Fiction logo

The Black Witch 7

Chapter 7: Exploration

By Caleb WagnerPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
1
The Black Witch 7
Photo by Markus Clemens on Unsplash

I woke up with the morning sun dancing through my window. The light had just made it past the horizon but came to greet me none the less. I trudged my way to the water basin in my room, and splashed the water on my face. Feeling refreshed it was time to start my normal calithstenics routine. As I completed each rep thoughts of the day started to appear. What would Kuri and I do? Would Amelia go back to work? How much hostility could I expect to face today? These questions and all there possible answers swirled in my head as my muscles contracted. After about an hour and a half sweat had coated enough of my body thaat I felt ready to tackle the day. The dirty feeling that permeated my skin reminded me to take a bath before I officially started. I walked to the bathroom clothes in hand, the large bath tub was almost wasted on my simple bathing. Thankfully this world had figured out plumbing via magical apparatuses so there was no extra work involved in bathing.

As I left the bath I realized that my second shift of gaurds had already taken up their post. "Good morning." The simple greeting from me to them was met with stoic faces. "Hmm, I guess they didn't see what went down yesterday so it makes sense theres no real change. Not that there would necessarily be one if they had." I thought as the cool door handle made constact with my hand. As the door opened I was graced by the sight of Kuri. Her long,defined legs peaked out from behind the door. "Good morning Elliot." Her voice reached me before the sight of her ocean eyes. I entered the room and noticed that Amelia was nowhere to be found. "Good morning,Kuri. Where is Amelia?" I asked. "Ah, sadly she had to go back to work. I figured that today we could get an early start and do some expirements." Her excitement was too pure. "What did you have in mind? Certainly you don't plan on disecting me today, right?" The first question was serious and the second a light joke. "No, No. Not today. I want something much more interesting. I want your genuine reactions to the country of Kvinde. Well at least the parts that are accessible here in the Capitol." She informed me wagging her finger. Her eyes shone even brighter, as if there was a sun resting at the deepest parts of her eyes and the light reflecting off the top. I did not need to be convinced, kuri knew that instinctually and from the information she could glean from reading my mind.

We ate a light breakfast of some weird apple pear fruit,eggs and some bread. Kuri ate a pace reminscent of a kid trying to finish breakfast before the bus arrived. The sight of the cool and powerful woman scrafing down the simple breakfast made it hard for me to hold back my laugh. Kuri's face devoloped a red that wrapped her cheeks to her ears. "I was just trying to ensure that we got the most time possible for our expirement." She said turning away from me. "Haha, I guess the telepathy kicked in huh?" Kuri ate the last bites of her meal in small icriments, hand in front of her mouth. Kuri stood up as I finished what little bread I had left. "Alright it's time for our expirement." I smiled up at the woman who wished to lead me to new and novel expierences, but I could not help but feel some apprehension. I knew how I was recieved in the upper echelons and even the place that I called home. Kuri beamed at me regardless, her eyes shone over with curiosity, and her smile seemed to say it will be alright. "I'm ready whenever you are." with that we set off. My guards ten paces behind like usual. We left the mansion and entered the city without much fanfare. "Allow me to explain the route, today we will start from here and work our way west away from the palace. From there we will start to work our way around the noble areas." My gorgeous guide explainned with sweeping hand gestures as she walked backwards in front of me. "Ah, I see. Anything else I should know?" I querried trying to be a good tourist. "Nope. I wanna see completely fresh reactions from you. So you'll have to be patient."

As we moved away fom the palace the streets became more populated. The mansions faded and shops rushed to fill the spaces. The first to fill those spaces were formal clothing stores and high class resturants. The family homes were protected by these selective buisnesses. Just past the bubble of safety we entered the general shopping district a smattering of people appeared. There were maids and obvious members of staff hustling about to buy the things needed for their masters homes, a few well dressed women purusing odds and ends shop, and the buisness women in charge of the shops chatting with merchants. The people fell into my sight as the smells of the market wafted to my nose. Small cafes,backeries, and confectionaries provided sweet, rich smells while the vendors selling produce and flowers provided a nice floral hint behind it. I took a long deep breath through my nose to catch all of the scents. With the breath I looked to Kuri, her eyes were fixed on me. She was taking in everything about me, the faces I made to my posture. I thought for a moment that if I moved my hand in a different way she would notice. "So, should we try some things?" I levied the question to Kuri. My incessant observer barely flinched "Yes, follow me." She reluctantly tore her eyes away from me. With her no longer fixated on me I could feel the other eyes that were on me. Many gave me hostile glances from the corner of their eyes, a few stared at me in open disbelief, and a rare few looked at me with care and curiosity. The last group did not register all that much with me. The first two however made me increasingly anxious. I wanted to run back to the mansion, but I forced myself to follow Kuri regardless. Each step took me deeper into the lions den.

"We are here." The honeyed voice of my only friend brought a sense of safety with it. I looked up to see that she had lead me to a corner cafe, the shop was quaint with large open windows. "Kuri is that you?It's been a while." A warm bubbly voice called to Kuri as we sat down. Kuri looked away from me towards the center of the shop. "It's been a while, hows it going cass? The shop looks great." Kuri called back with a bright smile. The woman who Kuri called Cass walked over to us. "I'm doing well. So why did you bring the man here." Cass responded when she made it to us. "Don't play Cass. I know you're well informed, this is the man married to the princess. I'm studying him and I wanted to see some legit reactions." Kuri fired back her response quickly in an even voice. That seemed to give it more bite. I could tell cass felt that bite "I didn't mean any harm, just a mixture of curiosity and concern. I mean you disapper for a few years and waltz back in with a man. You know what I mean?" The response softened Kuri's gaze. "I'm sorry. I am a little on edge, being in this ones head I can feel the anxiety from the stares." Kuri apologized with a finger pointed at me. "Those busy bodies out there aren't gonna do anyhting. Everyone knows who you are. What can I get for you?" Cass's switch to professionalism was jarring. "We'll take two of your speacials." With the order Cass offered a small bow and made her way to the kitchen. Alone with kuri again "Wait, it's just us. I am going to have a day with this gorgeous woman where we explore the city,eat and shop. I mean if it weren't for the guards I would consider this a date. A date. Nah theres no way I'm on a date with this beautiful woman." The voice in my head spoke up as I stared at the witch as she sar across from me in the same outfit as wen I met her. "I would consider this a date." Kuri interrupted the silence. "Huh?" Her sudden proclimation startled me. "I can't see everything but the word and feeling of date is at the front of your mind. I mean this is an expirement but a friendly date as well." She elaborated and my emberassment grew. I sat drowning in emberassment and anxiety. We drank the weird latte that was the special. Kuri asked about my opinion of the drink and I gave the my honest impression.

We left the shop, I followed Kuri close behind. As we started to make our way back into the street I felt a solid thud against my shoulder. I looked over to see a woman on the ground. I reached out to help her up and when my arm was halfway extend she let out a blood curdling scream. In the instant all eyes were on me.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Caleb Wagner

Hi, my name is Caleb Wagner. I grew up in small rural town in southern Ohio. Throughout my childhood I saw many sides to many different types of people. I have seen massive falls from grace and underdog stories time and time again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.