Fiction logo

The Brave

and unmarked

By Tionne JacksonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

“They say the greater you stand, the harder you fall!”

“America the great! She's falling! She's falling!”

These were the words from my favorite You-tuber, Kin H. Most people, of course, labeled Kin as a complete nutcase. His content was nothing more than conspiratorial and silly traps of sensationalism for them. As fear and confusion began to sweep the streets of the city, even my closest friends still deemed him baseless. I knew Kin's content was too much for the average Joe. Some human bandwidths are incapable of accepting both fact and fiction. As I sit in this abandoned RV, waiting for the horses and chariots to come, I have in my hand my mothers heart-shaped locket. Looking at the picture of her and my father made me even more ready to stop running. I don't know much about her other than her name was Lia and her favorite color was white. When first receiving the locket from my father, I knew it was more than just a necklace. That it was more than just a symbolization of love and strength.

The moment becoming a little unbearable as the words of Kin repeatedly playing over and over in my head, I found myself burst out into tears.

“I've came a long way.” saying this out loud to myself.

Everything and everyone that I knew were gone. The world that I once knew, was gone.

#

The 21st century economic and social crisis took our country completely into the new dark ages. It all began with the M-Virus that sparked a global desolation. I lost my father due to the virus. My father was already sick and although I was a few years younger than I am today, I knew that it was something behind the M-Virus that the CDC and WHO was keeping from the public. It wasn't until the M-Vaccine that made me realize “herd behavior” was typical and redundant. I was better off on my own. With my father gone, I had to make wiser decisions if I wanted to stay alive. Being only 19 at the time, I was afraid of what was happening but I didn't use my father's death as an excuse to fail victim to the turmoil. The population was easily stimulated, incentivized, directed and mislead.

Making a vow, I kept myself apart from the rest of society. Unemployment rates increased, widespread business shutdowns. America's financial and economic distress began to shake the country to the core. Despite the distribution of the vaccine, new variants of the virus were still surfacing. The M-Vaccine was not effective enough to combat the new strains. The outbreak, of course, aggravated to a much worse level. Death, fear, despair, and confusion became the nations four patriots.

When the EMP took the globe off the power-grid, the schizophrenic societal culture and economy then too, collapsed. It was as if the primary aspect that have kept us calmer and more friendlier towards each other was the comfort provided by modern society. We were all foolish to think our society was immune from a generalized melt down, fools indeed. It was only matter of time before our countries institutions would become unsustainable and inevitably disintegrate. All of the mainstream news media platforms such as CNN, NBC, ABC, FOX etc. took place in desensitizing the minds. They all told us not to run, but I know now that was our Que to fight or flight. As if the nation wasn't in enough turbulence, what came next was nothing I could prepare for.

#

I remember this day all too well unfortunately. At the time I didn't know what was happening. All cellular devices started going off and then boom! Zombies everywhere! Rage wasn't the word but something rather inhumane and sinister took over the bodies and minds of the people. It wasn't the typical apocalyptic zombification I had imagined. They wasn't eating each other, but rather performing uncanny acts of barbarity and savagery on themselves and others. As I ran for shelter, this woman grabbed me from behind and tackled me down. As I was kicking her , I noticed she was crying tears of blood. I remember screaming for my dad when a man ran up and knocked the woman in the head with a baton. It was as if my parents were still protecting me. Luckily I wasn't too far from home that day.

Having to desert the only place I felt safe was another stab to the chest but the city became no longer safe to live in. Even though I had to relocate, I carried the place I called home in my heart along with everything and everyone else I lost. That particular day haunts me every minute of the day. One thing in particular that stood out, I mean besides the army of darkness, were the cell phone signals. Because of the EMP I thought all signals and transmitters were permanently interrupted, especially in gridlocked areas. Looking back on that day, it didn't make sense but now it does.

#

After the U.S government burned and cleared all of the infected bodies throughout the cities, there was a “reshape of the globe” so the powerful officials of the world called it. The emerge to restore civilization was given under the solution of a “cashless society”. The political dialogue was now Neuron-link. FDA approved and the country was now ready to go completely digital. The Neuron-link gave humans the ability to access the entire internet at will. A spec of a intracranial device installed into the skull by a neurosurgeon. It was the only way to buy and sell all goods. The only way into normalcy. They called it cryptocurrency but I called it kryptonite.

No doubt the Neuron-link was an evolution that no piece of equipment was too expensive to meet. Starting off, the chip was a choice but after a couple weeks, it became mandated. Military and all armed officials started hunting and killing all of those who weren't micro-chipped.

“I'd rather stay off grid than let them implant me." I remember saying to myself.

Sitting here today in this RV, waiting for the horses and chariots, I am not afraid but more than proud of the person I am.

“BOOOMMM!!!!”

The door of the RV bust open, walking in a military personnel. He was armed and ready to execute.

“DON'T MOVE! PUT YOUR HANDS ON YOUR HEAD AND STAY DOWN ON YOUR KNEES!!!” he yelled.

#

Holding my mothers heart-shaped locket, I know my decision. In the end, we all have a decision to make. You either succumb or stand in your truth. My truth being that the world I once knew was gone. Only through man-kinds darkest deeds will fuel the rising of the new world. While looking down smiling at my mothers locket, I finally knew why it presented itself to me.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.