Fiction logo

The Age Heist

Cherish Every Moment

By Anthony ChanPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Tyson and Malia

Once upon a time, I was fortunate enough to bask in the warmth of my grandchildren's affection. They would run into my arms, their laughter filling the air, treating me as one of their most important human beings, and I reveled in their innocent adoration.

But as the years slipped away like grains of sand through my fingers, I noticed a change. They grew taller and wiser, blossoming into independent souls. A curiosity for the world beyond gradually replaced their once-infinite fascination with me. It was part of their natural growing-up process. Their universe expanded, and I found myself no longer at its center.

They had dreams to chase, adventures to embark upon, and friendships to forge. I learned an invaluable lesson: time is a fleeting thief, indiscriminately robbing us of moments we hold dear. It taught me to embrace every moment with loved ones.

The age heist was inevitable!

As the years passed, I refused to mourn the stolen time. Instead, I celebrate the privilege of being a part of their lives, even if it means stepping back and taking a back seat. In life, our roles may change, but the love we feel remains eternal.

family
Like

About the Creator

Anthony Chan

Chan Economics LLC, Public Speaker

Chief Global Economist & Public Speaker JPM Chase ('94-'19).

Senior Economist Barclays ('91-'94)

Economist, NY Federal Reserve ('89-'91)

Econ. Prof. (Univ. of Dayton, '86-'89)

Ph.D. Economics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.