Fiction logo

The Broken Bird

Some things cannot be fixed

By Bethany GPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Microfiction Magic Challenge
7
The Broken Bird
Photo by Taneli Lahtinen on Unsplash

The way you swoop and sing is mesmerizing. I spend hours in the shade of the tree where you have your nest with seed in my outstretched hand, enticing you out of the sky to be with me. My heart hammers when you finally land. My hand closes. You’re so soft. Your claws and beak, made for branches and seeds, inflict no pain. Your bones, so light to escape things that might break you, pop with ease when I squeeze. It’s over too quickly. I don’t know what’s next. Squirrels are harder to catch, but dogs are harder to break.

FableShort StoryMicrofictionHorrorfictionpsychologicalfiction
7

About the Creator

Bethany G

I was looking for a new hobby

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Matthew Fromm12 months ago

    Got a shudder reading this!

  • Stephanie Downard12 months ago

    Loved this! Twisted and evil! ❤️ Congrats on placing!🎉 Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.