Fiction logo

The Bunny

fiction

By sissytishaPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
Like

I don't remember when, probably after our family had just moved from the north end of an old stone paved street to the south end, I had three rabbits.

I have loved rabbits since I was a child. When I was in my hometown, many families in the same village kept a nest of rabbits. A well-like round hole was dug in the ground, not deep, and at the bottom of the hole there was a small hole leading to the side, where the rabbits lived. I don't know why, but we don't remember having such a hole in our house. Whenever I went to other rabbits' houses with the adults, and they were talking happily, I always walked lightly to the entrance of the hole and peeked in - the rabbits were wandering outside the hole. There are black and white flowers and pure black ones. I liked the pure white one the most because of the beautiful red eyes and the long, shiny ears wagging from side to side. The mouth also seems to be trembling as if it is chewing on a vegetable root or something. When I saw the figures, they all quickly ran into the small hole, like a sliver of white and black smoke. If you crouch down to look again, in the thin darkness of the hole, you will only see a pair of glittering jewel-like eyes.

One spring before I left my childhood, I remember it was just after the New Year, and by a coincidence, I left my hometown and went to a city famous for its lakes and mountains. From the gaps of the tall buildings, I could see only a line of blue sky. Where was the sky covered like a pot in my hometown? I couldn't see the trees covered with a light mist from afar, I couldn't see the water-like clouds floating on the edge of the sky, and I couldn't smell the earth. It was as if I was living in the land of ash. All day long, all I could hear was the noise of carts and horses. In the middle of the night, there was the sound of hawkers drifting from the distant alleys. I am a son of the earth, and I long to return to the arms of the earth again. At that time, even a small heart can feel the sadness of indifference. But what I could not forget, what occupied my whole heart, was the rabbit in my hometown that had jewel-like eyes.

I don't remember how many years later it was, but in the autumn, when my uncle came home from Mt. On the top was a famous fat peach wrapped in a bushel, and underneath was a wooden cage. I was wondering what the cage would contain, when the servant already held it up to my eyes - the trembling mouth, the long shiny ears, the red jewel-like eyes. ...... Isn't this the rabbit I dreamed of? I remember when he was going to Wangkou Mountain, I told him to bring back some rabbits. At that time, it was just a casual remark, but now I actually brought it. It was as if I had been drawn back to my hometown. What was my ecstasy? There were three in the cage: one big one, black like its mother, and two small ones, white. I immediately gave up the delicious fat peach and ran east and west, busy looking for cabbage and bean sprouts to feed them. I found a place for them to live, and finally settled under my bed.

When I was a child in my hometown, I used to crouch over other people's holes and admire their rabbits, but now I have three of them under my bed. This is more than a fairy tale. At first, when the rabbits were released from their cages, they were immediately crowded by cats. The rabbit seemed to be timid and crouched on the ground, not daring to move. Ears close to the head, only the mouth trembled more. The cat was chased away, and only then did he slowly try to run. When I turned my eyes, I ran under the bed again. The first night after I had the rabbit, I lay in bed, tossing and turning, unable to sleep, listening to the sound of the rabbit chewing the bean sprouts under the bed. It was as if I was floating in a cloud, and I had forgotten what kind of dreams I had.

In this way, three little lives were added under my bed out of nowhere. Whenever I sat at a table by the window and read, the rabbits peeked out from under the bed without a sound. I watched them with bated breath from the top of the page. First, the big one peeked out, then retreated, then peeked back in, and came out, in a trail of black smoke. Followed by two small ones, both white as a mass of snow, red eyes, like a - I simply can not say what like. Like onyx? Ning than onyx is also shiny. With this small red eyes looking around, and walked to the grass from the flower pots hanging out of the ground under the grass leaves, mouth trembling like a few times, a pause, and walked to the book. The mouth trembled a few times, paused, and went under a small bench. The mouth trembled a few times and stopped. Suddenly, I felt something soft and fuzzy against my feet. I knew it was the bunny crouching under my feet. I held back from moving, somehow, the leg suddenly jerked. When I looked again, a sliver of black smoke, two slivers of white smoke, the rabbits are hiding under the bed. When I got down to look, I could see only a pair of eyes like transparent jewels in the dark corner of the bed.

It's autumn, as I said earlier. There was a begonia tree outside the window of the house where I lived. I used to hear people say that rabbits are the weakest. Cats are a big threat to them. Before the rabbits came to live under my bed, there were often traces of cats in the house. When the door was closed, the begonia tree became the way for the cats to come to my house. Since I had the rabbit, I often woke up indifferently in the long cold autumn nights. Outside the window, the wind blew the leaves and rattled them, and I suspected that the cat had climbed up from the begonia tree. The continuous night rain hit the leaves and rattled them, and I again suspected that the cat had climbed up the window. I waited quietly, but no cat came in. When I looked down, the rabbit was running back and forth on the ground. In the dim light, it looked more like a sliver of black and white smoke, and its eyes were more red and bright like jewels. When I was about to go to sleep, I heard a "mike" sound and looked at the window where a hole had been broken, and there were two lamp-like eyes looking in.

When I got up the next morning, the first thing I had to do was to amble down to see if the rabbits had been lost. When I saw the two little rabbits sleeping like two white flocks next to the big one, it seemed to be a comfort to my heart. After a while, when I came back to the house to read, I could see them running back and forth under my feet again. In fact, there is no sound, the house always seems to be full of life and cheerful. The air around the house became soft and sweet. The rabbits gradually became less timid and did not avoid me when they saw me. The first time a bunny let me pet it tamely, I was so happy that I wept.

If my memory serves me well, about half of the autumn was spent in such a poetic way. I can still vaguely remember: when the rabbits were in the cage, the yard was full of flowers. When I close my eyes, I can still see the faint layer of green that was floating around the yard at that time. The rabbits used to run out of the house to play in the flower pot slits, and the goldfish bowl still seemed to have two white flowers protruding from the surface of the water from the Ziwu lilies. Only a vague shadow, I'm afraid this memory can not be relied on. With this green air, this goldfish bowl, I can see the window near the begonia tree painted with red oil and green oil, embedded with a not small glass, there are traces of rain and soil on it. The window paper still has a few spider silk stuck to it. Inside the window is my desk, and further in, the bed, under which the rabbit lives ...... all this seems to be floating before my eyes. But like smoke, like fog, the eyes are about to be disillusioned into the haze.

Didn't I say there was about half an autumn, - until the yard gradually reduced the flowers and plants, and immediately seemed very empty. The leaves were falling, the goldfish bowl was empty, the sky was bluer and longer, and the tantalizing autumn had turned into a gloomy winter. On such a blue-sky morning, I bent down to see if the rabbit was lost. --Strangely, there was nothing under the bed, as if something was missing. When I looked more closely, I saw two little rabbits sleeping desolately nestled against each other. Where had their mother gone? I immediately panicked and sweat ran all over my body. For a few days, the big rabbit had become more daring, often sneaking out to the patio by himself. This time, I was afraid that she had sneaked out on her own again. But everywhere, inside and outside the house, I found no shadow, and when I turned around and saw the two bunnies nestled at my feet, an inexplicable desolation struck my heart. I cried, I left my mother very early, I often think of her. I felt desolate and lonely. It seems that these two little bunnies feel the same desolation and loneliness as I do. I had no place to talk to, except in my dreams, and where and how would the bunnies talk? --I cried again.

At first, I had hope that the big rabbit would come back on its own and give me a big cheer out of the blue. But as each day went by, my hope was finally dashed. I love these two bunnies even more. I used to love them for their bright red eyes and soft snowy fur. But this time, my love was mixed with pity. Sometimes I wanted to make up for the loss of their mother with my affection, but how could that be possible? As I watched them fade, they didn't run around the house as quickly as they used to, and often snuggled up to my feet. I took them in my arms, and they crouched tamely. When I saw them walking away, my little heart was really filled with nameless sorrow!

This situation did not last long. Two or three days later, I suddenly found that there was only one rabbit running around the house, where had the companion gone? Finally, no shadow. When I saw this little creature pacing alone, and listened to the sound of the autumn wind on the eaves, tears flowed down my face again. --Was it looking for its mother? Is it looking for its brother? Why does it not even sigh? The jewel-like eyes also seemed to contain crystal tears. At night, in the faint light, I did not see it sleeping under the bed; it just kept running around the house. This cold hard land, this long autumn night, no mother, no brother nestled. How could it sleep when cold dreams of desolation haunted it?

The next morning, the sky was bluer, a bit oddly blue. The hut was brightly lit, and when the rabbit ran in front of my eyes, there seemed to be a little bit of red on the white fluffy fur, a flash, and when I looked again, I found a little bit of blood next to the transparent red ears - just a little bit, against the snow-white fur, more red, like the spots on the chicken blood stone, like a little bit of evening sun in the western sky. I was really anxious. I heard people say that rabbits will die as soon as they see blood, no matter how many drops. Is this one little, lonely creature left without a mother or a brother going to die too? I didn't believe it, it was even more remote than a myth, yet there was that little red bloodstain right in front of me, how could I deny it? I picked it up, and as if I knew what misfortune was coming to it, it just lied in my arms, did not move, put it down, and did not run very much. At the end of the day, in the dim light of dusk, when I looked under the bed again, I could see nothing but some cabbage and bean sprouts. I searched everywhere, but I couldn't find anything. I knew something was going to happen. And I thought, "That's good, too. Otherwise, if I live alone in the world, without any warmth, under the attack of desolation and loneliness, how will this long life be wasted? I didn't cry, but my tears flowed into my stomach, and sorrow weighed heavily on my heart, and I thought of my mother in my hometown.

And so, for half an autumn, all three rabbits that had been running out and in under my bed had disappeared. When I sat at the table by the window to read again, I could not see anything from the top of the pages. Looking out of the glass window with traces of wind and rain: the begonia trees had long since lost their leaves, leaving only the bald branches to hold up the long autumn sky to my eyes. At night, when I heard the rustling outside, I suspected that it was the cat again. I woke up from the blur, although sometimes I also see two round eyes like lights in the window hole. But when I looked under the bed, there was no rabbit pacing back and forth. When the eyes are blurry, you will see messy shadows all over the floor, a sliver of black smoke, two slivers of white smoke. Look more closely, and what is there? Nothing, only the dim lights shining through the cold autumn night, outside and snapping, it is rain, cold, lonely, mixed with a little bit of slight indifference of sadness, pressed my heart. Everything is empty, what kind of dream can I have?

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.