Fiction logo

The Black Witch 11

Chapter 11: The Temple and its God

By Caleb WagnerPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
The Black Witch 11
Photo by Ramakrishnan Nataraj on Unsplash

I spent about two hours scouring the books for information on the god of darkness. While they were widely worshipped being an upper god made directly approaching them hard. With the rarity of contact low as it is the number of people who wrote about their expierences was excidingly rare. That did not dissuade me, and in those two hours I was able to glean a few important bits of ettique. The god of darkness from my readings seemed to be reserved, but a fair being. With the information fresh in my head at the end of the two hours I stood up. "Alright, lets go." The guards had been patient during my study and were ready to go at anytime. We began the mission with my command.

The guards guided me from the mansion towards the center of the capitol. The temples of the upper three were in the central most area of the most affluent region. The march there was brisque, we kept a pace just shy of slow jog. The journey was quiet aside from the footfall of the lightly armored guards. The rythmic druming of their steps kept me firmly entrenched in my thoughts. I had to have a rough idea of how to broach the subject of my relationship with Kuri. That was assuming that I could even get the god to respond to me. From what I read the god of darkness was incessantly curious and me being from another world should be helpful. I needed to be polite at the very least. Respectful was the best option but approaching a taboo and being respectful would come off as insincere. My planning for the contadictory position I was taking didn't last long. "We are here your highness." The guard that had assumed the position of liason informed me. The world around me came into focus as I freed myself from my mind. There infront of me was a granite building, with massive spires adorning the four courners. Stained glass windows that were easily twenty foot tall and ten feet wide adorned the walls. The works of art depicted some myth that I was not familiar with. I drew in a sharp breath as the sight registered. "We will wait for you here. It is best if you enter by yourself." The gaurd turned laison informed me. I nodded in response "Wish me luck." I told the guards as I approached the massive double doors.

The inside of the temple was just as impressive as the exterior. I wanted to take it all in but steeled myself to only accomplish my goal for now. Straigtening my back I strode forward with as much confidence I could muster. When I was about half-way through the sanctuary that reminded me of a catholic church a woman adorned in a deep black robe approached. "What buisness do you have here child?" Her question despite the wording held no malice. My readings had suggested that the god of darkness stressed curiosity to his preists and preistesses. The population in of kvinde seems lax with their belief but those in the clergy are devout almost to a fault. I bowed my head slightly "I would like to commune with the god in private." This set of actions drew a chuckle from the priestess. "Raise your head, we are all invisible in the dark. I cannot promise the god will head your call or speak to you, but I can offer a private room for prayer." This priestess was another gem hidden in this country. Her soft smile set my heart at ease, her eyes were understanding yet claimed to know nothing. She motioned to follow her and without a word I did. The walk to the private prayer room took us down a halway parallel to the main alter. At the midpoint the priestess stopped, turned to me and said "Here we are, you are welcome to stay as long as needed. I will come check on you in an hour." Her motherly voice marked her departure.

I entered the room which was bare save for a small alter across from the door. The alter was made of an ebony wood with steaks of some lighter woods and metal streaking across. There was a stand that held a pitch black plate resting in the center. I kneeled and bowed at the altar, offered thanks for the darkness that separates the days and cast my eyes to the idol. The ritual was necessary if I wanted any chance of the god responding. I sat waiting, I wasn't sure how long I had waited. It felt like an eternity, before I decided to bgin my plea. Even if he had not responded instantly maybe something I said would reach him. "I.." the first syllable escaped my lips and the room went black. The altar that was mere feet from my face dissapeared, any symblance of depth dissolved. A soft voice whispered through the imagless landscape "Child I know why you have come to me. All that transpires in the dark, both shaded and dead of night I know. What's more its about one of favored by the oath." I felt the hairs on my body stand as the whisper boomed in my head. The sensation of communicating with such a being made my summoning here pale. For a moment I froze. The image of kuri turning from me, her face steeped in dissapointment appeared in my head. It spurred me on "Do you have any advice or thoughts on the matter, oh great one?"

My renewed goal made the question come out forcefully. "Ah, my thoughts and advice. Very well, you are something unknown that Kuriga has set out to study. To start, myself, those beside and below me think very little of your vow with that princess. You were not a believer, there goal was shortsighted politics, and your wife was not sincere in the oath. Ontop of all that you were forced to do so. Thus it is a worthless vow, and Kuriga should know that." The whisper belonging to the god cleared so many of my worries. It confirmed what I had wanted to believe. "Now for advice, Kuriga is a rather fragile child. The strength is a tool to save herself from the pain of close relations, the child is faithful, intelligent but still a fool. I wish she would discover what love for and with another. That is one mystery I cannot shed light on for all mankind. Take this conversation and present it to her. Be firm in what you want and believe about her fears. Beyond that I hope for your good fortune." The soft whisper ended and the light returned to my eyes.

I sat in the lonesome room in a state of awe. The only thing that accomponied me was the residual goosebumps from my brush with the divine. The silent emotional reverb painted the world in a new shade. I could not gather myself. As I sat unmoving a knock sounded through the room. The door opened with "Prince Elliot, are you ok?" The sing song voice of the priestess brought me back to reality. "Yes, I have accomplished what I wanted to." My voice quivered despite my attempt to sound confident. The priestess approached me, put her hand on my shoulder and said "You've interacted with a divine being, the difference in power and station is hard to adjust to. Many can not even speak afterward, follow me. You may rest in my office." The acceptance that was laced into her voice lifted a weight off my shoulders. I stood without a word and followed her. She led me to a room but I couldn't register how we got there. The priestess lightly held my arm, sat me on a couch and poured me a cup of tea. The tea cup stood out in stark contrast to the god worshipped here. It was a vibrant porcelian white. I sat for a few minutes in a silence, the priestess across from me. "That was mindblowing honestly. Everything went dark, the god's voice was powerful but a whisper. I felt the most surreal form of being then nothing. I don't know what to do with it." The words wormed their way out of my mouth. The priestess just smiled "Worry not, it takes time. I would advise you to use what the god told you and take your time with proceesing the expierence itself." Her sing song voice beckoned my eyes to hers. Her soft eyes felt like they were peering into my very soul, yet they did not intrude. "Thank you." My gratitude was not just for the work she did as clergy but for being the superb soul that she was. This was an existence that I knew needed to be cherished and respected. "It's my pleasure, the one I worship is a kind god. I can see your pain and wish to alleiviate it if but a little." her response was a gentle coo, that soothed me even more.

After our brief exchange we sat in silence for another ten minutes sipping tea. I finished my cup and left after thanking the priestess profusely. Outside the temple the three guards sat eating sandwiches and laughing amongst themselves. One saw me exit and rushed the other two to finish. They stood as I reached them, finishing the last bites of their meal. "Take your time and drink some water." I told the guards with a raised hand. The guard that had acted as a liason spoke up first. "So, how did it go?" The question was tenative as though she was trying to gauge my mood. "Well, I don't know how to explain it. I succeeded but the expierence was jarring." The guards could not hide their shock, they had guided a person who conversed with an upper god.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Caleb Wagner

Hi, my name is Caleb Wagner. I grew up in small rural town in southern Ohio. Throughout my childhood I saw many sides to many different types of people. I have seen massive falls from grace and underdog stories time and time again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.