Fiction logo

The Box of Life.

Life Is Short If We Let It Pass Us By.

By Carol TownendPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like
The Box of Life.
Photo by Christopher Bill on Unsplash

I am alone. I am only 35 but I am alone.

I have neighbors who live nearby but I don't talk to them, and I have no family as they are all dead. I visit no one, and I never get visitors. I have always kept myself to myself; dithering away in this old house, busying myself with cooking, cleaning, sewing, and television. I never get bored, and I never get into trouble. Time goes by fast, so I make the most of every single day, and I can't do that if I have visitors, can I?

It's Saturday morning and as usual, I am pottering in my kitchen baking chocolate chip cookies. I love the smell of baking, there is something comforting about the sweet smell of cookies baking in the oven; even better if they are homemade. I just put the last tray of unbaked cookies in the oven, when there is a knock on the door.

Weird! I don't get visitors.

It turns out to be the postman wreaking havoc on my day, delivering me nothing but bills! I shake my head disgusted, then throw them on the table where they can be ignored until I decide to read them. I then get back to my cookies.

I have only been in the kitchen for two minutes before I get another knock on the door. I am not expecting any visitors, so this is a bit of a surprise. It is even more of a surprise when I answer the door to find a card box sitting on my doorstep, and a funny flying circular object flying away. I think nothing of it. I pick up the box and take it inside so that I can examine it. There is no name, no time stamp, date, or company attached to it. It feels light as if nothing is inside it. I think it might just be an empty box, so I toss it to one side.

I put the last of the cookies in the oven, and I sit at the table with an intention of drinking a hot cup of tea and reading the newspaper. I am not sat long before I am disturbed by a noise that sounds like the whirring of a time machine outside my door. I open the door, and to my horror, there is a floating space saucer-shaped object floating above my door; it has a mixture of red and green lights. I don't say anything; I just stand there and watch it for a while, unable to identify what it is. I jump out of my skin as it speaks to me,

"Miss. Clara Langston; please open the box."

It talks using robotic language as if it is a computer. However; humans do use computers, though there doesn't appear to be anyone inside this machine. It doesn't wait for an answer, it disappears fast; before I can ask anything.

I don't usually count on anybody to help me solve issues in my life; I am usually an independent woman who only ever relies on herself to do things, or for company. I wonder if I should call on a neighbor and ask for help; that won't do, they'll think I'm crazy!

I could open the box by myself, but I have no idea what is in there!

A bomb? A gun? A knife?

I decide not to question it and open the box anyway.

Just as I start to open it; someone knocks on my door, even though I never asked anyone over. Feeling that this is going to be a strange day, I answer it anyway.

"Hi, I'm Sarah. I live in the house opposite you. I know you like to be alone, but my husband is working so I thought that you might like to have a cup of tea with me," a youngish, sandy-colored-haired woman explains.

"I don't usually have visitors, but maybe you could help me unravel a mystery? I need a good cuppa after today, and it would be good to have two pairs of hands to solve this strange occurrence that happened today!" I reply before my tongue can stop me.

Sarah steps inside, and we drink and talk; she appears rather strange to me. She believes in magic, time travel, seeing into the future, and other things that I don't believe in.

I show her the box and explain how it came into being.

"Maybe it contains something magical; something you might need," she suggests.

"Who would know about what I need? I haven't ever spoken to anyone but you; and it was delivered by a weird unidentifiable flying object that told me to open it, then it flew away!" I tell her.

"Sometimes; strange things happen when you need to learn things about yourself. When you are completely alone, the world delivers messages that show you things that you might be missing, or, the future," Sarah continues.

"That only ever happens in movies, and this is real life, not a movie!" I tell her bluntly.

I take a swift drink of my tea, hoping that it might help to clarify my thoughts. It makes me feel a little refreshed, though it doesn't stop the confusion inside my head.

Sarah picks up the box and examines it. The box emits a sparkling blue light. Sarah tries to open it, but it won't open for her.

"I think it's been coded with a magic seal; meaning, only you must open it," she tells me.

I shake my head. I have never believed in magic, so I doubt her thoughts. However; I can't explain the blue light. Nobody in my world seals a box with a sparkling blue light; they usually use some form of tape.

"A magic seal? We do not live in a fictional story where magic, witchcraft, fairies, and goblins exist. We live in the real world, Sarah!" I tell her, unable to escape showing my annoyance in the tone of my voice.

I can't help half-thinking that there might be a point to Sarah's words. I have always lived alone, though I've never believed in mystical or fantasy garbage. I prefer real-life events such as what the weather will be like tomorrow, or how the government is solving the world crisis; but magic? No! That isn't me at all!

"Well, the only way you're going to find out, is to open it! I can't open it, so there is obviously something about that box that is just for you to know," Sarah tells me.

"How do I know that it is safe to open? What if something or someone is trying to kill me?" I ask her.

Sarah rolls her eyes, then tells me,

"I'd tell you, but you'd never believe me since you don't believe in magic!"

I start to wonder if Sarah had seen or done this sort of thing before; in fact, at this point, I can't help but feel that she, somehow, might be involved. I just look at her, silently, waiting for an explanation.

Sarah sighs, before finally speaking.

"Okay!" she tells me, followed by, "If it was dangerous, the blue sparkle would be red like lava."

"How do you know?" I ask curiously.

"I've studied and practiced magic and science all my life. You're not the first, not to believe me," she tells me.

"Okay! I'll open it, but you are to stay right there; if anything happens to me, then you'll witness it, or the same will happen to you!" I tell her.

I proceed to open the box.

When I do; my past life flows out of it, emitting 3D images of what my life has been like up to now. I see myself cleaning, gardening, baking, knitting, watching television; and doing everything by myself. It is almost like this box is trying to tell me my life story.

At the end of my life story, a blue light projects upwards containing these words:

"LIFE IS SHORT IF WE LET IT PASS US BY. LIVE LIFE IN THE MOMENT; BE FULLY IN THE PRESENT WITH FRIENDS AND FAMILY."

I suddenly become aware of how lonely my life has been, and how uncaring I have been towards myself.

At that moment, I learned that self-care also means having friends to go through life with; sadly I have no family, and I haven't spoken to a friend for years.

"Sarah, will you be my friend?" I ask my companion, as tears flow down my cheeks; I have never felt as lonely with myself as I do now.

"Do you believe in magic now?" Sarah asks.

"Yes, magic is all around us," I reply.

FantasyLoveMysterySci FiShort Story
Like

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.