Fiction logo

The Changeling

Barnyard Nymph

By Melissa EavesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
1
The Changeling
Photo by Rich Martello on Unsplash

I never believed in fairies, I thought there was some scientific explanation for the various and longstanding rumors of their existence. But, I was always intrigued.

Then it happened one day, as I rounded the corner, empheral buzz, transluscent wings, a bit of a shimmer and there she was.

She was tiny and shapely and perfectly formed, with gossamer wings...

“Oh my god”, said it’s little sultry honey dripping voice, are you aware of what you have just witnessed? “Oh my, whatever shall I do? I would rather not have to kill you.” She said, alighting on my shoulder with complete unaffection by my strength, size, or presence.

By JJ Jordan on Unsplash
By Florian van Duyn on Unsplash

She was flowing in empheral colors,a little slightly murderous orb of ethereal glow.

" Towers will crumble…and the seas will roll, from deep unto deep,

The mountains shall tremble and the day shall bleed into night

The holy places shall rise up, and break into pieces

The bones of the wicked, Yay, shall tear them wholly asunder,

Do you want to be in that number? "

As she spoke the last question, her voice had softened and deepened in full throat and soul, it was the whisper of death. Her voice echoed in soft resonance and reverberated in sounds of thunder and power, muted by the promise of rain and beauty, over and over in my mind.

I mulled.

I was amused, awed, and humbled.

She continued.

"From the dawn of time and all creation, I have lived in relative secrecy. Unknown and unknowable, in peace with myself and all things." The creature collapsed, "whatever shall I do?"

I looked around at my surroundings, I had came to the barn this morning to gather some solitude. The sun filtered in through the cracks in golden beams that were heavy with shimmering particles of dust. She was just as substantial, but in small. A literal reality.

She lie there on my shoulder, sobbing. Then she stood up, "how dare you", the tiny voice resounded in my temples.

How dare I? How dare I?

Its my barn. Now I am here in this, I don't know if I am having a physcotic break from reality or what?

She shifted shapes and colors, tears streaming down her wretched miserable little face, as she morphed into a thousand different shapes and colors before me. " I just wanted someplace to be myself, someplace where I could remain in my most pure form." The voice raised into a high pitched shriek and wailing, "I thought I had found that place here, she looked around the sun dappled barn, tears still streaming.

By Leo Fosdal on Unsplash

I thought for awhile, she had flown up and sat perched, considering me from the rafters. The light ebbed and flowed around her in variant shades, as she calmed her shapes had stopped shifting and she settled into the first one I had seen her in. I suppose this was what she called her most pure form.

We pondered each other, the etheral mythological being and myself.

What was she doing here, in my barn?

She answered me, in tones of empathy and knowing before I even had oppurtunity to voice the question.

" I am here because you or people like you have destroyed my past, leaving me with nothing but tears and lonliness, I am here because you and people like you don't now how to live, without me. You wreck yourselves, you destroy your past, and you hold nothing sacred. By so doing you have commanded the attention of all realms. And I am here, for a reason more personal to me, although it also encompasses, the all. I would be myself. In your world people take and take with no regard for others or other lives, or from whence tommorow shall come. Here in this building, I found myself."

" I believed from this point that I could in secrecy, and hiding; heal, and teach in the quiet part of your minds how to love nations, lands, tribes, and tongues, how to care for and heal our land."

She collapsed sobbing. Again.

"I believed that if I could open your minds to love with the wonders of earth, I could save us." She continued.

I am she

that was

and is

and is to come,

I am the first and the last,

I am she.

"All life and balance and power and God,

All that is in other words, is jeapordized by continued waste, greed, and intolerance for other beings, other life.

I am sent to be an ambassodor for change, but, I wasn't to be seen!"

The being actually wails, and her shapes begin shifting again.

"I am only me," she wails, " I am only a part of the whole."

She lay shimmering, in an actual puddle of her tears.

By Alice Alinari on Unsplash

So from hence, came to be an alliance.

I asked her of her kingdoms and opened my mind to peace, and alterior,(or would it be alternative) existences. I made phone calls and connections, I sought counsel, judgement, and evidence. We brought things together, and began working towards change.

My mind was opened that day and I, for one, will never be the same. I found that the word, we, became a natural part of my vocabulary; that animals and nature has its own breadth and pace; and that I could never imagine a life without having met the strange, incandescent and etheral waif of a being who entered my life that day.

My perceptions of life and realty were forever altered, my foundations were shaken, and I realized that life would have to be drastically reformatted and revamped to maintain not only the diversity of all beings, but life itself.

And so began, the road to change and survival. One day, an average day, on an ordinary stroll through my property, my perceptions were forever altered by a magical little being who insisted on referring to herself as God.

"I am One," she told me,crown of righteousness casting shadows of doubt from my heart.

Today, I walked to the barn where I met her and sat awhile warmed by the sun rays. We would live now. Fantasy and reality had melded into a path towards change. I thought of her Fathers last words to me, before we parted after forming coalitions. "Change is Imminent", he said, in that thundering voice. His was the smile of triumph, his last, of victory in the imminence and reign, the salvation of life.

She showed up, I knew she would. She was staying with me. She flounced on my shoulder, "are you ready?"

I am.

Shall we?

By Pop & Zebra on Unsplash

The End.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Melissa Eaves

I am an freelance writer. I love the written word and the poetry of my soul is expressed by mastery of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.