Fiction logo

The Black Witch 6

Chapter 6: Something Approximating a Family

By Caleb WagnerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
The Black Witch 6
Photo by Rafael M. on Unsplash

This weird trio of the lone male, a magnificent witch, and fragile child sat ourselves in a parlor. My shadows positioned themselves around the room. For the first time the guards who watched over me were visibly perturbed. The only reason I could fathom for this is they did not expect a man , a noble at that, to protect a young girl that was decieved into almost killing him. Their eyes let a touch of hope peak through the corner, but it was miniscule in comparison to their expectation that things would turn sour. "One of you go get a maid to bring sweets and tea for us." Kuri not oblivous to their mindstate broke their tension for a moment. "Not you, Saki" Kuri offered as she positioned herself to look at the child still clinging to my chest. Saki brought her foot down midstep and pivoted towards Kuri. "As you wish." Her eyes and voice told the same story, she wished to remove herself from this situation. A situation that had dealt a devastating blow to her beliefs. "Now then my dear amelia, what do you help with around here? You seem like such a mature girl; I'm sure you do a lot." The contradictory voice of Kuri had both the softness one used for a child and plenty of maturity to make amelia feel important.

"I do whatever the big sisters need me to do. Sometimes I plate food, sometimes I wash the clothes, but my most important job is cleaning the hard to reach places." Amelia released my shirt a touch and let pride creep into her voice as she responded to the adult question. Kuri's defining smirk started to reform itself on her face. "Ah, thats very impressive. You really can do anything. Just as I predicted." My beautiful observer drank the childs ever increasing smile in, as if it were her first sip of water after being lost in a desert. "Can I ask a question?" The little girls request caught Kuri off gaurd. "Of course, what would you like to know?" The surprise stopping what I assumed would be a sarcastic response. "How did you get so strong? Why do you like sir Elliot? Why are you wearing that big hat?" The rapid fire questions with their broad range left Kuri's playful smile on her face and her eyes big. After a brief pause she narrowed her eyes and said "Where to start, I got strong from learning magic and practicing a whole lot plus the gods like me. I wear this big weird hat cause I saw in Elliots mind and when he thought of witches this was a part of it. I was interested in Elliot cause I think his circumstances are strange but I like him cause he cares about people and he knows how to joke around. Although he's kinda whiny if you ask me." Amelia cocked her little head at the end of Kuri's answers. "I don't think he's whiny, he was very cool when he saved me and forgave me. Plus he let me cry and didn't get mad at me for crying like a baby." The end of her matter of fact response struck a chord in me. "Hey do they get mad at you anytime you cry, like when you're sad or hurt?" The question came out of my mouth, a questioned stained with annoyance at this world.

"Yeah, cause I've got to be big girl and work. So why should I cry; at least thats what the big sisters tell me." Amelias little voice told me as if it were as true as the sky being blue. "Listen closely amelia, you should try to cry over less things as you get older;sure. But you are still allowed to cry when you're hurt or when something makes you sad. Nobody should get angry at you for it." I tried to keep my tone educational to hide my annoyance. "Can I come to you when I really want to cry?" The facade of being a tiny adult dropped, and I was faced with a question from a child. Here eyes shone with joy. An elation that I would not betray. "You may." Two words were all she needed. Those two words won me a grateful hug. I looked up to see Kuri observing our moment with those information greedy eyes. Just past her I could see Saki fidgeting. "Guard Saki, is it ok if we go to the roof when she needs to cry? I imagine that it'll be impossible for her to enter my room. She still needs a private place to cry." The conservative guard hesitated. My request was unforseen by the skepitical sentinal. "T..That would be the only place that is 'private' and where we can observe you and the girl closely." The shakey response she offered at first steeled itself by the end of the sentence. I could see her eyes grasping for the grounds to say it was all going to plan. The honest woman appeared little more than a flakey politician for a moment. "You know my dear expirement, you're directing all your attention at these other girls, buuut I need it... So that I can ask you more questions." the honeyed voice of the caramel witch sprawled across the ruby couch beckoned my sight to her. There that bewitching smile peaked at me as it rested againist the seat cushions. Instincively I followed her posture on the couch. Head towards the center of the couch. Her back lay flat against the couch with a slight arch in her lower back to let her supple legs clear the arm of the couch. The position only highlighted the robust curves that defined her hips and thighs.

"Come on don't just look me over like a piece of meat, tell me something intersting." Her voice came out with an extra dash of play layered in. The sentence knocked me out of my daydream and I began to blush. Amelia and Kuri snickered at the same time as if they had conspired in an instant. "Um, lets see. Ah, I know back in my homeworld we used machines that burnt a type of oil to get us from place to place. It's something akin to a horsless carriage." I attempted to pull them away from my emberassment. "Oh, how much of this oil did you have to put in it? What did your cities look like because of it? Could a lot of people get them?" Kuri's rapid fire questions led us into a detailed discussion about cars, their mechanics and societal effects. As we lost ourselves in discussion sweets came and were eaten and the tiny child that was clinging to my chest fought exhaustion and sleep but to no avail. About three hours after the start of the conversation, kuri looked at the child on my chest, then to me "Well, should we call it here?" Her bright were dimming with her own exhaustion, yet somehow their warmth had increased tenfold. "I think thats best, I'm quite tired myself." A soft smile, just the corners of my mouth floating up took its place on my face. "Ok, I'll take amelia. She can sleep with me." Kuri opened her arms for me to pass the child. With the smoothest movements i could muster, I transitioned the sweet girl to her. The transition brought my face about a foot away from Kuri's. "Quite a day huh?" Her sultry voice brought to a low whisper snuck past Amelia right to me. "Hmm." I nodded in a agreement.

"Elliot, you may think I only wish to study you but I also want to keep you safe. For myself and because I know that you don't deserve all this hate." Kuri called to me as we went our seperate ways to bed. "I know that now my dear researcher. You're kindness is painfully evident." I called back through my gaurds ten paces behind me. With that I trudged up the stairs to my room. As I grabbed the door knob a thought occured to me "Saki, you were almost rid of me. Hopefully you're not too disappointed." The truth walked through my mouth with no resistance. "I would like to be rid of you, but not becuase an assassination. Especially if that means harm will befall my country." The honest guard offered in retaliation. "You're a good girl, too bad you hate men." I left the gaurd speechless and collapsed in my bed. Sleep came to me gently, that night I fell asleep without useless thoughts of my terrible position. Instead there were only thoughts of Kuri's warm eyes, her soft voice and Amelia's innocence. "Tomorrow, I'll have to thank them for being here." I muttered the mental note as a full nights sleep welcomed me.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Caleb Wagner

Hi, my name is Caleb Wagner. I grew up in small rural town in southern Ohio. Throughout my childhood I saw many sides to many different types of people. I have seen massive falls from grace and underdog stories time and time again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.