Fiction logo

The Bastarding Extra "i"

A Story Every Day in 2024 June 26th 178/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 3 days ago 2 min read
The Bastarding Extra "i"
Photo by Marcel Eberle on Unsplash

Lisa had been very disaffected by "book club". She'd been all geared up for a night of deep discussion, only to discover that half of the women hadn't read it and the other half, who had read it, weren't willing to talk about it. The only mulling had been over wine and the only thing digested had been cheese.

There had been no literary consumption at all.

It had been held at her friend Yvette's house and she had had high hopes but, much as she liked Yvette, her book club had been little more than a gathering. Lisa had left early with a migraine, which wasn't far from the truth as talk of wayward husbands, nail parlours and holidays really did make her head hurt.

She decided that she would start her own Book Club and she had just the title, named after one of her favourite books.

But how to tell Yvette? Over coffee, she decided.

Yvette understood.

"I totally get it," she said, with a mouth full of fancy. "To be honest, I get bored too. Shellac soon wears thin."

Lisa was so relieved.

"So, you don't mind me setting up my own? I know some people who are interested and I thought I'd put some flyers up."

"Of course, I bloody don't! Tell you what, I'll even give you a hand with the flyers, get them printed and such. Give me an idea of what you want and I'll design something."

There was no denying Yvette's eye for design; it was good but Lisa had reservations about her attention to detail. But she felt churlish making demands when Yvette had been so magnanimous and found herself agreeing.

She told her the title and Yvette wrote it down.

A week later, the flyers were ready and Yvette distributed some to local places as a surprise for Lisa.

*

It was while Lisa was in the queue buying lemons that she saw the flyer and dropped the innocent fruit in alarm.

Yvette's flyer was perfect - except for the spelling:

Dangerous Liasons

Fellow shopgoers talked for weeks about the woman who stomped from the shop, kicking lemons and chuntering something about "the bastarding extra 'i'".

***

366 words

You can thank Paul Stewart, my Vocal chum, for the title for this story, taken from a comment that he made on one of my pieces or his pieces - no matter. A comment was made and I liked the phrase so much that I felt it had to be used somehow.

You can check his vast body of unique and accomplished work here:

Thanks, Paul.

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

178/366

HumorMicrofiction

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Hannah Moore2 days ago

    I keep looking for a double entendre my vocabulary is too impoverished to get? THere isnt one, is there? She's just being grumpy over the I and Yvette is possibly being a bit spiteful, yes?

  • D.K. Shepard2 days ago

    🤣 This is hilarious! What a cool source of inspiration that you used to perfection! You established Lisa’s literary focus and attention to detail well so that final descriptor of her reaction to the poster is so golden!

  • Caroline Craven3 days ago

    Ha! You’ve got such an eye for character and detail. For some reason I see this going down in Waitrose! Have a great day.

  • Gerard DiLeo3 days ago

    And don't even get me started on dipthongs, which she must have been wearing as she stomped out of the store.

  • Fly Alone3 days ago

    Good title indeed!

  • Paul Stewart3 days ago

    LOL! I thought...that's a great title...okay Ms Deeming, chum, you've suckered me in. I can't even remember the original comment...but I thank you for the shoutout and linking! This was a funny little slice of life piece and I'd have had the same annoyance and anger as Lisa! Well done. lol. And lie Dharrsh, this is why I hate collabing...especially leaving something like that to someone else.

  • Arghhh, no! I'm going to have nightmares now... Never let other people impose their spelling on you!

  • Hahahahahahahhaha this was hilarious! And that is why I always prefer to do all the work myself because I have trust issues. Loved your story!

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.