Fiction logo

THE ACTS OF WITCHES

Chapter 2

By raphwritesPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
Like

I carry booda Tunji, moving sluggishly to the main road to get a cab that would take us to Ibadan. It was almost dark. So, it could be difficult to get a bus at the park if we had to get to the park first.
***************************************************

Earlier, I had taken booda Tunji to a white garment church where I was told that our problem was as a result of our mother's involvement in witchcraft. Again, it was laughable as we had the best mother.

Iya Labake was an epitome of a good mother. Abiyamo tooto. She was protective. Vicious in fighting for her children. And above all, she ensured we got the best of everything she could afford. But, my mother was the most unlucky mother I knew. She had buried eight out of the ten children she had. My dad had also died, leaving behind my mother, booda Tunji and I.

The strange thing about the demise of my other siblings is that they all died from the same ailment. All incurable. None of them lived above forty years old. The last of my sibling that died was rushed back to the village when he was about concluding his Msc program. He died few days after.

With all these my mother passed through, I couldn't fathom the revelation of her being a witch. I never believed a mother could kill or cause the death of her own child.

I was lost in my thought while we traveled back to Ibadan. But one thing remained firm in my heart; booda Tunji must not die. "Booda mi o gbodo ku" I repeatedly whispered to myself.

Three days later, I went back to the Ifa priest with the items he had asked me to buy. He prepared the ebo, gave me instructions, then i went back to Ibadan.

I was instructed to drop the ebo at a T-junction close to our family house at exactly twelve mid night. It must be dropped at a time everyone must have gone to sleep because it is forbidden for anyone else to see the ebo before it is dropped.

I followed the instructions to the later. At exactly twelve midnight, I got to the T-junction and as I was about to drop the ebo, I heard a loud voice. In fact, it was a combined voices of three aged women Calling out to me.

thrillerMicrofictionFan FictionfamilyAdventure
Like

About the Creator

raphwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.