Fiction logo

The Awakening Forest

Bunny Trail Two: Coffee Tripping

By Jeannelys DaayaePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Awakening Forest
Photo by Jakub Dziubak on Unsplash

As I take my first sip from the creamy light brown liquid cup of life, and felt my mental batteries recharging, giving me life once again. My fingers bewitched start to make their way across the keyboard, desperately trying to keep up with my mind as the flow of thought begins to expand creating realities never ventured or experienced before.

Utilizing the excess ATP from the cup of caffeinated sugar bean water, I transcend my way into the depths of my mind. Soon enough, I found myself walking barefoot in the darkness stumbling through the damp soil, running into one large object after another. The cool air around me is thick with moisture, as a slight breeze blew past my nose, it smelled sweet, like the nectar from the hibiscus flowers I used to eat as a child.

Growing tired of the void I called upon my senses to help guide me through this dark abyss. And then, the silence is interrupted by the stillness of the forest. I could hear the trees, animals, and insects settling in for the night if it was night. My vision had yet to be restored and if not that then the darkness had yet to lift. I stood stagnant for only a brief moment trying to regain my sense of direction, hoping to figure out where I was brought here to go, or what I was brought here to see.

Then I began to hear the trickling of water in the distance. At the same time, I started to see a dim light that seemed to be getting brighter and brighter the longer I focused on it. Out of the darkness, I began to see the large foreign trees that stretched towards the sky, where everything blurred together becoming a massive onyx dot above me. These gargantuan monuments weave and tangle their way together creating a sort of fortress around me. The rest of the forest took shape shortly after. I could finally see all the ornate features of my inner forest.

The way the tree branches twist and turn in the light creating intricate patterns on the ground beneath my feet.

The feeling of pure and utter joy overcame me as I sealed my eyes shut and wiggled my toes burying them deep into the tissues of the soft world around me. As soon as my toes are completely covered in the dirt, they extend plunging deep into the Earth's innermost layers becoming my roots. Now able to feel every breath that the millions of eternal lungs inhale, every life that is lost and every new life that is reborn. I ground myself, even more, to feel nature's blood flowing deep beneath the "epidermis" of the Earth, dispersing the fluids of life among every living thing which comes in contact with it. Before this moment I never quite understood how all of the beings inhabiting this planet intricately connect, and have an effect on one another.

The elder trees in anticipation of my arrival had much to teach me. They immediately began to send pulses of information through what is now my roots. They gave me a few lessons to hold with me like a guiding light for times I feel lost. A strange feeling at first, I confess I cannot begin to describe the feeling of electrical pulses once received translating into words. Though knowledge like this should be shared... the language of the forest is so eloquent it would be difficult to do justice by translation.

To Be Continued...

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Jeannelys Daayae

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.