Fiction logo

The Big Job

a not so clean getaway

By Traci E. Published 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
The Big Job
Photo by Jason Dent on Unsplash

This was a heist we had planned for some time. Billy and I had pulled several smaller jobs but this was a big one. We had watched our target for weeks and knew when the best time to strike was. Billy stood as lookout as I went after the prize.

The vault was tricky but I managed to get to it and opened slowly. There were no alarms that I heard and no traps. They must have thought no one would be foolish enough to try something like this. Well, they were wrong and that was good for us.

I got the stash, closed the vault and removed any evidence that might have shown we were there. Our getaway was clean. We headed to our hideout.

Later as we were enjoying our bounty we heard steps. They came closer. We held our breaths. The door was flung open. We had been nabbed. Billy broke quickly, trying to save himself his shaky finger pointed at me.

“It was all his idea Mom. He made me do it.” I looked at my little brother, chocolate smeared on his face, evidence of our crime and shook my head.

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Traci E.

Writing can be therapy, insanity or both. Here is my mind, my dreams, my fears, my thoughts, my life laid bare to share with you. Enjoy the journey into what is at once my blog, diary and world, and don't forget to tip your guide.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.