Fiction logo

The Christmas Party

Or, A Story About How Noelle Settled the Score

By Jasmine K. HathawayPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
3

My date and I strolled into the Hilton at University Place, arm in arm, looking quite spectacular. Although the festive hotel lobby was buzzing with activity, with visitors and workers all going about their business, I couldn’t help but notice the admiring glances from passersby.

I caught a glimpse of us in the reflection of the mirrored wall, and it made total sense. My date, tall and handsome, in a tailored navy suit and tie, was a perfect complement to me, in a red, shimmery cocktail dress, matching stilettos, and evening bag. Loving what I saw in our reflection, I smiled broadly as we entered the ballroom where the company Christmas party was being held, imagining ourselves as royalty in motion.

Upbeat Christmas music blared from the speakers, but the dance floor was empty, with no one responding to the DJ’s pleas to get up and dance. Instead, people remained seated at round tables, engrossed in their conversations and enjoying various drinks from the open bar.

Scanning the room for familiar faces in the dimly lit room, I finally found Cassie, my co-worker in claims.

My date and I made our way over to the table where Cassie and her wife were seated, greeted each other and made introductions.

“I’ve heard so much about you,” Cassie’s wife said to me.

“Oh, is that right?” I responded, looking at Cassie quizzically. We worked together, but we weren’t exactly “work buddies” and I could only wonder what might have been said about me behind my back. Then again, in light of what all happened at work, I suppose anything could have been said.

Cassie immediately looked flustered, like a kid caught with her hand in the cookie jar. “Oh, you know, how well you handle stuff at work, good stuff,” Cassie stammered as her face reddened.

At about that time, my date excused himself to go to the restroom, and I thought the timing was perfect.

“Oh OK,” I answered matter-of-factly to Cassie, forcing a smile. “Well, I’m going to the bar, what are you drinking?”

“Rum and Coke,” Cassie said, with her wife declining anything for herself.

I went to the open bar and ordered a margarita for myself and a Rum and Coke for Cassie. Throwing a bill into the tip jar for the bartender, I made my way back to the table with our drinks.

I slowly sipped my margarita while I watched Cassie gulp hers down. I couldn’t help but smile.

My date returned, and we decided to lead by example and get on the dance floor as soon as “Christmas in Hollis” by Run-DMC started playing. Others followed, and soon, the dance floor was packed. After a while, I decided to take a break, getting a bottle of water from the bar and stepping out of the ballroom into the lobby.

Sipping on water and admiring the artwork in the hotel lobby, I didn’t notice the man’s voice behind me at first.

“Hey lady,” the man said again. “You got some moves on you.”

I turned around and saw a pleasant-looking, middle-aged man, with salt-and-pepper hair, looking up at me. “I saw you on the dance floor,” he continued, smiling broadly.

“Thank you,” I responded dryly. I was about to turn around but he kept talking.

“I’m Grayson,” the little man replied. “You know Karen, she’s a manager? I’m her husband.”

I immediately straightened up. Karen was my immediate supervisor and I couldn’t stand her.

“Hi, Grayson,” I said, forcing a fake smile. “I’m Noelle.”

“Oh you’re Noelle,” Grayson said, taken aback. “Well, I have heard about you. But….I didn’t know you were this beautiful.”

“Thank you,” I said, not sure where this was going. “I don’t know what you heard, but apparently I’m a conversation piece for some reason.”

“Well, you’ve made a huge impression on me,” Grayson said. “You wanna go for a walk and let’s talk some more?”

“I have a date in there,” I said. “Besides, won’t Karen notice you’re missing?”

“Oh, she’ll be fine,” Grayson said. “I just wanna talk to you and then we can get back to the party.”

Grayson seemed nice but a little nerdy. And quick as a flash, an idea crossed my mind that he would be a perfect way for me to get back at Karen.

After all, she had fired me a couple of months ago based on a false accusation against me, and I filed a complaint for wrongful termination. A month later, I was hired back, this time through a temp agency, and Karen’s boss upheld the hiring. However, Karen was still my supervisor and the only way we could get along was to avoid each other as much as possible.

I looked down at the smiling man standing in front of me, and said, “OK, let’s go for a walk.”

And so we walked down the hall and into the hotel lounge, grabbing a secluded booth in the back. It was there that I seduced him, and we had a quickie on the floor under the table. It was really quick, like under a minute. I guess he was really excited. But given the circumstances, it was the one time of my life I didn’t mind it being over in a hurry.

Sitting on the booth, straightening my hair and my clothes at the same time, I looked down at Grayson and said, “Nice meeting you,” getting up and leaving the lounge, with Grayson still on the floor under the table.

On my way out of the lounge, I passed Karen, who was on her way in. She stormed past me, her face enraged. Seconds later I heard a shriek.

“Grayson!” I heard Karen scream. I kept strolling. My part was done.

I returned to the ballroom, just in time to find Cassie in the middle of the dance floor, grabbing her booty like she was trying to avoid having an accident. Too late. Seconds later, explosive diarrhea ruined her winter white pantsuit and made her the star of the party for all the wrong reasons.

The laxative I slipped into her Rum and Coke worked like a charm. Just like the lie she told about me to Karen worked like a charm to get me fired.

“Now that’s nasty, Cassie,” I said, rolling my eyes. Grabbing my date’s arm, I said, “I think I’ve seen enough tonight. Ready to go?”

And so we strolled out of the ballroom and into the night.

It was a good night for a Christmas party.

Holiday
3

About the Creator

Jasmine K. Hathaway

Hello, and thanks for stopping by! I'm a short-story writer based in North Carolina. In addition to my work on Vocal, I have also published a series of short-story e-books on Amazon, featuring the main character, Tiffanie.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • D. D. Leeabout a month ago

    I didn’t that turn of events coming at all. Lol. Really good!

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Good story!

  • Well Noelle is quite the vengeful one. You definitely caught my attention with this one. Good work. I look forward to reading more of your work. I have subscribed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.