Fiction logo

The Awakening

Loss, Confusion, Awakening

By Brayden PopePublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like

EXT. ISOALTED BEACH - DAY

A lonely figure sits on a desolate beach staring out at crashing waves.

He stands.

As he stands and turns, he sees a large crowd standing above the sand, looking down at him.

SIMON HENDRICKSON

(Yelling)

Who is that, who's there?

The figures don't answer. They just stare down intensely before turning away and slowly leaving... but two people remain. A man and a woman, standing hand in hand.

A slow sense of realisation appears on Simon's face

SIMON HENDRICKSON

Mum?

(Beat)

Dad?

The figures turn to leave. Simon tries desperately to rush over to them.

CUT:

INT. SIMONS APARTMENT - MORNING

Simon jolts awake from a dream. Visibly disturbed. An alarm clock can be heard blaring.

He looks over at the alarm; 8:35AM

SIMON HENDRICKSON

(Under his breath)

Oh, shit!

(Louder)

Shit! Shit! Shit!

Simon starts to race around his messy apartment trying to find clothes to wear. He sniffs a dirty shirt off the ground and after a few beats decides to put it on.

His phone begins to blare. He looks at the phone "Dad"

He doesn't answer. As he continues tearing around the apartment, an answering machine message can be heard.

DAD

Hey there champ. I... uh... I know we haven't seen a lot of each other lately, but mum and I just wanted to see how you're doing. I hope you're doing well. We'd love to see you in two weeks for mums birthday if you're free.

(beat)

Ummm... Take care kiddo. Talk soon.

Simon stops. Tears start to form in his eyes.

At that moment, he grabs his head in pain. Simon races to the kitchen, grabs a half drunk can of beer and drinks down two pills.

Simon grabs his keys and some sunglasses off a table as he exits the apartment. A book titled "How To Re-Connect With People" can be seen on the table, along with a torn wedding picture of Simon with a woman's hand on his shoulder.

CUT:

INT. SIMON'S WORK DESK - DAY

We scan across a laboratory looking office space and land on Simon. Fast asleep at his desk. A co-worker approaches.

It's Johnathon. Simon's co-worker and best friend who is at his wits end with Simon.

JOHNATHON

(Soft voice)

Simon?

(Beat)

SIMON!

Simon jolts awake.

JOHNATHON

You're asleep again?

SIMON

What are you talking about?

JOHNATHON

Are you trying to tell me you weren't just sleeping?

SIMON

No, no, no

(Beat)

I mean... I was, bu-

JOHNATHON

Look man. I gave you all the space in the world after Jenny left, but you can't keep going thi-

Simon starts to slowly drift off again

JOHNATHON

SIMON!

Simon jolts again

JOHNATHON

Are you drunk again?

SIMON

No. Don't be stupid. I'm not drunk... just hungover

Johnathon sighs and looks down at Simon with visible concern.

JOHNATHON

Look man... have you ever considered talking to someone? There's no shame in seeking a little help, you know?

SIMON

I'm fine

JOHNATHON

Really? You're fine?

SIMON

Yes

JOHNATHON

Okay... when was the last time you saw your parents?

A unsettling silence fills the room as Simon visibly starts to shift around in his seat.

SIMON

(Under his breath)

Two years.

JOHNATHON

I'm sorry... didn't quite catch that one

SIMON

(Louder)

Two years.

JOHNATHON

Two fucking years!? Holy shit dude

(Beat)

Look, you need to start living again. Life is too short to waste. You can't just stop your life forever after one litt-

At that moment. Johnathon starts to see Simon looking queasy.

Simon quickly stands and races towards the bathroom

CUT:

INT. WORKPLACE BATHROOM - DAY

Simon crashes through the bathroom door and quickly finds an empty stal

l. He begins throwing up.

Johnathon enters behind Simon and looks down at him while he vomits.

JOHNATHON

You need to take a long, hard look at yourself man.

Johnathon kneels down

Your killing yourself here man... and I hope you figure out how to move on in life before it's too late.

Simon's face drops as he listens to Johnathon's words.

Johnathon leaves.

After flushing the toilet, Simon hazily attempts to stand. He's very clearly out of it. He attempts to re-gain composure but slips on the floor and smacks his head on top of the toilet. Hey lay on the bathroom floor.

FADE:

EXT. ISOALTED BEACH - DAY

Simon awakes, laying face down in the sand on a beach. It's cloudy and grey. Waves crash like little bombs going off.

Simon stands, visibly panicked. He turns to see a group of people looking down upon him.

SIMON

Who are you? What do you want?

The crowd parts and a woman dressed in black emerges. A visible panic rushes over Simons face.

It's Jenny. Simon's ex-wife. She stands looking down upon Simon along with the others.

Simon stands for a brief second, unsure of what to do before sprinting like a jaguar away from the crowd.

SIMON

This can't be happening. This isn't real

Simon rushes into the ocean and dunks his head into the water.

SIMON

Come on, wake up. Wake up! WAKE UP!

Simon dunks his head again and slaps himself in the face... he doesn't wake.

SIMON

What the hell is going on?

Simon stares into the water and sees himself in the reflection, shaking his head and pointing back towards the crowd.

SIMON

(Nervously)

I don't think I can

The reflection puts his hand on Simon's shoulder in the reflection and nods at him.

Simon looks back and sees the crowd still looking over at him. He sighs and very defeatedly starts to scuffle back towards the crowd.

CUT:

EXT. UPPER PATH OF BEACH - DAY

Simon hesitantly walks through the crowd. All eyes on him.

SIMON

(nervously)

Who... who are you all?

WOMAN 1

Hey stud, you never called me back

MAN 1

Hey man, hit me up when you want that beer

MAN 2

We were friends for fifteen years and then just... nothing? What the fuck man?

A slow realization starts to dawn on Simon's face.

SIMON

I... uhh... I never meant to-

MAN 2

You left us all in the dust man... why?

SIMON

I just... I neede-

JENNY

He needed "time to heal"

The crowd parts to reveal Jenny.

JENNY

Isn't that right Simon?

Simon sheepishly stands, deflated.

SIMON

I never meant to hurt any of you. I just... I just needed time to try and find myself again

JENNY

And how has that been going?

SIMON

Well, I don't really know who I am anymore to be completely honest

DAD

Yes you do

Simon turns to see his mum and dad hand in hand approaching.

SIMON

Mum? Dad?

MUM

Are you okay?

SIMON

I.. uhh... I'm sorry

DAD

It's okay. We just want you to be happy

Simon embraces his parents for a hug while Jenny and Simon make direct eye contact. They both knowingly nod to each other.

CUT:

EXT. ISOALTED BEACH - DAY

Simon and Jenny walk along the beach alone. The onlookers now gone. Simon nervously looks at Jenny, unsure if to break the silence or not. He's like a hesitant poodle trying to decide if they should approach or not.

SIMON

Jenny... I... I wan-

JENNY

You don't have to say it.

SIMON

I don't?

JENNY

No.

(Beat)

I know that you're sorry.

SIMON

Look, I never meant to hurt you in the way I did.

Jenny giggles and puts her hand up to stop Simon in his tracks.

JENNY

I told you,

it's okay... you don't need to explain.

SIMON

So, we're good?

JENNY

We're good. But something is still at odds.

SIMON

What do you mean?

JENNY

You're still here Simon... who's left that you wronged?

Simon takes a moment to try and think. His face is blank.

JENNY

Come on... dig deep. You know the answer.

A few beats pass. Then, it starts to dawn on Simon's face who it is.

SIMON

Me?

Jenny smiles a warm smile at him.

JENNY

You need to forgive yourself.

SIMON

I don't know if I can. All the important things I missed because I was being so selfis-

Jenny puts her finger over his lips to stop him.

JENNY

I don't need to hear it. You need to have that conversation with yourself... but you do need to learn to forgive yourself.

SIMON

How do I let it go?

Jenny sits Simon down in the sand with his legs crossed, looking out at the ocean.

JENNY

Just look out there, take a moment and have that internal conversation with yourself... forgive yourself.

Tears begin to form in Simon's eyes. He nods, closes his eyes and begins to quietly mouth to himself. After a few seconds Simon opens his eyes.

CUT:

INT. WORKPLACE BATHROOM - DAY

Simon's eyes jolt open. He slowly begins to sit up. He looks around slowly and grasps his head in pain

CUT:

EXT. SIMON'S PARENTS HOUSE - DAY

Three Weeks Later...

A car approaches the front of the house. The driver is Johnathon, the passenger is Simon. Simon gets out of the car but turns back to speak with Johnathon. Simon's head bandaged.

JOHNATHON

You going to be alright?

SIMON

Yeah... I think I will be.

Johnathan smiles a warm smile at Simon.

SIMON

Look, I know i've said it a million times... but I really do appreciate everything you've done to help me and i'm sorry for being such an assho-

JOHNATHON

How many times do you need to apologise?

SIMON

Give me at least a few more times.

JOHNATHON

I'm just glad to have you back mate. All I ever wanted was to be able to hang out with my friend, and now I've been getting to... it's been nice having you back.

SIMON

I know... I'm sorry.

Johnathon laughs.

JOHNATHON

(Jokingly)

Get the fuck out of here.

SIMON

Thanks for the lift.

JOHNATHON

No worries.

(Beat)

What the hell happened to you when you were unconscious on that bathroom floor?

Simon smiles at Johnathon. A warm expression comes across Simons face.

SIMON

It just uhh... gave me a new perspective on things. A bit of a wake up call.

JOHNATHON

Well, whatever it was... I'll happily take the same kind of beating to experience it.

They both share a light-hearted laugh with each other.

JOHNATHON

Have you reached out to her yet?

The smile fades from Simon's face like he had just been slapped in the face... HARD!!!

SIMON

No.

JOHNATHON

No?

SIMON

No... I think... I think some things are best left how they are. She's got a new guy from what I hear and I don't want to barge in and mess with that. She deserves her happiness.

JOHNATHON

You okay with all that?

SIMON

Yeah... yeah, i'm going to be okay. I've just got to face this obstacle.

Simon points towards the door of the house.

JOHNATHON

Best of luck my friend.

SIMON

Thanks again for the lift.

JOHNATHON

Anytime. Still want to grab a beer afterwards and let me know how it goes?

SIMON

I'll be there.

Simon and Johnathon share one last smile before the car starts to pull away.

Simon stares straight at the front door, takes a deep breath and ap

proaches.

He nervously knocks on the door.

Many beats pass. Simon is visibly breathing in an attempt to calm himself.

The door slowly opens.

Simon's dad appears. Shock slowly appears on his face, followed by a massive rush of happiness as he embraces Simon for a hug.

SIMON

Hi dad.

SLOW FADE OUT:

END.

Script
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.