Fiction logo

The Art of Chore Evading

My cousin Bodi was a true master at cheating

By Gabriela Trofin-TatárPublished about a month ago 1 min read
7
My cousin always cheats and runs away instead of doing his chores on the farm. Photo by Renjith Tomy Pkm: Source Pexels, https://www.pexels.com/photo/boy-riding-bike-by-river-13181502/

On my uncle’s farm, chores were as regular as the sunrise. When I was small, I often stayed at the farm and silently observed life there.

My cousin Bodi was a master of cheating. While I always did all my tasks, Bodi seemed to vanish into thin air, leaving me amazed by his skill for avoiding work.

Once, while everyone was cleaning out the stables, he disappeared, only to be found reading under a tree, claiming he was “supervising.” “Supervising what?" I asked him, bewildered. He simply grinned at my question.

His methods ranged from pretending to be sick to creating funky distractions. While I worked, he danced through chores unscathed.

Bodi’s escapades exasperated me. But at the same time, they made me realize that his talent was rather finding joy among all responsibilities. It was truly an adventure to live on the farm during those childhood summers.

--

*** This story was written in response to a prompt, "One word, picture prompt is Cheating", published in the Medium Publication Simple Story Seekers.***

💗 Thank you for reading! Hearts, pledges, and tips are always welcome. I appreciate your support.💗

You could also buy me a coffee or a tea and/or let me know your ideas in the comments section.

Microfiction
7

About the Creator

Gabriela Trofin-Tatár

Full Stack Developer in the making and mother of 3 littles. Curious, bookaholic and travel addict. I also write on Medium and Substack: https://medium.com/@chicachiflada & https://chicachiflada.substack.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Nature Loverabout a month ago

    Super fun read, this brought back memories from my own childhood.. yeah I used to always run away from my chores.

  • Gina C.about a month ago

    It's funny the things we do as children! My brother used to do something very similar when it came to avoiding his chores. This was such a nostalgic read ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.