Fiction logo

THE ACTS OF WITCHES

Chapter 4

By raphwritesPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
Like

CHAPTER 4

I dropped the igba and ran as fast as my legs could carry me. I got home at about past 2pm. It was only my mother and booda Tunji that were at home. I knocked for over thirty minutes but no one opened. So, I had to sit at the entrance and slept off.

Suddenly, I heard a strange cackle and opened my eyes. I saw a very big and strange bird flying into the compound. It flew straight to the back of the house. I followed but lost sight of it. The back door was opened, so I entered through it. I hadn't the slightest idea that the door could be opened as I locked it myself before leaving the house.

I walked straight to my brother's room to check his state of health. Maami was there sitting close to him. She was sobbing. I moved to the other side of the bed quietly and sat adjacent my mother.

"Nibo lo ji lo ni oru? Mo lo si ibusun e, mi o de ri e?" Maami asked.

I couldn't say a word because I was tired and feeling sleepy. I switched on the torch light of my phone, raised my heard so I could just shake my head in response to my mother's question. As soon as I torched the light in her face, I screamed and collapsed.

I woke up in the morning with maami sitting close to me weeping profusely.

"Se mo wa fe padanu omo meji leekan na? Leyin ti mo ti padanu omo mejo? Iru adanwo wo wa leleyi?"

"Am I going to loss two children at a time? After losing eight in the past? What sort of temptation is this?" She said repeatedly"

I laid there staring into her face. Whether I should pity a mother who had lost eight children and on the verge of losing the remaining two, or, to ask her questions on how I fainted? Or, should I just tell neighbours what made me collapsed?

"Awon agba lo so wipe, ki n se oun gbogbo ti oju ri ni enu n so" Maami said, looking sternly into my eyes.

I was gripped by a sudden shock. Dumbfounded for minutes.

I turned my face away from hers as she continued sobbing. Then I immediately drifted into deep thought.

What could that adage mean?

"Kini mo ri ti o ye ki n so?" E bami bi Iya labake!

Dear reader if you enjoyed this story please leave a ♥️, and a comment

SeriesFantasyAdventure
Like

About the Creator

raphwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.