Fiction logo

The Breakup

And what I Escaped

By Kristen KnutsonPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
3

The breakup was painful, but inevitable given Chris’s increasingly volatile moods. Weeks later, his best friend stopped by my office, one block from the condo I once shared with Chris. “He’s gone silent, I’m worried,” Matt said.

"Me too, it's been several days," I whispered sadly. Taking my old key, Matt left to check on him.

Moments later, sirens screamed past my office, then stopped short. "Matt," flashed my cell's caller ID, then again and again as I wept silently, postponing hearing what I already knew.

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Susan Long Kimball12 months ago

    Heart-rending!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.