Fiction logo

The Chocolate Treasure

A hero heists valuables from a scammer

By Eloise Robertson Published 11 months ago 1 min read
1

The fluorescent light gleams across its surface, catching her eye immediately. She lifts her chin, feigning disinterest. At my sunglasses rack, she tries on the plastic frames, peers into the mirror, raises a brow. The girl wears innocence frivolously.

Underneath the shaded lenses, she watches her target. The donation box is heavy with coins, my handwritten note peeling off.

$2 to guess the number of chocolate eggs in the jar!

Those big eyes of hers swelled last night, when I unlocked the box with the key which hung beind me, and emptied the money into my register.

“Aren't those donations for charity?” she'd asked.

“S‘cuse me! ‘Undred of ’em.” A boy pushes a coin into the box, chewing gum open-mouthed.

“Name, contact?”

“Ah shoot… I put me home coin in. Wrong currency sir. Can I get it back?”

As I turn to grab the key, realisation strikes. I spin on my heels, surprised to find my treasure remains. His hand darts in and out, and off he goes… without reentering the competition. My heart would sink if I wasn't so angry. Outside, she pays the boy with a large chocolate egg from my glass jar held in her dainty hands.

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Eloise Robertson

I pull my ideas randomly out of thin air and they materialise on a page. Some may call me a magician.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Sweet, sweet chocolate heist. Loved it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.