Fiction logo

The Anti- VCAC Movement

The Central Villages Paperwork Systems ;)

By Elijah DavisPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Anti- VCAC Movement
Photo by Saad Chaudhry on Unsplash

There weren't always dragons in the valley. That was the most disturbing part about the valley. How could a creature as dangerous and pronounced as a Dragon just randomly appear? I mean did a random mixing of breeds occur and then out came these wild mutated... dragons. Seems unlikely!

Even if that were true, then why are the first reports of dragons full-grown, adult, fire-breathing dragons? Would there really be zero sightings or reports of a Dragon if it had grown up in the valley all its life?

The idea always tormented my imagination. So many things about the society of the central villages made no sense to me. Many days I awoke and walked around my home village and I felt like an alien, unable to comprehend any of the behaviors of those around me.

I was not a complete oddball when it came to my peers, many of them had the same likes as me. The big difference between me, and everyone in my village was that I seemed to be the only one asking any questions.

The central villages did indeed have an impressive reputation for, collecting, storing and organizing large amounts of paper documents and records. But the large flaw of all the people in my village was the way they all value paper documents and records, more than anything else, like logic, or reasoning.

It is so ridiculous that everyone is so obsessed with, scores, numbers, and letters so much that they ignore everything else that is in plain sight. It's almost like everyone believes that the system is so sacred that no one would ever dare document or record something untrue. Of course, it is a big-time law infraction punishable in the worst ways but I'm not naive enough to believe it has literally NEVER been done.

It's not that I believe there is a deep conspiracy that uses the complex paper documentation systems of the central villages to brainwash and control all the villagers! I'm just saying that once in a while a guy or gal should be able to question the authentication of any paper or documentation presented. But doing so itself is practically a crime.

Every time paperwork is reviewed or exposed it is taken at face value without any consideration of error or falseness. As long as your paperwork checks out and records and documents are in order and satisfactory, the central villages are a paradise. But the slightest blemish on your records turns the beloved central villages into a prison.

I should know, my paperwork always finds itself filed under unsatisfactory. My records and documents are about as bad as a person's can be and still be allowed to walk around. In the central villages, I am what you call an untouchable, unlovable, burden to society.

Welcome to my dirty little secret. I hate the paperwork and record-keeping systems, because well the system hates me. Every day of my life is a circus, a terrible one at that all because the central village is obsessed with paperwork and records. At this point, people generally believe that the only reason I complain about the system is because it works against me.

People often say that I would have nothing negative to say about the record-keeping and paperwork systems if I were able to get a good job with decent pay, or shop at the quality market places. And they are right; The saying people talk nicely of the bee, only when they taste his honey, and those who speak harshly have felt the bee's stinger.

Of course, I am mad that the system that worked for everyone else is a complete pain in my ass. Of course, I would not make posters and stand on my soapbox daily if I was receiving the benefits that villagers with good paperwork recieved.

Obviously, if I was the son or daughter of a successful merchant family I would be too busy swimming in that pools of luxury to concern myself with justice for all. Even if I was just related to a VCAC officer anywhere in my family, my life would be significantly better.

But when you do check my paperwork it becomes clear, that I have no value and no connections. After looking through my records, it would be illegal to declare me special or assume that I have potential.

The paperwork and records system that dominated central village society and politics worked okay for most, well for some, good for others, great for a few, and phenomenal for the VCAC leadership, and the richest merchant families.

For me, the paperwork and records systems that dominated central village society and politics were a life sentence that chained me to the life of a laborer or a farmer. I felt so trapped and it all felt unfair to me. I wonder why no one cared, why my voice was not heard, but then it occurred to me.

When you look all the way up there is plenty of resources, opportunities, and good times to go around. They travel, they have fancy transportation, fancy clothes, fancy foods, and fancy fun. They have forgotten the simple wants and desires of folk like me. They are always heard, there is always space for them, and there are always opportunities for them.

But for me, there is only rejection and being told no.

"Return to your place with the animals stable girl", is the phrase I have had to hear over and over again. The good news is...

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Elijah Davis

Instagram: authorelijahdavis

mystery solving contest on ig.

Here to share my developing books and evolve my writing style to a more mature audience

Books for Sale @ Cauzmicspublishing.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.