Fiction logo

The Balance

Chapter 1 -The kingdom or your life

By Antoinette L BreyPublished about a month ago 6 min read
4
The Balance
Photo by Caroline O'Brien on Unsplash

The moon was setting. The evening sky was a bright pink. She loved it here. She would never leave. The creatures of the forest told her that she would meet a man , but she knew she wouldn't, She had seen a human male several times. They had been absorbed in their own importance.

The prince of the colony was a human, but princes do not interact with the creatures of the forest. The inhabitents- her friends- a family of heterogenis creatures. All different, but all worth dieing for, or so she thought. She soaked in the pink sky and the whispering of the trees. Their songs massaged her thoughts. Tonight they were singing the end of the day.

There had been rumors in the forest, but the trees never talked of gossip. They served as a guide for the inhabidants, not a rumor mill. If a stranger entered , the trees would whisper a warning. The trees heard and saw all the forest activity. But these rumors were being spread by the village hounds, A young man had been feeding them-red meat- not the magical potion the wizards mixed up. Nobody in the forest had seen him, he was not getting the red meat from the forest. Everybody was on a outlook for him. What was he up to , where was he from? This information was not included in the rumors. She wondered maybe he was the human male she was meant to meet. She quickly fell asleep in a peaceful dream.

The trees were humming, a minstel on a princes horse had entered the forest. Strangers always had news of the outside world. She thought of the rumors, maybe it was him. She was surprised by her reaction. She was excited. She found herself bathing in the river and brushing her hair. She now wore a clean smock.

She held her breath according to the trees he was getting closer. She could hear his horse. Moments later his curly goldan brown hair appeared. She could see the guitar.

She approached him. He seemed startled but stopped his progress to speak with her. "Are you going to sing me a song " she joked. He blushed "I honestly don't know how to play, it is just a costume." She didn't know how to respond. Instead she commented on his horse. "What a beautiful horse" "I couldn't leave with out her, " he replied. "She has been mine since her birth". The horse shifted uneasily as if she could hear his half truths.

" I am looking for the forest wizard, I was told by my advisor that my fate was to be determined in the whispering forest. " She had to laugh, there was no wizard here, who was he she wondered. "Hi I'm Abbey "she volunteered. He shifted awkwardly , she sensed he was not comfortable with people. My name is Andrew" "Well Andrew there are no wizards in this forest. Some of us know slight magic, but not enough to change anybody's fate. He looked stunned. But they said my key was here. Is there anyplace I can settle in. I was going to reside here for awhile." "There is a cave next to mine. It is on the edge of the forest next to Moredwarfs mountain. Are you in trouble, is the king after you? Andrew laughed, "no I am not in trouble with the king".

His horse fit into the cave. There was a river near bye, where she had bathed earlier. The horse found it immediately. She was stoned by his clothes. very stylish, but not practical for the forest. He asked if she could keep his presense a secret, She laughed "this is the whispering forest, the trees share everything to all the inhabutants of the forest, but a stranger would not know anything. You for example did not hear the trees telling us, you had arrived. I was looking for you. I have to admit I was expecting to hear you sing some ballads.

Andrew laughed, "I have to admit I have more questions then answers. I was hoping to slip in unnoticed, There will be another man entering the forest, please do not mention me to him. He is a nice man just a threat to my life and well being. Please do not put him in the cave next to us." She felt stunned and a little scared. She was not used to keeping secrets. Both of them fell silent. She noticed a odd smell, he was holding a freshly killed bird, which he had pulled out of his pack. Abbey didn't usually get meat, not even from a preditor. She remembered being pecked by one of these birds and rarely escaping. She had no qualms about eating this. Andrew noticed her glance. " Please join me for dinner, I am actually a good cook."

She noticed herself talking alot. She was surprised to hear that he was not the man feeding the dogs live meat. She wondered if that man was the man Andrew was hiding from,

That night the trees did not discuss Andrew. She was releived but wondered why. Maybe he was not concidered a threat, since he had befriended her, and talking about that would have been gossip.

From off the horse he pulled a fur blanket. She was flabbercasted that he did not have a pillow. He seemed to have everything fancy.

He was awoke and bathed by the time she awoke. She had to laugh at his outfit. Where did he expect to go in this forest? He said the shirt was silk, She laughed the bushes and branchs will rip it to shreds., " He seemed stunned. " I get the feeling you think I am dressed as the fool. What should I be wearing." "I'll go to the village and get you something. Let me see what I have to trade." Andrew pulled out some coins. She was startled, but took the coins and disappered to the village.

They all knew her there,but today they were not interested in her. They were gossiping about a young man, not Andrew, who they thought should be king. "What's wrong with the current prince?" she asked. To her this new man seemed just to be the current trend. None of the villagers had ever seen the current ruler, this man was engaging with them in their village,not his estate. He was giving them food and their dogs meat. Nobody seemed to notice that she had cash or was buying for a man. She felt invisible, so she just had fun and picked two fashionable practicle outfits.

She had picked the right size, and both outfits looked good on him. She gave him the change. She had bought both of them a treat which they sat and ate. " There is a new man in the village, who they were all saying should be king. I didn't see him, I quess he is just the current fad." Andrew sat expressionless as she talked. "They don't like the current prince?"he asked. "He is a ghost to them, they never see him. This man comes among them and gives them food. " He will be entering the forest soon, please do not mention me." Andrew begged.

She felt numb, already Andrew seemed like a best friend

Fantasy
4

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 18 days ago

    Fabulous storytelling!! I'd love a Part 2!

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    how suspenseful! loved this

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fabulous fantasy story!!! Captivating from the start & loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.