Fiction logo

The animal inside

A fictional short story

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
The animal inside
Photo by Luca Bravo on Unsplash

My name is Garfield Logan, but please call me Garth. Boy do I have an interesting story to tell you. I don't know how I should tell you this but I have some interesting, abilities. I still don't completely understand my powers, I don't even know how I really got them but that's not really important. There are shape shifters, I think. But I can't think of any other metahumans that can do what I can do. For some weird reason, I have the ability to change into any animal I want. Oddly, I always turn out green for some reason which is strange but again that's besides the point. The first time I had a transformation I was just walking in the woods when a mountain lion came out of no where. I was absolutely terrified but I remembered the rules, never run because it will trigger their predatory instincts. Instead, you should stand your ground against a mountain lion. Make yourself as large as possible and make as much noise as possible, and the lion will back off. So that's exactly what I did. However when I did something very strange happened, the roar I made sounded exactly like the roar of a bear. Almost immediately the lion ran off back into the woods. I'd never made a sound that loud. And when I looked down I saw my hands turning into paws and felt myself getting taller. Apparently I transformed into a bear. Thankfully for me I wasn't stuck as a bear, I actually transformed back into myself very quickly but it was scary to say the least.

It took me a while of hard training and meditation to figure it out, but over time I at least learned how to control my powers. I thought it was just a flight or fight response, since that's how it originally manifested but it's not. The transformation starts from the mind. I have to see, feel, hear, smell and even taste the changes going on in my mind and then it will manifest physically. It doesn't hurt and now the changes are almost instantaneous.

Speaking of training, one day I was feeling very confident. So why not see how far I can push myself and turn into an animal that's officially extinct. For some reason the Scarlet Macaw came to mind. I've always had a special appreciation for birds. It took a while to transform, I really had to focus and clear my mind. I kept thinking to myself "you're free, you're as light as air, and by the next time you open your eyes Garth you're going to be a Scarlet Macaw.". I don't know exactly how long it took, but it worked. Ironically it was hard for me to tell if I'd gotten the transformation 100% right since my feathers were still green but I knew I nailed it".

Once I land and transform I hear a voice behind me. "So you're a shape shifter?" "I'm sorry I don't know what you're talking about" I respond frantically hoping my powers aren't exposed. "Don't worry kid, I'm one of the good guys and your secret is safe with me. I saw you transform back into a person as you came back from the sky. In fact I was instructed to come find you from a good friend of mine who also knows your secret. Her name is Kori, but we'll talk about that later. Pleasure to meet you, my name is Richard Grayson. But you can call me Dick. I've heard you have some, talents that would be a great asset to this team I'm forming." He says extending his hand for a shake. I shake his hand and respond "Hi, I'm Garth.". I'm a little awkward I know.

"So what do we call you Garth?" Dick asks me. "What do you mean what do you call me? I just told you my name is Garth." I question. "Sorry, with powers like those being a metahuman you're going to have to come up with a, super name if you catch my drift" Dick quips "How about, Beast Boy?". I think aloud. "That's a little on the nose don't you think? Dick responds "Well then, Beast Boy. Let me be the first to say, welcome to the Titans. We're happy to have you. We're going to do a lot of good for the world together."

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips are always appreciated but by no means required.

Humor
2

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.