Fiction logo

The Calling

You Can't Ignore Your Destiny

By Glenda BeechamPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Calling
Photo by Efe Kurnaz on Unsplash

Monday

I came home this evening and discovered a package on my doorstep. It’s slightly bigger than a deck of cards but a perfect cube. I’m not expecting anything and, there is no name, address, or shipping label on the box.

I’m not sure what to do with it. Not many people know my new address - has someone been stalking me?

More likely, it was delivered to the wrong house. I don’t know how I’ll get it back to the owner.

I’m too tired to deal with it tonight – I had to stay late at work, and then Libby ran out the door when I got home, and I had to search for her.

For now, I just nudged the package under my shoe rack with my foot, so it’s out of sight. It was surprisingly heavy.

Tuesday

Today sucked. To begin with, I barely got any sleep last night. I kept having these weird dreams – I can’t remember exactly what happened, but I know I was in a strange place. Really strange. I just can’t remember why it was so strange…

I still haven’t dealt with the package on my patio. Earlier I was thinking I might open it up and see what’s inside. But I know I shouldn’t. It’s not mine, and it’s wrapped so nicely in brown paper, with crisp edges and corners. I would hate to ruin that for the intended owner.

I know it sounds crazy, but I thought I heard a noise coming from the package. Hah, I must be even more tired than I thought. Do your ears ring when you get too tired?

Wednesday

More strange dreams last night. I dreamt there was a light calling to me. It's hard to describe, but in my dream, I swear I saw a colour that I’ve never seen before. Like a whole new colour. Dreams can be so weird.

Libby has been acting out again - she was pacing and hissing all night long. She’s been acting strange all week. Maybe I need to pay more attention to her.

I don't think I was hearing things yesterday. There is definitely a humming coming from the package. Maybe I'm paranoid but, what if it’s some kind of surveillance device? I mean, that would be crazy because I’m so boring. Why would anyone need to watch or hear me? I’m just so confused as to what the noise could be.

There goes Libby again. I’m going to give her some attention, so she leaves me alone tonight. I’m still way too tired to deal with the package. It’ll just have to wait another day.

Thursday

Last night I was thinking that maybe I should turn the package over to the police today. What if it is someone stalking me or spying on me?

But then I had another thought. What if someone planted it here to frame me? I still don’t know what’s inside. It could be a piece of evidence from a crime - a note or a bloodstained weapon or something.

I’ve been up thinking about this all night. What do I do? I’m not going to work today. I have to figure this out.

That humming is driving me crazy.

Friday

More dreams last night. In my dream, the humming was still there but, it was calling my name. There were strange colours everywhere. I know it wanted me to do something, but I don’t know what. If I could just...

Libby ran away last night. As soon as I opened the front door, she fled. I can't find her anywhere, and I can't concentrate.

The humming is getting louder.

Saturday

It wasn’t a dream. It’s calling my name.

Sunday

I know what to do now. It told me everything in a dream last night. It told me how I’m the chosen one and that I have work to do.

I can’t believe I didn’t see it before. It’s all so clear. Things are about to change. I have to spread its message.

All I have to do is open the box.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Glenda Beecham

Author from the West Coast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.