Fiction logo

The Calling

((microfiction magic))

By Morgana MillerPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
13
The Calling
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

I sometimes heard a calling. Like skirts rustling on the floor above me—and I knew if I could plunge my fingers through the ceiling, I might touch the hem of the reason I am here.

My sister, too, was aware of a path to be trod somewhere above where we slept. Because when a shuffle of feet passed through the attic, our necks both reached for it.

And once she said, apropos of nothing, “I understood, for a moment… but I lost the thread.”

And I knew exactly what she meant.

Mystery
13

About the Creator

Morgana Miller

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina B.11 months ago

    This is so good. Will keep reading it over again.

  • Dean F. Hardy11 months ago

    Hmm, this is really good. Again, layers. I've two potential possibilities floating in my mind and they're probably no where close to your intentions with the piece. I really like this. For some reason you're writing always brings me to think about other authors that I feel you would appreciate. Have you ever read The Virgin Suicides ? This story is like a bird's eye view of the Lisbon Sisters from within. Again, very cool. More more.

  • Caroline Jane11 months ago

    "I lost the thread" Goodness me that line is perfect. Mysterious... magical... marvellous. Nailed it.. or should I say... you have this sewn up! 😉

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    What a mysterious and thought provoking piece! So well constructed and written! Nicely done Morgana!

  • Oh, Morgana! Such mystical imagery, bridging the gap & transporting us between the outer world & that of our inner sense of calling, purpose, identity, holding us there, suspended within both. This is magnificent!

  • JBaz12 months ago

    Your use of words creates such a beautiful imagery. I always enjoy your work.

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    THIS. This is such an exquisite weave of mystery and hidden danger in so few words. I won't be surprised if this places in the challenge 😄

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.