming terror that urged me to flee. But it was too late.

From the base of the oak, a figure emerged. Not stepped, but grew, as if the tree itself was birthing it. A woman, her features sharp and her eyes a piercing silver, regarded me with an expression of mingled fury and relief.

"Why have you come here?" Her voice was the rustle of leaves, the crack of branches.

I stood, paralyzed by her otherworldly presence, and stammered, "I... I wanted to know the truth."

"The truth," she echoed, her smile sad and terrible. "The truth is that curiosity is both a gift and a curse. You sought the Silverwood, and so you have found her keeper. Bound to this place, I protect it from those who would seek its power. For centuries I have waited for release, and now you have offered it."

"Release?" I whispered, my heart sinking with the realization of what I had done.

"Yes," she said, stepping closer. Her touch was cold as she placed a hand over my heart. "To free the keeper, another must take their place. This is the curse of the Silverwood. This is the fate you have chosen."

As her words washed over me, I felt my body grow colder, my spirit tethered to the very soil of the clearing. I watched, helpless, as the woman—no longer the keeper—faded into the forest, her form dissolving into the mist.

Now I stand as guardian, bound by the Silver Thread, a cautionary tale for those who let their curiosity lead them astray. And as I wait for the next unwitting soul to stumble upon the heart of Silverwood, I ponder the true cost of seeking knowledge and the depths of sacrifice it demands.

HorrorthrillerShort StorySci FiMysteryFantasy
1

About the Creator

Bellamy Nguyen

Hello, I'm a storyteller on Vocal.media . Through my tales, I aim to transport readers beyond the mundane into worlds where the improbable becomes possible and magic intertwines with reality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mohammad Zaffar Qureshi11 days ago

    Nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.