Fiction logo

The Black Witch 14

Chapter 14: Preperation

By Caleb WagnerPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
The Black Witch 14
Photo by Henry Be on Unsplash

The guard who had rushed to retrieve the choale returned as I wiped the budding tears from my eyes. She presented a large mug full of a deep brown liquid to me. Her gloved hands clenched the body of the mug as though she were delivering a state secret. I took the handle with a firm hand. The guard's expectant eyes bore holes through my face. I tried my utmost to down the whole drink, but the richness that was undercut by the alcohol stopped me halfway through. The guards chuckeld at my controted face. "It's good. I should've taken it a bit slower though." I told the childlike eyes resting on the body of a warrior. The guard beamed. "The chocolate flavor gives a nice level of sweetness and bitter to the fizzy beer. It's the best during the cold season in my opinion. Though if chilled adequetly it is refreshing on a summer's night." The tenative searching from when she asked me about the drink was nowhere to be heard. I took another big gulp of the drink "Ah, that does hit the spot." I affirmed before the slight buzz hit me. "Do you all want some? I feel bad drinking by myself." The guards gave me a light smile. One was about to speak up then "You can not have active guards drink, my dear expirement." Kuri's seductive voice sauntered in from behind me. "You make a good point. How about you dear researcher?" I called back while rolling my eyes to the chuckling guards. Kuri stopped just behind me and peaked her head around my shoulder. "Are you trying to get me drunk Elliot?" Her playful tone, mischevous smile, and the alcohol in my system brought goosebumps as she finished the question. "No, no. I'm trying to get you to drink a little with me. It's up to you if you want to get drunk." I shot back matching Kuri.

"Very well. Lets find a nice room and have a maid to bring us a few more drinks." Kuri's voice adopted a subtle sweet tone. The guards looked at me wide eyed. Kuri turned cusping her hands behind her and started toward some room in the mansion. She led me to a small room with lined with bookshelves, a few arm chairs, and a single table. The room was bathed in the warm amber glow of the evening sun that had sunk just behind the trees lining the estate. Kuri's tan skin and ocean blue eyes accepted the late daylight. We sat as a maid ushered in to hear our wishes. "Two more choales please." Kuri's voice matched the light streaming into the room when she adressed the maid. With a quick bow the woman left, and thus I was left alone with kuri. The guards had opted to stand just outside the door. They probably did so to hide their excitement. I sipped what was left of my choale while staring at the witch that had stolen my heart. "Elliot, I have a question." Kuri was serious. Her eyes shone just as bright but her smile had faded. "What did you speak to the god of darkness about? Why did they answer your prayer?" Her question conveyed her genuine curiosity, yet there was some panick. "I talked about you, you and I, and the gods' view on us. I wanted know how to fix this, if what I did was truly beyond reproach in their eyes." I knew any pretense and lie would falter before those eyes.

I finished my response as the maid scurried back in with our drinks. Kuri grabbed the one closest to her and threw back a long drink. She finished the drink and let out a long sigh. "Ok, what were you told?" Her question held an unsual level of uncertainity. I brought my gaze in line with hers. Her eyes quivered as she attempted to stare at me and past me. I took a deep breath, for I knew that my explinantion need to be a careful one. "To start, the god of darkness told me that my oath to Lora before the gods is seen as a sham. They know full well what it is; political. They know that for me that I needed it to survive. The god of darkness seemed to have no problem with what may seem an obvious break. Furthermore the god of darkness told me there was a subject of knowldege that you were leaving shrouded in mystery. One that would be very personal." The explination was short but rapid. I took another deep breath. Kuri drank the rest of her choale when I took that breath. I met her eyes as she lowered the mug. Her eyes lost the quiver, their shine returned with her smile. "Ok, thats good enough for now. I want to enjoy the day of our 'reunion'. Lets talk about something interesting." Her words were light, the choale had stated to take effect. With the quick dismissal of the topic we continued our discussion of the internet well past sunset. All the while more drinks were presented to us.

At the end of our conversation I stood on woobly legs. "I must sleep, there is a seamstress coming tomorrow and I- Prince Elliot, should be ready when she arrives." I proclaimed proudly to kuri. This proclimation provoked a profuse set of giggles "Go to bed you dork." The flirt skirted its way through cackles and I could feel my blush. So I turned "Well then, see you later my dear researcher." With that I left to bed. I stumbled up the stairs with a firm hope planted in my heart. The coming hangover, and drama of preparing for the upcoming banquent pailed in comparison to the distance ,between kuri and I, shrinking. When my body struck my bed I accepted its warm embrace.

The morning sun, and birdsong greeted me like always. However, they were accompanied by a dull throbbing headache, and slight nausea. I laid still in my bed contemplating a return to the land of slumber but thought better of it. Rousing myself out of bed methodically I quickly made my way to the bath. The bath did little for my hangover, but it assured my participation in the day. Smelling less like a bar patron I set off in search of water and coffee. As I made my way down the stairs I heard Saki's distinct, proud footsteps draw close to me. "Good morning, Prince Elliot. How are you feeling?" Through my hazy head I thought I picked up a hint of mockery. "I feel hungover." I could muster no retort aside from the truth. "Ah, that's a shame. Actually I was curious about how you felt about how things went yesterday." This statement carried an air of playful concern. It was clear through the haze. "Ah yes. I am content and hopeful, to say the least. If not for my physical state I would probably be bouncing with each step." Once again the truth fell forth with no twist or joke. Saki offered nothing more as she and the others followed close on our way to the kitchen.

The kitchen had my primary prey prepared, coffee still fresh and a pitcher of water asking to be drank. I guzzled the water down as fast as my body would allow. I poured my coffee and began my hunt for some jerky. "Saki, do you know when the seamstress will be here?" I asked mid rumage. "I believe she will be here around noon. We were instructed to be exta mindful of your actions around then." she shot back in a proffessional tone. My first thought upon hering this was "Noon, so I have time to see Kuri." The unprovoked thought slipped in before I could make legitamite plans or curb my neediness. Just then, as if on que Kuri chimed in from behind me "I wonder what you could do before then?" That playful tone stopped any other plans I might have made. "I'm sure I could complain about my hangover some more. Maybe even feel sorry for myself, if I manage my time correctly." I forced exhasperation into the quip. "What an interesting thought to have, my dear expirement. You must love reveling in your misery." The challenge was presented in a low seductive voice. A small shiver went up my spine at the alluring voice levied against me. After a small stretch of silence "Let me help you pick an outfit, I know quite a few people in Norva. You might say I understand their fasion sense." I turned to face her, and offered a shallow bow. "I would love you assistance my dear reaseracher." I exaggerated the severity of my thanks. To witch kuri let an ammused grin find root on her face. So we went to a viewing room with coffee in hand.

After a couple of hours of discussing the nuance of the coloration of clothing, the layering of materials, designs, and accessories we had developed a suitable plan for what to request of the seamstress. After the plan had been made admist some small talk between the witch and I; a maid came to fetch me. "Prince Elliot, the seamstress is ready for you." She informed me, head bowed. "Ok, lets go kuri. Thank you for informing me. Lead the way." The maid raised from her bow to lead myself, the witch, and my guards to where the seamstress had set up shop. She directed us to a room at the front of the mansion and opened the door. There in stood the seamstress, a voluptuous women, with blond hair, sleepy eyes, and develish smile waiting for us. She bowed upon seeing me "It is my honor to help you in fitting and choosing formal wear, Prince Elliot." Her voice was low but there seemed to be quite a bit of levity in it. "Raise you head, I appreciate your help." I gave the command in a neutral tone.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Caleb Wagner

Hi, my name is Caleb Wagner. I grew up in small rural town in southern Ohio. Throughout my childhood I saw many sides to many different types of people. I have seen massive falls from grace and underdog stories time and time again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.