Fiction logo

The Black Witch 13

Chapter 13: Rebuilding and Duties

By Caleb WagnerPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
1
The Black Witch 13
Photo by Cederic Vandenberghe on Unsplash

I was greeted by the morning and with it a feeling of satisfaction. The birds sung of my triumphant battle to fix my mistakes. I was grateful for their praise but there was new battle: how to broach what the god had told me. The question of wether it was possible to get Kuri to admit and accept that planted itself behind my joy. I decided to do my calisthenics to clear my head. The exercise told me one thing, I needed to take this one step at a time. With the clear headed advice of exercise me; I began to prepare for my first friendly lunch with Kuri in a while. With the workout finished I greeted the guards; they returned it. The shock of that stopped me for me a moment. A sense of pride followed me into the bath and all the way to my study session after breakfast. The information I pulled from the books I studied felt even more pertinent. I could use it to have conversations with Kuri, it would help me understand her and her home better. Before I knew it the time I allotted to studying was over. I returned the books to the library and on my way out Kuri stood in the hall. She was leaning against the wall acroos from the door. A slightly furrowed brow painted her beautiful face with slight severity.

"Hello, researcher. It is quite a surprise to have you come fetch me." I levied the playful greeting in a dry voice. I wanted to see that capativating smile. Kuri's furrowed face was alluring but brought me a strange sense of dread. Kuri raised her head making direct eye contact. I thought I would drown in those eyes. Her furrow faded being replaced by a cautious smile. "Ah, I must check on the object of study after neglecting it for so long." She matched my tone, but her smile lost it's awkward nature. I beamed back at the bewitching witch. "I am happy you are worried for this mere object's well being. Shall we go eat?" I dropped the dry voice letting my enthusiasm carry my question. Kuri nodded, her large hat swaying with her head. "Follow me." With that she turned he long dress fluttering behind her. Todays dress exposed her shoulder by setting just bellow the delts. The quasi sun dress was made of a thin white material and ended halfway down her thigh. The dress contrasted with her caramel skin and the flimsy material stood in opposition to the firm body beneath it. I found it hard to pull my eyes from Kuri. I'm sure some general thought of her beauty escaped via our telepathic link, but she said nothing about it. I followed the witch closely as if any distance generated on this walk would follow me for the rest of time.

Kuri led me to a gazebo nestled in a garden behind the masion. We sat at the table across from each other. In the moments after sitting I was struck by a sight like no other. The light from the midday sun floated down from inbetween the clouds. The back light framed the white dress and large pointed hat that rested on kuri. Just behind her a breeze swayed the flowers and tree leaves. There at the forefront of it all sat those pictresque eyes, that devious smile, and a woman so beautiful that I believed for a moment the universe existed just to display her. I quickly shook the thought, she was certainly gorgeous but I could not let my own existential questions meld with my love for her. In an attempt to refocus my mind I asked "What are we having for lunch?" Kuri jumped slightly. I realized that she had zoned out as well. "Oh, yes. We are having a traditional fish and potato dish, paired with my favorite cold soup from the southern regions." Despite the intial hiccup she had regained her cool quickly. She may have regained her place here, but I wanted to know what was going through her mind just a few seconds ago. "What were you thinking about just then? You looked pretty zoned out." I ignored her response and asked what was on my mind. Kuri looked back at me with that same smile "I was thinking about what to ask about you homeworld." She was sure in her response.

"As if I could tell you that I was thinking about how happy I was we could do something like this again or how handsome you looked in this lighting." The thought from kuri crept into my head. It wasn't meant for me. However it was proof of the widening telepathic pathway between us. The thought pointed to something more, but I knew better than to let my ego run wild. Despite the initial hiccup our lunch went without a hitch. We dove into the basics of the internet. I attempted to impart the power of the virtual connection. Kuri's eye widened as I outlined how history, opinions, images, and information in general was shared across the planet. The expesperation was futhered when I explained it was almost instantaneous. I knew that for the inqusitive witch would light up at the mention of all this information. She pressed me for me details. How far back did it reach, how did one access it. I provided more answers as the sun crept through the sky. Two and a half hours after we sat down to lunch a maid approached us. "Prince Elliot, her highness Lora would like to see you in her office." She was on official buisness so her tone was respectful. Kuri and I exchanged glances, she gave me a nod. I stood facing the dark haired maid "Show the way." My instruction illicited a bow and the maid started back to the mansion. As we left I decided to play with Kuri. I wanted to see that emberassed face, when she turned red at the ears, and her strong eyes quivered. I turned to her and called "Be careful with what thought you leak to me. I think the telepathy is real open as what is considered directed to." My jovial shout brought the response I wanted to see. Although she quickly buried her head in her hands there after. I was in the mansion by the time she composed herself.

As the maid and I navigated the mansion one of my guards quickened her pace to my side. She raised a hand and whispered "What was that about prince elliot? You just smoothed over your relationship. Did lady Kuriga think something rude?" The question was not shocking, but the concern that danced through her voice was. I shifted my eyes too look at the guard, her eyes felt like a parent looking at a fallen child. The shock of her voice and eyes quickly faded. It was replaced with a geniune smile and relief. "It wasn't anything mean but I can't tell you what she thought." I whispered back with a wink. Relief washed over her face, she faded back to the other gaurds. I could hear her whisper her report to the other two.

The small group I was swandwiched in reached the office without fanfare. The maid knocked "Prince Elliot has arrived your higness." The maids voice raised, yet held it professionalism as she announced me. "Enter" came the venemous voice of my wife behind the door. The maid opened the door for me. I filed in with my guards. I offered a soft bow. My guards hit a right angle with their bow. "Raise your heads dear soldiers." Lora's voice was sing song when directed at the guards. They raised while I still held my bow. I knew she either wished to humiliate me by forcing me to stay bowed or have me stand up despite not commanding me. I'm sure she wanted the later so she might berate me. "Elliot, tomorrow a seamstress will come here to prepare attire for the upcoming banquent. Leave your schedule open. Also since you and I will be the centerpiece of the banquent you are getting a tutor. My sister insits that you have a working knowledge of northern ettiquite. So learn well. That is all you may leave." Her curt information dump was spoken with a voice sharp enough to slice sailing ropes. "Thank you for the information, your highness." I forced myself to show gratitude and turned to leave with my guards. As we left the office behind a faint laugh fell upon my ears. I could only imagine she was laughing at my expense.

The guards followed me with lithe footseps. As we approached the main hall one spoke up. "Um.. Prince Elliot have you tried choale?" Her question was spoken with an irregular enunciation. I turned one hundred and eighty degrees to look at the gaurd. Her eyes were turned to the ground, and her posture stiff. "What's that?" I asked with genuine curiosity. This perked her up. "It's an alcoholic speciality of the capital. I think it is the tastiest drink ever." Her response overflowed with so much enthusiasm that I thought I would drown. "Well, now I have to try it." I told the giddy guard. She looked at the other two and rushed to kitchen. A moment after she left myself and the other guards busted into a jovial laugh. "She was concerned you'd feel down after that. It's funny how quickly your opinions change when you follow someone every day." A guard said through tears and cackles. "I'm happy that you all don't hate me anymore. I appreciate the concern." The sentiment slipped out with the laugh. It also seemed to sober the guards. The gaurds left with me bowed in sync and let out "We apologize for our rude assumptions and behavior to you. We were bound to our bias." The apology was proclaimed with strong sure voices. Their voices still carried scincerity despite the show made. "It's alright. I knew it would be that way. You have changed and acknowldge the mistake. Thats more than I could ask for." My own words silently drifted to the guards as tears welled in my eyes.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Caleb Wagner

Hi, my name is Caleb Wagner. I grew up in small rural town in southern Ohio. Throughout my childhood I saw many sides to many different types of people. I have seen massive falls from grace and underdog stories time and time again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.