Fiction logo

Thawed

Definitely not a love story... probably

By Megan Ashley WhitedPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Cold.

So cold.

I am so cold, and alone.

Hello?

Can anyone hear me?

I sound muffled.

Hello?

Tap.

Tap.

Tap.

I tap on the glass… no not glass.

Ice.

It is ice.

I am trapped.

No, submerged, I am submerged under ice.

I can’t breathe.

HELP!

No answer.

HELP ME PLEASE!

I can’t scream.

No one can hear me.

Sink.

I am sinking, slowly.

Tap.

Tap.

Tap.

I tap on the ice again.

I see someone above me.

A man.

I think I have seen him before.

HELP!

Still can’t hear me.

I am sinking faster.

Descending into the depths.

HHHHEEEELLLLLPPPPPPP!

I shoot up in sweaty panic. My head is pounding. I take a few deep breaths and look around my room to realize it was just a nightmare.

Again.

It’s been 11 years since the ice on the pond of my grandmother’s house cracked and I almost drowned. Yet it seems the longer it’s been, the more it haunts me.

Or at least my sleep.

A few hours later I woke up to the screeching of the alarm on my phone. 6:47 a.m. ‘Time to get up and conquer the day!’ As my mom used to say. I bet she never spent every night in a nightmare. But it is not just every night, the nightmare is my whole life because I am a senior in high school, and we all know that high school is the worst.

My name is Madison Freaks. Obviously with a last name like Freaks I am a head cheerleader and the homecoming queen. Don’t believe me… well that is a good choice. I am 17 years old and live in Silverton Colorado. Never heard of it? That is because as an old silver mining town in a valley in the San Juan Mountains, almost no one has heard of it unless you are super into history or skiing. And for obvious reasons, I try to avoid the cold, snow, and ice as much as I possibly can while living in Colorado.

My dad says I would probably have more friends if I tried to be more approachable. That implies that a traumatic childhood experience and a dead mother make me standoffish. Which I do not understand because I think I am delightful. My therapist says I have issues, but seeing as he is a therapist in Silverton Colorado, I do not give him much clout.

RING RING! RING RING!

My inner monologue was interrupted by my phone.

I answered and as soon as the line clicked. “GOOD MORNING MADI!!” A voice said gleefully.

“Morning Nedly.” I replied less than enthusiastically. Now I would never say that Nedly is my best friend because he isn’t. He is just the only person who is semi tolerable in this whole town. Plus, I may be a “Freaks”, but his parents are the biggest weirdos in town just for naming him Nedly. Honestly, what kind of name is that?

“Did you have the dream again?” Nedly inquired.

“Yes, Nedly, I have it every night.” I retorted. “Why do you insist on calling me every morning to ask me the same question?”

“Honestly? It is so you do not feel alone. I have heard all about the incident when you almost drown and the details of your nightmare. What stands out is the feeling of isolation you felt. And I want you to know that you are not alone.” He replied calmly. “See you at school!” the line disconnected.

He never said something like that to me before. As annoying as he could be, Nedly heard me and saw me. Was he supposed to be the man above the ice in my nightmare… No, it couldn’t be Nedly… Could it?

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.