Fiction logo

The box is yours

2 boxes changed my life

By T. CoxPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
The first box

I saw when the drone dropped the box off. My camera clicked multiple times and alerted me that there was movement outside the house. I figured it was one of my many packages from Amazon although they had never used a drone before I knew they were experimenting with them in certain regions and why not Columbus? I was still at work and was in no rush to get home. I figured I be surprised when I got there by whatever was in the package as I could no longer keep up with all the things I felt I needed. It was a hectic day at work, we were busy and people had called off, and on top of that we were short staffed. As my day came to a close at 5:00, I grabbed my coat and my only thought was what should I have for dinner. I got into my car and noticed the pink paper on my windshield after I closed and locked my door. It was probably just a flyer. I rolled down my window to grab it but my arms were long enough. I got out of the car and reached for it, only to find a man beside me when I turned around of course I screamed. He was so close and he only kept saying the box is yours. He walked away after saying it a couple times and I scrambled to get inside my car. What the heck does he mean the box is mine. I looked in the backseat to make sure no one was there and I saw the box, How the hell did it get there ? I should have heard him open the door. Now I am not sure what to do. Do I drive to the nearest police station or call the police or open the box to see what is inside.

I reach in my purse to grab my gloves don’t ask me why. I put them on and turn around, I touch the side of the box to see if it is hot or cold. I couldn’t feel anything. I decide to turn around and kneel in my seat so I can reach the backseat. I sniff the package and it smells like cardboard. I gently pick it up and it’s extremely light. I get my pocket knife out and cut the sides and then cut the middle. Inside the box is a business card with a message that reads “open the next box and call the number below”, what other box ? There is nothing in the backseat. I am debating on whether just to call the phone number but I am not a rule breaker so unless another box shows up I am not calling the number. I tossed the pink flyer in the seat next to me and as I turned around it caught my attention it reads, “the next box is at your house”. Now I am totally creeped out. Forget dinner, the box isn’t from Amazon someone dropped it off at my home. I normally carry my gun but not at work because it is illegal, so I will have to wait to get home and get my gun before opening the next one. I don’t want to be caught off guard by anyone, so when I get on my street I am looking for any strange cars and anyone just walking around. I circle the block twice before pulling in my driveway. I don’t trust going into my garage yet because that is where they could corner me. I grab my purse and pull out my pepper spray. I go into my house but leave the package on the porch. I go to my gun safe get my gun and go back to my front door and grab the package as I check outside I see a car slow down but not stop. The lady looks at me and I look at her. She looks familiar but since I am so darn jittery I not truly sure I have seen her before. I close and lock the door and walk into my kitchen. I grab my scissors and do the same thing with this box as I take my time opening it I hear something inside. I see a cell phone vibrating and lighting up. I don’t answer because the last card said for me to call a number, why are they calling me. The cell phone vibrates and lights up again, this time I answer, hello? The person on the end says, “Is this Rain Love?” I answer, “Yes, who is this?”

“My name is Mary Reed and I am a producer for an upcoming movie called 'Can’t stop me'”

“Umm, ok how can I help you and why are you delivering boxes to me?”

“ Well, you signed up to about 3 months ago to be an extra on a movie, do you remember”

“Actually yes I do!”

“Well, there were not many females that submitted applications and we are looking for a female lead”

“We apologize for putting you through everything including my scary personal assistant who told you the box was yours but we needed to see how you would perform if it was real and you blew us away”

“We have been watching you the whole time actually hoping you would not go to the police”

“You are a natural, so what do you think do you want to meet?

I was speechless all this was for a movie role, I have been looking to get a way from my boring career as a supervisor. I didn’t have to think long I was giving it a try”

“Yes, Mary I would love to come in I need a day or two to put in to take off from my job”

Mary said, “Sounds good give me a call and we will set something up, Thank you again”

Rain said, “No thank you!”

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

T. Cox

I've been writing for years off and on poetry, fiction, and romance stories. I've decided it's now or never. You have to put your toes in the water to know the temperature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.