Fiction logo

THE ACTS OF WITCHES

Chapter 3

By raphwritesPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
1

THE ACTS OF WITCHES

CHAPTER 3

"Ewo! Gbe ebo yen sile ti o ba fe s'ofo emi e ni ojiji!"

One of the witches screamed as I was about to drop the ebo. My hands became shaky as the igba Almost dropped. I was already half bent, close to the ground. I paused and bent my head in fear. I had looked around to be sure no one was there. So, where could those women had come from?

They all laughed hysterically at the same timing, rhythm and tempo. They stopped laughing at the same time too, like a rehearsed exercise.

I summoned the courage to look up. I stood and looked straight at them with the courage of a man whose life depended on just that last effort. I explained why I had brought the ebo and how important it was to save my only brother's life.

They laughed again. One of them who seemed like their leader walked slowly towards me. I almost ran away but for my resolve to save booda Tunji. She placed her left hand on my right shoulder and a cold shudder ran down my spine. I was practically shaking. Sweating even in the cold and breezy night.

"Wo! se o ri egbon re ti o fe se irapada fun yi, ki n se ero aiye yi mo. O ti di oku"

"You see this your brother you want to redeem, he's no longer a living being. He's already a dead person" She explained.

At that instance, I screamed. It flipped through my mind to call the name of Jesus, but I had already jettisoned the thought of calling on God for help since no pastor was able to save my brother. So, I was left to myself and the believe that the Ifa priest had the solution to the problem.

"Iya, e jowo. E bami da emi egbon mi pada. Oun nikan ni omo iya soso ti mo ni l'aiye" I pleaded with her to save my brother but she laughed again.

Then, she turned to the other witches and started asking them the parts of my brother's body each of them, and other witches in their coven had eaten. They all mentioned parts, and names of people with the parts they ate. A name resounded in my head.

Iya Labake was mentioned.

I doubted my hearing ability and asked again. They all laughed and never gave me any response. Within a blinking of the eyes, they all disappeared.

Dear reader, after reading please leave a ♥️ and a comment. Don't forget to follow me for more interesting stories

Young AdultSeries
1

About the Creator

raphwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.