Fiction logo

The Black Witch 8

Chapter 8: Exploration part 2

By Caleb WagnerPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
The Black Witch 8
Photo by Anna Gru on Unsplash

The woman's cry brought the attention of the entire block to us. I could feel the judgement, an opinion so deeply entrenched that definding knights wish they could use it against seiges. I knew all to well that anythig I said or did would be immediately discredited. So I raised my hands above my head and backed away. During my withdraw the woman quieted her scream. Lingering in her eyes was a fear that almost brought me to tears. I wanted to say something, to offer up my apologies. My voice ran from this desire, afraid that it would be useless. It had decided not to try. I had shrunk once again. "Its ok, this man will not hurt you. I can vouch for him. If he were to try then he would have to deal with the Black witch Kuriga and these imperial gaurds." Kuri's voice was somehow powerful enough to make it through the whole square but soft enough to offer comfort. The woman looked up at the smiling, embodiment of power. Her eyes darted to me and I bowed my head to show my submission. With Kuri's soothing, my admission of non-conflict and some time the woman returned from the state of a terrified animal. She stood up, dusted of her behind, and took a deep breath. She offered a deep curtsey with a lowered head. "I apologize for the rudeness lady Kuriga, prince Elliot. I have had rather traumatic expierences with men before I emmigrated here. The sudden shock of seeing a man overode my judgement. I hope you will forgive me." She seemed a different person. Now her words carried a tremendous air of grace. Kuri looked at me "In this situation you should be the one to accept the apology. While I hold considerable power, I am somewhat extranational. You are the ranking person status wise." The guidance she offered was sent via our telepathic link. In response I straightened my posture and spread my right hand out with palm facing to the sky. "Do not worry. I forgave you when I saw the fear in your eyes. I knew that you meant no ill will by it. I am happy that you have calmed down and please should you need anything do not hesitate to reach out to me. I will do my best to help you overcome this trauma so that your life may be better if only by a slight margin." The formal apology receiving posture felt awkard, but my acceptance was scincere.

The woman curtseyed again "Thank you for your generosity. If you will excuse me." With that she entered the shop we had just left. With the woman gone I could hear the grumblings of the crowd faintly. Some sounded dissapointed, perhaps that they wouldn't be able to lynch me for this. Some seemed relieved that it was nothing major. "You did well Elliot. Don't give up so fast though. That would have been a mess if I had not stepped in." The mix of praise and chastizing from Kuri was comforting. "I apologize for the inconvienence. Thank you for the help." I offered in response head lowered. A warm soft hand touched my cheek and pushed my head up. Staring into those dangerous eyes that held the world but wanted more I heard Kuri say "Think nothing of it, I will always help you. As your friend and researcher it is my obligation and pleasure." Her honeyed voice synched to the light dancing in her eyes. That damning smile of hers drew a clif that sorrounded those sea blue eyes. In that instant I saw nothing but her. Not just her face, rather I saw the complexity that made the black witch. A stunning woman who held a divine level of power, was incessentaly curios, kind but firm and yet still managed to feel lonely. Most seemed to fear and respect her. They like my wife offered platitudes but dare not to be honestly intimate. Thinking about Kuri like that made my heart race more than that previous encounter. She picked up on the change of disposition, as a her face became flush. "S-So shall we start seeking something new?" She asked trying to force her normal tone. "Hahaha, did you just alliterate because you were emberassed? Thats pretty cute." I said that but both Kuri and I were shocked. Kuri turned away from me and called out. "Let's go test subject." We headed north with me a step behind kuri and my gaurds ten paces to the rear.

New shops appeared as we made our way north. Apothecaries selling medicines, and some type of beast that Kuri explained would keep naturally occuring dark magic at bay, were on every corner. The beasts were cute, even in their calming fluffy appearance there was a sense of gravity to their eyes. "Does our mansion have one? I kinda wanna pet one." Staring in their eyes made me realize the desire. "It does not, they are useful but only moderately effective. Curses and the like that are large enough do not fear the beast. For your mansion, I was commissioned to set up a more effective barrier of sorts. It was a comission as a sort of wedding present for you and the princess." Kuri offered the explination as though it was something trivial. "How does your barrier work? Is it hard on you to create something that large and long lasting?" Now it was time for my curiosity to take over. Kuri shot me a suprised glance but I could see the excitment in her eyes. She wanted to explain her power and probably gauge my reaction. I fell right into her trap but I would do so gladly a million times just to see that exitement.

"Ok, so the true witches of the continet. The powerful ones have made something like a contract, a binding oath, with one of the 12 gods. I made one with the god of the dark. I would attempt to understand and shed light on as many unknowns as possible. I would effectively attempt to make the only things in the 'dark' be the shadows. Well the physical things inside those. By discovering things I in a sense am purifying that which is in the dark and purifying the gods power. As a trade off I may control shadows and the dark itself to a great degrees. My power becomes more percise the more I learn. The barrier I set around the mansion is me commisioning the shadows that grace the mansion to watch for and consume the curses." Her explination trailed off towards the end when she saw the intesity that I was listening with. "Amazing." The only word that came out of awe stricken face. Kuri cleared her throat. "I'm sorry, I got a little excited." I didn't care the smile tha blessed me while she was explaining hit me like a warhammer from horseback. We stood in silence, I felt as though it was just me and this beautiful, cool, but nerdy witch in the middle of the street. "Come on, Theres a place I want to show you. We'll probably have to head back after we go there." I realized that the sky had took on the blue of the late afternoon.

Walking side by side we headed to the northeast following along the northern edge of the western noble district. We continued until we approached where the district and the river enclosing it made a sharp turn. There a steep hill came into view. We followed a well paved walkway to the top that was situated at the vertex of the turn. There was a massive park about two hundred feet above the rest of the city. Looking out I could see the sprawling commoner quarter, buildings that evoced a weird Mediterranean and gothic mix lined the winding streets that were firmly planted inside the hexagonal city. Looking back to the noble quarter I could make out the star shape that encapsulated the castle in the middle of the city. It was breath taking, the magnitude of the city, the flowing aesthetic, and the cleaniliness of it all. "I love this place. It probably has the best view in the city. When I am able to get permission to take you out at night we have to come back here." Kuri said as she stood shoulder to shoulder with me gazing into the city. "Thank you, It's beautiful." I voiced my gratitude and looked towards the witch.

The view of her serenity, the beauty of Kuri over shadowed what I had just witnessed. The sight of her reminded me of what I thought last night before falling asleep. "Kuri, thank you for being here. Thank you for deciding to be my friend, thank you for being you. You, in the short few days that I have known you, have become a light in what I thought would be a dark world. I hope that one day I am able to pay back even a fraction of the hope and peace of mind you have given me. I know I will be racking up more debt by saying so but please stay by my side." I held nothing back, I may be a coward when it comes to most of these women but I decided that Kuri deserved nothing less than honesty and my courage. The honesty I just shared made Kuri quiet for a minute, her face frozen. "I am happy for your gratitude and that I was helpful. You're a married man in the eyes of the gods. You can't ask another woman to stand by your side." Kuri said in a soft voice in an attempt to chastise me, but I thought for a second I could feel some embarrassment coming from her. Maybe our telepathic link was becoming more open in both directions. "Ah of course, I meant as a friend and researcher." My attempt to explain away what I meant felt stiff and I'm sure it came off that way as well. With that we left the park in silence and headed back to the mansion. Kuri walked ahead leading the way, I hung back a few paces from her and the guards brought up the rear albiet a little closer to me now.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Caleb Wagner

Hi, my name is Caleb Wagner. I grew up in small rural town in southern Ohio. Throughout my childhood I saw many sides to many different types of people. I have seen massive falls from grace and underdog stories time and time again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.