Fiction logo

The Best in the World

Maybe not how I expected, though.

By Dani BananiPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
The Best in the World
Photo by J Yeo on Unsplash

It was intimidating to be stealing in the company of the most elusive and infamous jewel thief ever known. Agnes encouraged me to follow as she snuck down a darkened hallway deep beneath what had appeared to be a normal, old, abandoned house. We were seeking a gem set worth millions.

I'd just finished training with someone in connection to Agnes and was highly recommended to assist he4. She accepted without hesitation. Now, here I was, accompanying her to steal millions of dollars worth of gems. I was making money out of this...but this was crazy.

"One last obstacle." With a wide, encouraging smile from Agnes, I nodded and moved forward.

Patterned tiles? Easy. After studying the symbols and their potential meanings, I hopped tile to tile without setting off a single alarm, grabbing the gems at once with a proud grin.

"Well done!" Agnes said. "But also...damn."

My heart nearly stopped. "What do you mean?"

"I need a new security design to protect my favorite jewels. These are already mine. I wanted to watch someone new to the game to test how secure they were. Clearly, they weren't secure at all. Thanks for helping!"

My jaw dropped.

"Uh, sure."

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Dani Banani

I write through the passion I have for how much the world around me inspires me, and I create so the world inside me can be manifested.

Mom of 4, Birth Mom of 1, LGBTQIA+, I <3 Love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.