Fiction logo

The beast below

Icy waters

By Millie RowleyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Every year we visit the same ski resort, it used to be my favourite place in the world, but last time we were there I had become pretty sick of skiing. I stayed behind a lot of the days and hung out in our room and around the resort. After a few days of doing nothing, I got bored so I decided to go for an adventure outside. After years of visiting that place, the only thing we ever did was ski the same slopes and we never got the chance to explore past that. So, I suited up and went outside.

It was a warmer day; the sun was bright but for some reason had no effect on the snow. I don’t understand weather, you would think the scorching sun would melt the snow but no matter how hot it ever got, the snow stayed put. Its’ something that has always puzzled me, but I never asked anyone. I feel like it’s probably something people should know and I’m not admitting that I don’t.

After an hour or so of walking aimlessly through the snow, I came upon a giant frozen pond. It was as solid as a rock, the suns light glistening and bouncing on it, it looked as though the light was dancing, like an ice skater gliding across the ice. I was entranced by it, and I approached it to admire its icy beauty.

Looking at the pond causes me to have so many questions that I never thought to think of before. A series of questions that popped into my mind when seeing this work of art created simply the change in temperature was; how cold does it have to be to freeze such a large body of water? What happened to the creatures living within the pond before the water was frozen? Is every creature that was living inside the pond before the winter came now trapped within the ice, a whole aquatic world frozen, never to thrive again?

I had many questions, and none of them to be answered by standing cautiously away from the pond. I decided it was a good idea to try and peer through the ice and down below to try and see if there was any movement below the thick layer of ice. I placed one foot cautiously onto the icy pond, testing to see if it was strong enough to hold my weight. I slowly shifted all my weight onto my foot and didn’t notice any cracks beginning to form so I decided it would be safe enough. I took my other foot, which was safe on the sturdy snowy land, and placed it onto the ice. I thought the ice would be slippery and that I wouldn’t be able to walk without wiping out, but it felt like walking on solid rock.

I slowly made my way further across the pond, once I was close to the centre, keeping caution in mind, I knelt down onto the ice and tried to look in. Before the cold had come, the pond must have been crystal clear because I could see what I thought was the bottom of the pond. It was a beautiful sight, and closer to the top of the pond there were some small fish frozen in time, unable to move. However, at the very bottom of the pond there were some water plants, and I could only just make out that they seemed to be stirring from a flow from water.

I lay stomach down on the ice, watching the plants dance with the water, noticing the odd small fish rush by. I was there for probably thirty minutes when I decided I should probably set off back to the resort. I got up to go when the iced pond shook, it felt as though a bull had charged at the ice from underneath. Small cracks had formed in the top layer of ice, I was frozen in fear, like the fish frozen in the ice beneath me. I took another step, and the ice shook once again.

I had no idea what was happening or what to do, I looked down at my feet to look for the source of the attack, but I couldn’t see anything. I went to take another step, eyes locked to the ground to try and see what it was, and as I stepped, I saw a large figure beneath the ice propel off the ground and slam into the ice above it. The cracks forming were getting larger and I didn’t have much time to spare, I made a run for land. As I ran, the creature charged the ice repeatedly, shaking the pond, causing the ice around me to crack and for me to stumble and almost fall.

I almost cleared the pod when with one last attack, the whole pond made a deafening crack, and I froze. If I took another step, the ice would give way and I would plunge into the freezing water. I looked down and saw the creature circling below me, getting ready to charge. I could only just make it out, it was nothing like I had seen at the aquarium. It was massive, bigger than me and gave me the feeling that it was ancient. It made its way to the very bottom of the pond, and just before it charged at the ice, it looked at me. Not just at me, but in my eyes, I could feel it peering into my soul, almost hypnotised. I felt sorry for the creature trapped beneath the ice, but I also didn’t want to become its dinner.

I couldn’t bare its hypnotic gaze anymore; I tore my eyes away from this gigantic creature and made one last jump for land. I got off the pond just in time, as I jumped, the creature charged and crashed up and through the ice. When I hit the ground, I turned and saw what looked like prehistoric creature, scaled and ginormous, break though the ice and crash onto the surface of the cracked pond. Once again, I was frozen, unable to look away, the creature rolled over and turned to me, looking at me almost apologetically for a moment and then it slithered back into the hole it burst through and plunged into ponds icy water.

I never told anyone about the day I saw the creature frozen in time, I tell myself it’s because no one will believe me or they’ll think I’m crazy. Although deep down I know it’s because I feel a connection with the ancient being, and I don’t want anyone to hurt the sad, ancient creature, cursed to live frozen beneath the world, never to escape the cold.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.